$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
263 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bruce Payne
Business
Herndon, Virgina
Mar 2, 2010

Great location, and that's it!

We arrived with high expectations and were very dissapointed. The moment the room door was opened, we knew it would not work. The room was very dirty, cramped, and not up to date at all. The carpet was filthy with stains throughout and the bathroom needs a serious remodel. We ended up paying a little more and moved two doors down to the Surfcomber. Great place!! The Richmond is in need of a serious upgrade and until it gets one, I can't recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Lincoln street just 2 block away. Everything you would want, good food, shopping and people watching at your fingertips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Feb 28, 2010

South Beach

We arrived early with a 4 PM check in, parked the car, stored our luggage and enjoyed a walk. Upon return others were checking in, we were told 4PM. At 4 exactly the very curt front desk clerk held us up as though we were trash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli was great down the street a few blocks. Duck tour was the best part of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
birdface
Business
boston, MA
Feb 27, 2010

Great beach location

We didn't like our original room. It smelled like cigarettes, and faced a wall. Windows dirty. We got switched to a much better room with no problem. The pool, jacuzzi and beach were great. Staff very helpful on where to eat, parking, everything. Would stay there again, but would be sure no smoke smell in room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant was Nexxt Cafe. It's on Lincoln Rd., and maybe a mile away...not sure. We ate there 3 nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Boys
Business
Metro NYC
Feb 24, 2010

Art Deco

Great hot tub. Right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rich & Linda
Business
Orefield, PA
Feb 21, 2010

Much to be desired

This is an old hotel that needs a lot of modernization. The floors are creaky and the furniture very old and out of date. The location is great, but that doesn't make up for the shortcomings. The walls are thin: we heard a woman moaning & screaming in a room down the hall and a heavy-footed person rearranging the furniture in the room above us until midnight or so. The smoke alarm was missing, and the shower water kept fluctuating from cold to scalding hot. The bath was so tiny that when sitting on the toilet the paper roll was under our armpit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of alfresco dining in this area. For a nice lunch try Paul, a French bistro type deli on the pedestrian area of Lincoln Road, about a half-mile walk. For breakfast we enjoyed Maxine's directly across Collins Ave. from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 20, 2010

BUYER BEWARE!!!

You know what I will say from this point on during this review it doesnt matter what good things I have to say about this hotel as they are only a few. I will keep this simple for sake of not waisting your time venting my frustration about this dump. We got there monday night and checked in and woke up tuesday morning with NO HOT WATER!!! Yes I said NO HOT WATER!!! The only hotel in all of South Beach with NO HOT WATER!!! The entire hotel had no hot water for two full days. The guests were raging over this and the hotel offered nothing in return. They were very rude and did not feel they should indemnify us as the typical answer on their behalf was "this sort of thing happens" really??? [...] If you like taking showers and being clean and not having to deal with rude hotel owners and staff this is not the place for you. The Richmond was the laugh of the town for those two entire days with over 150 guests complaining and no positive end result on behalf of the hotel. Rude, rude, rude!!! Take your dollar and go to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Feb 20, 2010

Great Stay, Great Service

We had a great stay at The Richmond. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The hotel is in a great location, very close to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Tip, food at the hotel is expensive and it's better to go elsewhere to eat (IF you can find any place cheaper in South Beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well seasoned traveler
Business
midwest
Feb 14, 2010

Quite, clean, simple, GREAT location!!!

Very friendly staff, no fancy frills and not fancy, clean, quite, comfy beds, great beach view, can't get any closer to beach. Close to night life (walking)but yet far enough your not kept up all night. Never used our car, walked everywhere.Great breakfast which dbls as a full service bar. shopping and many resturants 2 blocks away. Liquor store accross the street. Biggest bang for the buck in a long time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, steps away. Best shopping and night life in S Beach begins 2 blocks away. I wouldnt want to be any closer. Nice 2 be 2 blocks away so we could sleep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 11, 2010

Great Locations

Great Location. Went for SuperBowl and had major celebrity parties all around...so it was not quiet, but that was out of control of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 11, 2010

Nothing Fancy + Mechanical Problems

The on-beach location and nice pool are this hotel's strengths. If the weather is good and you plan to enjoy the beach and pool and spending limited time in the room, this place will work for you. Rooms are VERY small, dark and the walls are paper thin (I could hear conversations from the adjacent rooms) As a result, I have to say the hotel is noisy, offers NO PRIVACY and it's hard to sleep. The hot tub and hot water broke and were eventually repaired during my 3-day stay. The staff (and the owners who happened to be on-site) were less than empathetic, and offered no restitution. Overall, the hotel has much potential, and although it is NOT a 3 or 4 star hotel, the rate was reasonable. I would stay again if my budget forced me to, otherwise, I prefer to pay a litle extra and stay somewhere respectable. Overall, I was disappointed, and wished I stayed somewhere nicer, as there were plenty of options available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I am not a cheap person, but was frustrated by the expense of everything including parking, making local calls, internet access and beach chairs. Check out the cerviche at the little beach shack ("Food with Love" I think it's called) directly on the beach, across from the hotel's beach access gate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top