$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
267 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EYoung
New York
Jan 21, 2013

Great experience

Very nice, small boutique hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I stayed a couple nights and loved the location and convenience to the beach and shopping areas. The first night we discovered late that the TV didn't work, and the next day they swapped it out and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and basic and the bed was comfortable. It's great for people who are active and out during the day/evening, and need a nice, good value place to sleep, with caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
APCB
Business
Miami Beach, FL (South Beach)
Aug 21, 2009

Me, bahbah, and the beach!

The room was quite small. It contained dirty furniture in which my girlfriend and I were afraid to sit. The view from our room was a nice view of the hotel next door, which was much nicer I might add. The walls are paper thin, and be prepared to hear everybody's conversations throughout the early morning and late night. The pool area was small as well, but who needs the pool when the beach is right there. The best part of this hotel was it's location. The front desk staff was very helpful, however the room service employees didn't seem to do their jobs (change towel, provide soap, shampoo or conditioner). The hotel's location is also great as we didn't have to drive anywhere. Everything was within a mile's distance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granny--80
Business
Richmond, Va
Aug 15, 2009

the richmond hotel

dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Aug 8, 2009

Very nice

We stayed a couple of nights in Miami and we enjoyed this place. It's not a five star rate because it's not a top class hotel BUT the location is very accepatble (10 minutes from ocean drive and 50 yards from the beach). Personel is very friendly. Rooms are a little old but ok. So, to sum up it's a perfect hotel to enjoy Miami if you're not the kind of person who like to stay at the hotel and enjoy a lot of services. Valet parking is 35$ a day plus tax... so I recommend to use the parking lot located at the intersection of 21st and collins ave (5 minutes) and u save 20$ a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HKING
Business
Orlando, Fl
Aug 5, 2009

beautiful hotel

The hotel was conviently located in North Miami beach whichis about 4 blks from South beach. I was pleased with the location except to find out that the charge u 35.00 for valet parking. I was there only for a day and I didnt have to use my car so it was prorated to like 13.00 bucks. The room was decent only thing I wasnt impressed with was the bathroom toliet which was extremely small and the small fridge that wasnt very cold. Access to the beach was very accessable and The restaurant had good breakfast just a tad expensive but nothing in miami is economically sound. All and all I was like 2 to 3 blocks from all the nightlife and I enjoyed myself I would recommend to say here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Exactly what we were looking for!

I read all of the reviews of the Richmond before booking and I have to say I was a bit skeptical, but it ended up being a perfect vacation! First, the location is great. We walked to everything, restaurants and clubs, although we did rent a scooter one day just for fun. There is a great sushi place across the street that was amazing. Be aware that they do include gratuity though. Our room was a perfect size as we were only there 4 days. It was very clean and didn't smell like most beach hotels. The hotel is very art deco as it is described and looks like old miami but that added even more personality! The bathrooms are a bit small with a window. There is no drawer space but there is a large closet with a safe and our room had a blow dryer. The beds were comfy and our thermostat worked perfectly. We kept it at 72-75 the whole weekend. There is a CVS and Walgreens within walking distance and we bought some food and alcohol there as restaurants can be a bit expensive. We ate at a great Pizza Bar just down the street, recommended by one of the hotel staff. The hotel is right in front of the beach which made for a convenient walk. Know that if you want an umbrella and chairs on the beach you will have to pay $15 for umbrella and $10 for each chair. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but did have a few drinks that were a bit expensive at the hotel pool bar. All the pictures on the reviews are exactly what the Richmond looks like. The pool is fairly small but just what we need to come in from the beach and swim before we went in to get showered. Overall I would definetly recommend the Richmond. The price was one of the cheaper ones we found and it ended up being exactly what we were looking for. Nothing too fancy, but great quality: clean,cute and convenient. Also, if you're flying in from Ft. Lauderdale airport I would recommend using Go Shuttle services. If you're willing to take a shuttle and ride with a few people, it took us about 45 minutes to get to our hotel and only paid $21 each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk to CVS or Walgreens and get some food and drinks to save money on the expensive restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Aug 1, 2009

Small hotel in good location

Staff was very friendly. We even got an upgrade because we had just gotten married! Only down fall was the valet parking, but you have to expect that in Miami Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very expensive with tip automatically included! $70 for 2 drinks & 2 sandwiches! Outrageous pricing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe S
Business
Wilmington, IL
Jul 30, 2009

Yuck

We stayed at the Richmond Apartments, however we thought we booked a room at the Richmond Hotel. The rooms at the apartments are about a block away, you have to walk upstairs lugging your luggage and the rooms are old and stinky. We couldn't wait to leave the stench of our room; it smelled like old smoke, damp, and everything in the room (except the cheap IKEA furniture) was OLD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 28, 2009

Nice Stay

The hotel was in the perfect location, right on the beach and close to the strip, but the rooms were small, but that is almost every hotel in Miami. Our room had a couple of marks on the walls and some of the furniture was a bit worn. Besides that, the experience was pleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You really don't need to rent a car for Miami, unless you plan on traveling to neighboring cities and getting to the airports. Parking is super expensive and is very hard to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fl.
Jul 27, 2009

Bait& Switch

We walked Beach and Linclon Mall, The holel forgot to give code to Beach gate so we could not get back on property. They should have given us a room we expected. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get a tour guide to find hot spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sand Springs, OK
Jul 23, 2009

This hotel is an art treasure

The hotel staff was very friendly and well informed about the various activites in Miami. The staff made you feel at home. I plan on recominding this hotel to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't stay on the main street. Take a risk and go on the side streets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top