$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joybelle
New Orleans
Mar 26, 2013

what a find

Ideally located, near the amazing Miami Beach, Maxine's and surrounded by lots of excellent shopping choices. it was a great atmosphere with its own pool. Loved the deco decor but being in the the middle of a techno music festival wasn't our thing. Still the atmosphere was great. Would appreciate easy and cheap access to tea or coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sweden
Jun 19, 2010

good location

Great location, nice pool, by the beach. Small room, smoke in a non smoking room, noicy, but nice staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelen' Rick
Badger State - Wisconsin
Jun 17, 2010

Great, comfortable value in South Beach!

Nice, comfortable hotel. Rooms were clean, the staff very helpful and the restaurant was just what we needed. The pool and the beach areas were very clean and pristine. The property has a locked gate for added security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelen' Rick
Badger State - Wisconsin
Jun 17, 2010

Great, comfortable value in South Beach!

Nice, comfortable hotel. Rooms were clean, the staff very helpful and the restaurant was just what we needed. The pool and the beach areas were very clean and pristine. The property has a locked gate for added security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMILE FOR THE PHOTOS
CLEARWATER, FL
Jun 10, 2010

EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED / NO HYPE

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE CHOSE SOMETHING REASONABLY INEXPENSIVE ON THE BEACH. THE GROUNDS, THE PUBLIC AREAS, THE ROOMS-- EVERYTHING WAS WELL MAINTAINED. WE WERE COMFORTABLE AND ENJOYED OUR STAY. I WOULD HAVE LIKED COFFEE IN OUR ROOM. VALET PARKING IS HIGH AND YOU HAVE NO CHOICE. BUT ON VACATION, I USUALLY GO WITH THE FLOW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

THE PROMENADE DIRECTLY BEHIND THE HOTEL ALLOWS YOU A GREAT OPPORTUNTIY TO ENJOY THE BEACH, SWIM, JOG, WALK. THE LINCOLN STREET MALL A BLOCK AWAY HAS AN UNENDING SELECTION OF RESTAURANTS. PEOPLE WATCHING PLUS

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMILE FOR THE PHOTOS
CLEARWATER, FL
Jun 10, 2010

EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED / NO HYPE

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE CHOSE SOMETHING REASONABLY INEXPENSIVE ON THE BEACH. THE GROUNDS, THE PUBLIC AREAS, THE ROOMS-- EVERYTHING WAS WELL MAINTAINED. WE WERE COMFORTABLE AND ENJOYED OUR STAY. I WOULD HAVE LIKED COFFEE IN OUR ROOM. VALET PARKING IS HIGH AND YOU HAVE NO CHOICE. BUT ON VACATION, I USUALLY GO WITH THE FLOW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

THE PROMENADE DIRECTLY BEHIND THE HOTEL ALLOWS YOU A GREAT OPPORTUNTIY TO ENJOY THE BEACH, SWIM, JOG, WALK. THE LINCOLN STREET MALL A BLOCK AWAY HAS AN UNENDING SELECTION OF RESTAURANTS. PEOPLE WATCHING PLUS

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples
May 23, 2010

Location

It worked for a 1 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples
May 23, 2010

Location

It worked for a 1 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lookin for relaxation
Lake Zurich, IL
May 18, 2010

Nice Hotel

This was my first time to Miami Beach. We needed a place to stay before departing on a cruise the next day. I decided upon the Richmond Hotel and was not disappointed. It was a great value for the location. The beach is right out back and the hotel provides towels. There is also a small pool and deck chairs for sun bathing (if you did not want to go to the beach). The rooms were fine. They were clean and had everything you needed -- including a wall safe. We had a king bed, which was fine. It could have used a pillow top or something as you could feel the crack between the two full size mattresses. There were not a huge amount of TV channels, but I was not there to watch TV. Nice restaurant right accross the street for breakfast and lunch. The Richmond has a bar / grill area, but don't expect much in the way of food. Overall, it a nice hotel and we were plesantly surprised. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach is right out back of the Hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, Delaware
May 18, 2010

Richmond Hotel

Room AC didn't work. This was in an oceanfront $200+ per night room.We spent 5 nights with 4 of them with room temp of 81 deg. This is in May. Hotel put in portable AC but it blew fuse at midnight and stayed off 8 hours. We called at 800 am because our room was an oven. Hotel fixed it by flipping a tripped breaker. In 5 nights, we had only one when temp in room was below 80 deg Fahrenheit. The food/drinks are expensive by South Beach standards. When breakfast for two is almost $50 we ate once and then went out thereafter.There are no sources of newspapers in the morning. Maid service was questionable. We were not able to get 4 wash cloths instead of 2. The maid service cleaned but did not apparently do it thoroughly. The tub was never cleaned by hand. Gus in the bar did a great job. He was the only one who did. We would not likely stay there again altho we spend more than 2 weeks per year on South Beach to visit our son who lives there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The next-door South Seas have a better breakfast for a lot less money, and free newspapers are available at no cost in their lobby.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, Delaware
May 18, 2010

Richmond Hotel

Room AC didn't work. This was in an oceanfront $200+ per night room.We spent 5 nights with 4 of them with room temp of 81 deg. This is in May. Hotel put in portable AC but it blew fuse at midnight and stayed off 8 hours. We called at 800 am because our room was an oven. Hotel fixed it by flipping a tripped breaker. In 5 nights, we had only one when temp in room was below 80 deg Fahrenheit. The food/drinks are expensive by South Beach standards. When breakfast for two is almost $50 we ate once and then went out thereafter.There are no sources of newspapers in the morning. Maid service was questionable. We were not able to get 4 wash cloths instead of 2. The maid service cleaned but did not apparently do it thoroughly. The tub was never cleaned by hand. Gus in the bar did a great job. He was the only one who did. We would not likely stay there again altho we spend more than 2 weeks per year on South Beach to visit our son who lives there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The next-door South Seas have a better breakfast for a lot less money, and free newspapers are available at no cost in their lobby.

Back to menu Return to top