$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EYoung
New York
Jan 21, 2013

Great experience

Very nice, small boutique hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I stayed a couple nights and loved the location and convenience to the beach and shopping areas. The first night we discovered late that the TV didn't work, and the next day they swapped it out and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and basic and the bed was comfortable. It's great for people who are active and out during the day/evening, and need a nice, good value place to sleep, with caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dem
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Richmond Hotel in Miami

The hotel is okay not great but good enough. I requested for 2 queen beds and they gave us 1 king size. They told us that we need to move or separate the beds to make it 2 single ones. Why we have to do it, the good thing I saw 1 helper and called her. The set up of the bed is not condusive for 2 beds because of the frame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travellerflorida
Business
washington dc
Sep 8, 2009

Worst hotel ever

The staff was unfriendly, the rooms are small and you can hear the next door neighbours. The rooms that they have are only with queen size beds. The best thing is the tv and the robes. The rest of the hotel is horrible and parking is 35 dollars. Totally not worthed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wien fani
Business
Hobe Sound, FL
Sep 1, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price"

Everything I expected and more - we we're a big group - about 20 - had no problems whatsoever! Will definitely go back and use the Richmond as our Miami home base!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Auntie Tina
Business
Hobe Sound, FL
Sep 1, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price"

Everything I expected and more - we we're a big group - about 20 - had no problems whatsoever! Will definitely go back and use the Richmond as our Miami home base!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 24, 2009

Terrible!

This was one of the worst hotels I've seen. The lobby was nice and clean but the room and hallways were another story. The carpet was stained, the refrigerator was dirty, the vents were packed with dust, the bathroom was outdated with a stained toilet that looked like it belonged in a public restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
APCB
Business
Miami Beach, FL (South Beach)
Aug 21, 2009

Me, bahbah, and the beach!

The room was quite small. It contained dirty furniture in which my girlfriend and I were afraid to sit. The view from our room was a nice view of the hotel next door, which was much nicer I might add. The walls are paper thin, and be prepared to hear everybody's conversations throughout the early morning and late night. The pool area was small as well, but who needs the pool when the beach is right there. The best part of this hotel was it's location. The front desk staff was very helpful, however the room service employees didn't seem to do their jobs (change towel, provide soap, shampoo or conditioner). The hotel's location is also great as we didn't have to drive anywhere. Everything was within a mile's distance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granny--80
Business
Richmond, Va
Aug 15, 2009

the richmond hotel

dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Aug 8, 2009

Very nice

We stayed a couple of nights in Miami and we enjoyed this place. It's not a five star rate because it's not a top class hotel BUT the location is very accepatble (10 minutes from ocean drive and 50 yards from the beach). Personel is very friendly. Rooms are a little old but ok. So, to sum up it's a perfect hotel to enjoy Miami if you're not the kind of person who like to stay at the hotel and enjoy a lot of services. Valet parking is 35$ a day plus tax... so I recommend to use the parking lot located at the intersection of 21st and collins ave (5 minutes) and u save 20$ a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HKING
Business
Orlando, Fl
Aug 5, 2009

beautiful hotel

The hotel was conviently located in North Miami beach whichis about 4 blks from South beach. I was pleased with the location except to find out that the charge u 35.00 for valet parking. I was there only for a day and I didnt have to use my car so it was prorated to like 13.00 bucks. The room was decent only thing I wasnt impressed with was the bathroom toliet which was extremely small and the small fridge that wasnt very cold. Access to the beach was very accessable and The restaurant had good breakfast just a tad expensive but nothing in miami is economically sound. All and all I was like 2 to 3 blocks from all the nightlife and I enjoyed myself I would recommend to say here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Exactly what we were looking for!

I read all of the reviews of the Richmond before booking and I have to say I was a bit skeptical, but it ended up being a perfect vacation! First, the location is great. We walked to everything, restaurants and clubs, although we did rent a scooter one day just for fun. There is a great sushi place across the street that was amazing. Be aware that they do include gratuity though. Our room was a perfect size as we were only there 4 days. It was very clean and didn't smell like most beach hotels. The hotel is very art deco as it is described and looks like old miami but that added even more personality! The bathrooms are a bit small with a window. There is no drawer space but there is a large closet with a safe and our room had a blow dryer. The beds were comfy and our thermostat worked perfectly. We kept it at 72-75 the whole weekend. There is a CVS and Walgreens within walking distance and we bought some food and alcohol there as restaurants can be a bit expensive. We ate at a great Pizza Bar just down the street, recommended by one of the hotel staff. The hotel is right in front of the beach which made for a convenient walk. Know that if you want an umbrella and chairs on the beach you will have to pay $15 for umbrella and $10 for each chair. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but did have a few drinks that were a bit expensive at the hotel pool bar. All the pictures on the reviews are exactly what the Richmond looks like. The pool is fairly small but just what we need to come in from the beach and swim before we went in to get showered. Overall I would definetly recommend the Richmond. The price was one of the cheaper ones we found and it ended up being exactly what we were looking for. Nothing too fancy, but great quality: clean,cute and convenient. Also, if you're flying in from Ft. Lauderdale airport I would recommend using Go Shuttle services. If you're willing to take a shuttle and ride with a few people, it took us about 45 minutes to get to our hotel and only paid $21 each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk to CVS or Walgreens and get some food and drinks to save money on the expensive restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top