$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
267 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm beach county
Sep 25, 2010

Very nice

Great location. Nice room. Clean. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and resturants close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Istanbul, TURKEY
Aug 31, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Very good location, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFREDDY
Business
Ft Myers FL
Aug 29, 2010

Our South Beach Getaway

All in all the hotel was in a great location. Staff was great and friendly. The pool area was clean and the beach access was amazing. The rooms were clean but older. Due to the age of the hotel the rooms were dated but if you like retro which we do they worked for us. Also because of the age of the hotel we did hear the person in the next room. Did not like the coffee I would defintely return and stay if I was to visit South beach again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were surprised of the prices for early dinner and lunches to be quite reasonable and the food was very good on Lincoln Blvd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tego
Business
columbus, oh
Aug 25, 2010

just Fine!!

We had a very good time overall. The area is fantastic. we barely used taxis to get around. it's convenient very close to areas of attractions. But a better maintainance should be provided. the towels were worn out w hairs on it, the should be replaced by new ones if you ask me. it grossed me out personally. there's nothing wrong w old hotels as long as the keep them remodeled and updated. In the room the chair was all stained and dirty, the bedroom set and bathroom over all should be updated, we saw roaches crawling. pool area floor could use a little power washing, it's black and moldy. we had a microfridge but not a microwave. Some music in the lobby and pool would be nice (like most locations around).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's not a dinning place, but it's little restaurant called charlotte. the service is good, they are nice and delicious food. it's only one block east from Española Way. At night we went to mangos and clevelander, awesome times i like both as much. Although, i got to go to few places in española way, i must advise everyone to be aware of the service the will receive. The tips are already included, so that automatically give them the right to treat you bad and give you a bad service. i am not kidding about that. they do not have the urgency of doing a good job because they are getting the tip anyway. i do not really care about prices, but a good service is important to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
O.N.E.
Business
H-Town
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location/Sm Rooms

Some music around the pool an extend the happy hour drink specials like the neighbor hotels have would be a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr tj1981
Business
buenos aires
Aug 17, 2010

A good experience in SOBE

The hotel is near to everything. Frontdesk Staff was very polite and helpful, Specially Ricardo and Daisy. The swimming pool area was fine. Our Room was small but comfortable, no noise at all which make our stay much better. The bad was that we couldnt do a late checkout but the positive is that Mandy let us use all hotel facilities like swimming pool,etc until taxi came to pick us up. i would recommend this hotel to another traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte nc
Aug 14, 2010

Comfortable and friendly

If you are attending an event at the Miami Beach Convention Center it is an easy walk. It is quiet but not too far away from all the restaurants and pubs. I would not hesitate to go back at the price. Nothing fancy, comfortable, clean,friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
itxo
Business
GA
Aug 12, 2010

Typical Mia Beach mid range priced hotel

As usual in every hotel I have stayed so far in Miami Beach, the service is bellow expectations, in this case the breakfast was not ready by 7am as they promised, instead I have to wait until 8:15 and I am talking about eggs, toast and ham. It was very good but late and expensive ($21). Nice staff but you do not see the customer first attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nnny
Business
new york
Aug 10, 2010

great experience for the $$

It was a great weekend getaway and when we checked in the upgraded us to a ^th floor ocean view room which was spectacular!Def worth the $$ and will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BassetBud
Business
washington, DC
Aug 10, 2010

not terrible, but not 4 stars.

one probably pays a premium to be on the beach, but I doubt it's worth it. This hotel is in need of updating across the board: carpets, room fixtures, flooring, painting. It's a great spot, but suffering from so many vacationing mileage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top