$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ericagio
Livorno, Italy
Jul 3, 2012

Good place to stay

10 minutes from Ocean Drive, 2 minutes from the sea, good pool, very good position.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas frequent traveler
Austin, Texas
Jan 3, 2014

Photos are deceiving

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. The pool and access to the beach were decent. Any room at an airport motel 6 is in better shape than the rooms at this hotel. Everything is VERY OLD and desperately needs updating. Bathroom plumbing made noises all day and night. Will not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARYMX
Mexico City
Jan 2, 2014

Great location but rude staff

The hotel is small but comfortable and the room was clean. Staff people at the bar and at the swimming pool was rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCJulie
New York, NY, USA
Dec 17, 2013

Great location, skimp on some extras

I would stay here again! The good: its family run, in an amazing location; the pool, the pool area and hot tub are awesome, its right on the beach and the rooms and common areas are renovated. The negatives: wifi is $9.95 per day, there is no espn on the tv and the walls are so thin we could hear every word people were saying at a normal level next door. But all in all, the good outweighs the bad and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat breakfast at the catalina across the street

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anni.79123
Germany
Dec 4, 2013

For a not so pleasant stay

The bathroom was rather outdated shabby and not really clean. Nowadays I expecct from a Hotel like this free WiFi...The whole Hotel needs some updating. The Cocktails and the food is also not the best. The location is pretty good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Nuts
Boise, ID
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect Location

Lovely time , great location. Quaint, on the beach, private. We would stay there again. Quite pool and breakfaast room in rear. Close to crruise ship area and airport. Bus service good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sam the super traveler
Kentucky
Nov 20, 2013

Not what I expected

The only positive I can say about this hotel was its location. It was in walking distance to all the restaurants and stores on Lincoln Rd. and right on the beach but those were about the only good things about it. The restaurant/bar downstairs was nice, with good food, but very, very slow! The room smelled very old and musty and was not the cleanest of rooms I have ever been in. The parking was not great either, with only having the options of parking in a structure down the road and pay, or pay for valet parking every day. Overall it was an average/slightly under average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Lincoln Rd. with all the nice restaurants and shops. But expect to pay a descent amount for your food.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIA jel
ny
Sep 30, 2013

nice place for short stay

room was clean and small. good enough for two people. pool area was comfy and small. I liked that it was a little off ocean drive so stay was quiet and relaxing and not too many guest walking around or too noisy. walking distance from beach! only wish you didn't have to pay for beach chairs if you are staying at the hotel. ive traveled a lot and its usually a given. but overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethAUS
Austin, TX
Sep 23, 2013

Great Location in South Beach, friendly staff

Great location, with a beautiful pool area that backs up to the beach (easy beach access). The staff was great but the room smelled musty and the bed was pretty hard. Otherwise, a good choice for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the pedestrian mall on Lincoln Blvd.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebecca0924
Napa Valley, CA
Sep 16, 2013

No oceanview in the hotel.

Regardless of what the room description says, this hotel does not offer an oceanview room. The foliage, although beautiful, blocks all views to the ocean. The hotel is only 5 stories and only 4 of the levels are available to guests. We disputed this to the front desk when we walked into the room and they actually argued that it was indeed an ocean view. I asked if they would like to come up and look out my window, they decided to take my word for it. They did not discount the room, but they said they wouldn't charge us for parking. Which by the way was not on the information we got so we had no idea they charge $35 per day for parking. Being that it is so far from the action in South Beach I would recommend staying closer to so. beach and get a partial ocean view. You will get a better location and a better view for probably less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the restaurant across the street is excellent. And they make on of the very best mojito's anywhere. It's also open 24 hrs. This is a big plus since the hotel doesn't have dinner or room service past lunch.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meg h
VA
Sep 10, 2013

Horrible Staff!

I stayed at the Richmond for a week this past summer. It was nice, good location, nice room for the price. The day before we checked out, however, the house cleaners took one of our beach towels. Yes, I know it was a mistake, I'm sure it happens all the time, so I called the front desk and told them. They said sorry and that I could pick it up tomorrow at 12 PM. I told them that would be impossible as I would be on a plane back home at the time so they answered with a "we can send it to you but you will have to pay for shipping." That's when I lost it. I told them that it was their mistake and they should correct it by sending it to me free of charge. Well Juliet, the lady at the front desk at the time, told me that would be fine so I left all the forwarding information with her assuming it would be taken care of. Three weeks have gone by, still no towel. So I called and the front desk told me the same thing, "we can send it but you will have to pay for shipping" I asked to talk to a manager. They transferred me to Mary and let me tell you, she is the rudest person I have ever encountered and if I were the hotel I would make her take a mandatory customer service class. All in all I would not recommend this hotel just in case something like this happens to you. It is not worth the headache, trust me. And I still don;t have my beach towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top