$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rich & Linda
Business
Orefield, PA
Feb 21, 2010

Much to be desired

This is an old hotel that needs a lot of modernization. The floors are creaky and the furniture very old and out of date. The location is great, but that doesn't make up for the shortcomings. The walls are thin: we heard a woman moaning & screaming in a room down the hall and a heavy-footed person rearranging the furniture in the room above us until midnight or so. The smoke alarm was missing, and the shower water kept fluctuating from cold to scalding hot. The bath was so tiny that when sitting on the toilet the paper roll was under our armpit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of alfresco dining in this area. For a nice lunch try Paul, a French bistro type deli on the pedestrian area of Lincoln Road, about a half-mile walk. For breakfast we enjoyed Maxine's directly across Collins Ave. from the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Feb 20, 2010

Great Stay, Great Service

We had a great stay at The Richmond. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The hotel is in a great location, very close to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Tip, food at the hotel is expensive and it's better to go elsewhere to eat (IF you can find any place cheaper in South Beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well seasoned traveler
Business
midwest
Feb 14, 2010

Quite, clean, simple, GREAT location!!!

Very friendly staff, no fancy frills and not fancy, clean, quite, comfy beds, great beach view, can't get any closer to beach. Close to night life (walking)but yet far enough your not kept up all night. Never used our car, walked everywhere.Great breakfast which dbls as a full service bar. shopping and many resturants 2 blocks away. Liquor store accross the street. Biggest bang for the buck in a long time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, steps away. Best shopping and night life in S Beach begins 2 blocks away. I wouldnt want to be any closer. Nice 2 be 2 blocks away so we could sleep.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 11, 2010

Great Locations

Great Location. Went for SuperBowl and had major celebrity parties all around...so it was not quiet, but that was out of control of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 11, 2010

Nothing Fancy + Mechanical Problems

The on-beach location and nice pool are this hotel's strengths. If the weather is good and you plan to enjoy the beach and pool and spending limited time in the room, this place will work for you. Rooms are VERY small, dark and the walls are paper thin (I could hear conversations from the adjacent rooms) As a result, I have to say the hotel is noisy, offers NO PRIVACY and it's hard to sleep. The hot tub and hot water broke and were eventually repaired during my 3-day stay. The staff (and the owners who happened to be on-site) were less than empathetic, and offered no restitution. Overall, the hotel has much potential, and although it is NOT a 3 or 4 star hotel, the rate was reasonable. I would stay again if my budget forced me to, otherwise, I prefer to pay a litle extra and stay somewhere respectable. Overall, I was disappointed, and wished I stayed somewhere nicer, as there were plenty of options available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I am not a cheap person, but was frustrated by the expense of everything including parking, making local calls, internet access and beach chairs. Check out the cerviche at the little beach shack ("Food with Love" I think it's called) directly on the beach, across from the hotel's beach access gate.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Feb 4, 2010

Must have hired a very good photographer

The staff could not be friendlier but the atmosphere of the hotel and cost of all of "the extras" left much to be desired. Some fees that you should be aware of: $35 to valet or $20 for a garage (that is not on site), $10 a day for internet in your room or $.35/min in the lobby, $10 a chair on the beach/$15 for an umbrella, local calls are $1.50 for the first 10 mins then $.10 each min after, cost of a bagel and cream cheese at the restaurant: $6.50. The hotel was in a good location but in serious need of a renovation – dark, gloomy, bad plumbing, paper thin walls, shower curtain 2' shorter than the length of the tub, etc. I would highly suggest doing your research before traveling to Miami, not only about hotels, but restaurants, clubs, etc. There are a lot of people trying to take advantage of you. Good example, we looked to extend our stay one night and a 3-star hotel wanted $475 for the night (Super Bowl week) and we found a promotion at a 4-star hotel for $42 for the same night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BVI sailors
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Feb 4, 2010

right in the heart of Miami Beach

wonderful walking/bike path right between the beach and hotel. Great for an evening stroll. Be prepared. Parking is difficult to find. Valet parking is the best way to go, however be prepared for the $35 charge plus taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of dining and shopping choices close by.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Feb 3, 2010

relax

The hotel is older but very clean. The location was perfect. The pool was clean and large enough to swim laps. The beach and boardwalk just outside your door. The staff was lovely. The room was cleaned every morning in a timely manner. The dining area was small, the food good. It has a very low key intimate environment, just right for a few days rest. I was very happy with this choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road, lots of little cafes

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jj1
Business
Belgium, EU
Feb 2, 2010

nice hotel with a good location

Nice hotel, great location, excellent pool area, perfect access to the beach. The only problem are the somewhat small rooms and quite thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeSan
Business
Chicago
Jan 31, 2010

Like a youth hoste

There are MUCH better deals on Collins forget this place and it does NOT deserve to be on [...] good deal list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top