$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
264 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (264)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed07093
Business
Wantage New Jersey
Jun 4, 2014

Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well maintained and heated, housekeeping is slow, but accommodating if calked upon, private 5th floor sun deck is ideal for peaceful reading and sunbathing. All in all excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FKU across street great pad Thai!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DM424
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 15, 2010

Good location, some updating would help

I have been to Miami several times for quick weekends away. This time I was running away from a snowstorm on its way to OH. Hotel was a little farther north than I normally stay, wouldn't consider this SoBe, more just Miami Beach. Nice pool area and easy access to beach. Surprised at size of room - very large with walk-in closet. Bathroom definitely showed its age. Old tiles, old toilet, cloth shades in the window in the tub. Queen size bed was actually two twins pushed together, too short for my 6'2 frame. Drinks were very expensive, but food was good. Only ate here once because of the price. Website somewhat misleading - hotel does have Wifi, but at a cost - $10/day. Able to use wifi connection from surrounding hotels for free. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to Lincoln Rd for 2 for 1 happy hour specials. 3-9 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Beaches
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2010

A Decent Place to Stay

The hotel was good for the price of about $120 per night. It was clean, quiet, and in a great location. I wouldn't probably stay here for a weeks vacation, but we stayed here for two nights before a cruise, and it worked nicely for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I wish we would have realized that the boardwalk right behind the hotel goes all the way to the end of South Beach. We would have loved to enjoy a nice walk in the morning, but before we realized it, we had to leave for our cruise. It's beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzer
Business
DTW
Nov 30, 2010

Can't wait to go back!

Nothing GLAM, just good, CLEAN, nice hotel visit. Walk to SoBe, walk to Lincoln Mall, walk to parks, walk to museum, lovely pool and yard area right off ocean. In house cafe delightful! again, if you want glam food, go to SoBe; if you want a great meal at a good price served by wonderful staff in a lovely setting, eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus 150 from airport to directly in front of hotel $3.25, with only 3 stops between airport and hotel (compared to $35 taxi), and same back to airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joaskaxpl
Business
Long Island, New York
Nov 30, 2010

Great Trip

The location of the hotel is great since it's right on the beach and close to dining, shopping, and nightlife. The staff went above and beyond to make us happy. We were able to leave our bags in the hotel before checking in since we arrived at 11am, and then we were able to check in the room at 2pm instead of at 4pm. Also since we had a late flight we were able to check out one hour later and leave our bags again. The room was clean and cleaning service came everyday. The only bad thing was the thin walls and a unstable hotel's restaurant hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat & Ev
Business
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Nov 30, 2010

Great for the location and price

Clean but small room, great view, good service, great price, what else do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Nov 24, 2010

the price is right, nice clean.

nice clean,the food and drins a bit too expensive but overall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the restaurants in espanola way espesialy tapas y tinto rest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 23, 2010

In Need of Remodeling

Hotel was average, staff was friendly but there was not even water in the fridge or in the room and room service did not deliver anything. I think there were bed bugs because I got some bites. Hotel definitely needs to be remodeled!!! But close distance to all great places and room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Delano!!! Very beautiful hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel22
Business
brooklyn,ny
Nov 21, 2010

Great vacation

When I was in my hotel room I have a nice moments, I watched Tv, rested after aleach.l day on the b

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hosteria Romana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBMary
Business
New York, NY
Nov 15, 2010

The Richmond Hotel - Miami, FL

For the price, the Richmond Hotel is one of the best hotels in South Beach to stay at if you simply want a good, clean, safe hotel in a great location without spending a fortune. Rooms are basic, clean and still retain the charm of its past. The location is great as it is within a short walking distance to the strip on A1A/Ocean Drive and for proximity to the beach...it can't be beat! If you're not up for the beach, the pool and hot tub provide an excellent space to relax under beautiful palm trees. Also, if you need anything such as sun screen, snacks, water, etc., there is a Walgreen's just two short blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the Walgreen's two short blocks away for water, snacks, sunscreen, etc. The Hotel does not have a store inside of it and the food there is priced high for what it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TreesKnees
Business
Providence
Nov 6, 2010

exactly what I needed

The Richmond was pretty perfect for what we were looking for. A great price, barefoot walk to the beach, and lovely poolside lounging! The Richmond may have it's tiny quirks, but I wholly recommend it. Totally going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top