$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Ledge, Mi
Mar 13, 2010

Great Location, Decent Hotel

We were there for a mini-vacation. The location was perfect. It was very close to plenty of food and activity options, including being right on the beach! It was on the main strip, but in a place where the activity was not as high, so you could walk to where everything was, but escape to a quieter environment for rest. The rooms were a bit small and dated, but the location mostly compensated for what the actual room lacked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of options within short walking distance.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Ledge, Mi
Mar 13, 2010

Great Location, Decent Hotel

We were there for a mini-vacation. The location was perfect. It was very close to plenty of food and activity options, including being right on the beach! It was on the main strip, but in a place where the activity was not as high, so you could walk to where everything was, but escape to a quieter environment for rest. The rooms were a bit small and dated, but the location mostly compensated for what the actual room lacked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of options within short walking distance.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
business MD
Business
buffalo, NY
Mar 11, 2010

okay hotel, kind of pricy

Nice location on South Beach, but rooms were very small and very tired. The pool and access to the beach were wonderful. Parking was expensive, there was good customer service. This is not the place for small children, there were no cribs or a pack-n-play and furnishings in the room were a death trap for small children. If you were young and single, the place to be, $$ for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very close to all of the action on S. Beach.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bruce Payne
Business
Herndon, Virgina
Mar 2, 2010

Great location, and that's it!

We arrived with high expectations and were very dissapointed. The moment the room door was opened, we knew it would not work. The room was very dirty, cramped, and not up to date at all. The carpet was filthy with stains throughout and the bathroom needs a serious remodel. We ended up paying a little more and moved two doors down to the Surfcomber. Great place!! The Richmond is in need of a serious upgrade and until it gets one, I can't recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Lincoln street just 2 block away. Everything you would want, good food, shopping and people watching at your fingertips.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Feb 28, 2010

South Beach

We arrived early with a 4 PM check in, parked the car, stored our luggage and enjoyed a walk. Upon return others were checking in, we were told 4PM. At 4 exactly the very curt front desk clerk held us up as though we were trash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli was great down the street a few blocks. Duck tour was the best part of the trip.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
birdface
Business
boston, MA
Feb 27, 2010

Great beach location

We didn't like our original room. It smelled like cigarettes, and faced a wall. Windows dirty. We got switched to a much better room with no problem. The pool, jacuzzi and beach were great. Staff very helpful on where to eat, parking, everything. Would stay there again, but would be sure no smoke smell in room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant was Nexxt Cafe. It's on Lincoln Rd., and maybe a mile away...not sure. We ate there 3 nights!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Boys
Business
Metro NYC
Feb 24, 2010

Art Deco

Great hot tub. Right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rich & Linda
Business
Orefield, PA
Feb 21, 2010

Much to be desired

This is an old hotel that needs a lot of modernization. The floors are creaky and the furniture very old and out of date. The location is great, but that doesn't make up for the shortcomings. The walls are thin: we heard a woman moaning & screaming in a room down the hall and a heavy-footed person rearranging the furniture in the room above us until midnight or so. The smoke alarm was missing, and the shower water kept fluctuating from cold to scalding hot. The bath was so tiny that when sitting on the toilet the paper roll was under our armpit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of alfresco dining in this area. For a nice lunch try Paul, a French bistro type deli on the pedestrian area of Lincoln Road, about a half-mile walk. For breakfast we enjoyed Maxine's directly across Collins Ave. from the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 20, 2010

BUYER BEWARE!!!

You know what I will say from this point on during this review it doesnt matter what good things I have to say about this hotel as they are only a few. I will keep this simple for sake of not waisting your time venting my frustration about this dump. We got there monday night and checked in and woke up tuesday morning with NO HOT WATER!!! Yes I said NO HOT WATER!!! The only hotel in all of South Beach with NO HOT WATER!!! The entire hotel had no hot water for two full days. The guests were raging over this and the hotel offered nothing in return. They were very rude and did not feel they should indemnify us as the typical answer on their behalf was "this sort of thing happens" really??? [...] If you like taking showers and being clean and not having to deal with rude hotel owners and staff this is not the place for you. The Richmond was the laugh of the town for those two entire days with over 150 guests complaining and no positive end result on behalf of the hotel. Rude, rude, rude!!! Take your dollar and go to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Feb 20, 2010

Great Stay, Great Service

We had a great stay at The Richmond. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The hotel is in a great location, very close to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Tip, food at the hotel is expensive and it's better to go elsewhere to eat (IF you can find any place cheaper in South Beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top