$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed07093
Business
Wantage New Jersey
Jun 4, 2014

Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well maintained and heated, housekeeping is slow, but accommodating if calked upon, private 5th floor sun deck is ideal for peaceful reading and sunbathing. All in all excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FKU across street great pad Thai!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stals17
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 13, 2011

Relaxing

Pros: Great location; right in the middle of the hotel district. Short walk to nightlife & restaurants. The beach in the backyard is gorgeous! The B150 Bus ($2.35) takes you from the airport to the hotel as oppose to paying $35-$40 for taxi fare. The bus ride is about 30 minutes. The value of the trip is affordable. The staff is friendly and wonderful. Very peaceful. Cons: The carpet inside the room could use a steam cleaning or even be replaced. There is no iron board; had to use the bed to iron. Barely no cold water in the shower. The TV sits low, so you have to sit up or move your feet aside while laying in the bed. Not enough outlets. Had to take turns using the 2 outlets in the bathroom to charge phones & cameras/camcorders. Pipes in the bathroom makes noise when your neighbor takes a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stals17
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 13, 2011

Relaxing

Pros: Great location; right in the middle of the hotel district. Short walk to nightlife & restaurants. The beach in the backyard is gorgeous! The B150 Bus ($2.35) takes you from the airport to the hotel as oppose to paying $35-$40 for taxi fare. The bus ride is about 30 minutes. The value of the trip is affordable. The staff is friendly and wonderful. Very peaceful. Cons: The carpet inside the room could use a steam cleaning or even be replaced. There is no iron board; had to use the bed to iron. Barely no cold water in the shower. The TV sits low, so you have to sit up or move your feet aside while laying in the bed. Not enough outlets. Had to take turns using the 2 outlets in the bathroom to charge phones & cameras/camcorders. Pipes in the bathroom makes noise when your neighbor takes a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC to MIA
Business
NYC
Apr 8, 2011

Great location

Location is fantastic, close to the beach, one block from lincoln road. but the room thatwe got was very small. Also facing Collins Ave, so it was quite loud at night. We were a bit disappointed at the bathroom, which was a bit old fashioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2011

Disappointing

The hotel is conveniently located and the front desk staff was delightful. That ends the positives. Main problem: walls and doors so thin, we heard everything that happened in the next room -- down to knowing when the guy was taking a leak... Bed way too mushy. Air conditioner was cranky and loud. No water pressure. Restaurant beyond bad. Pool tiny. Stay here only if the price is exceptionally low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Crab House -- alot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2011

Disappointing

The hotel is conveniently located and the front desk staff was delightful. That ends the positives. Main problem: walls and doors so thin, we heard everything that happened in the next room -- down to knowing when the guy was taking a leak... Bed way too mushy. Air conditioner was cranky and loud. No water pressure. Restaurant beyond bad. Pool tiny. Stay here only if the price is exceptionally low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Crab House -- alot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 29, 2011

marooned in miami

I was pleasantly surprised by the oasis of calm that was my room on Collins during spring break (those years are well behind me). I would give it 5 stars for the price (vs paying double for something "luxury") but I am taking one away because I think it is likely I would not have enjoyed my stay as much in another room where there might have been more traffic. (Plus I was awakened once in the night and heard a very faint bass from club nearby but no big deal, back to bed) It was a last minute decision due to the fuel fire and flight cancellation but one I am happy with. And I have stayed at a few of the spots on Collins. This one great for a short stay. One thing I noticed that while it was in no way fancy the bathroom seemed super clean, even more than I have seen at 5 star hotels. And the decor generally did not bother me as it has some. All in all very positive experience, would consider returning. But never over spring break if I have a choice next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanta
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Nice Hotel

Great location, comfortable bed/clean room & nice, but small pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach/boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jermworm Recommends
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Spring Break @ The Richmond

The Hotel was very accomidating to our needs. I enjoyed the gym personally while my girlfriend enjoyed tanning outdoors. The hot tub was a very nice addition. The staff was very nice and helpful with any of the questions we had. We normally shot for lesser hotels because we never stayed in the room. We knew we wanted to rest a lot so he had to step up the quality. When I go back with my boys I will slum it out them but for couples The Richmond was a nice fit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Feb 25, 2011

Close but no cigar

The marketing for this hotel is smart, advertising it as being Art Deco. Yes, there are some Art Deco elements in the lobby that are interesting and there are some simulated antiques in your room. But mostly what this means is that the hotel is old. Thin walls mean you'll get to know your neighbors, and old plumbing means you'll know when they flush the toilet when you're in the shower. It's quaint, I'll give it that. The real jewel of this hotel is the pool area, with gorgeous flora and a nice saltwater pool and hot tub. That sounds bad but the salt level is gentle and feels more natural than chlorine. The inexplicable part of this equation is that they close the pool area at sunset!!?? Here we are on vacation as a couple and we have to make sure we get out of the hot tub at sunset. The bar/restaurant also closes early and the beach is dangerous after dark, so if you're too old for nightclubbing you're pretty much left to watch TV in your room. The restaurant in the hotel is fairly useless, and they charged us $3 a cup for mediocre coffee in the morning. My recommendation would be to head across the street to Maxine's in the morning for a nice breakfast. The beach is of course beautiful, but the area around the hotel is not that great. Aside from the pretty hotels there are mostly beach shops. I would recommend going out the back of the hotel, taking a right on the pathway and walking down to Ocean Street. That is a much prettier area of town. Or, go south to Lincoln and take a right. There are a wide variety of European-style outdoor restaurants there. You should definitely look there for better eating. In short: a great base of operations for Miami Beach, but don't think of this as a four-star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head across the street to Maxine's for a nice breakfast or go west on Lincoln to find some European-style outdoor restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jan 6, 2011

Not worth it.

I had stayed at the Richmond about 7 years ago and was so impressed that I chose it for my husband's first trip to Miami. Big mistake! Either my taste has dramatically changed, or the hotel has gone dramatically down hill (which is definitely the case). We stayed 4 nights, and couldn't change our reservation or check out early, as the hotel would have charged 100% of what we pre-paid for changes or early departures.The bed was so bad that we both came back with back pain - and we both can usually sleep ANYWHERE. The chair had what looked to be like a blood stain on it. Wifi was $10 an hour - and the hotel did not include continental breakfast, coffee, or anything. There were no coffeemakers or hairdryers in the rooms. I've stayed at the South Seas next door (which includes all of the above, complimentary, for less money) and am kicking myself for choosing the Richond over the South Seas.When we asked about upgrading to an oceanview room, we were informed it would be $50 extra per night, but what did it matter, because she didn't think we'd be spending much time in the room anyway. We actually DID plan to spend some time relaxing in the room - it was our vacation!Towels were never at the pool when we went down - we had to ask for them and wait each time. The hotel did have a nice outdoor hot tub.Overall, very disappointed with the fact that though [...]doesn't charge a fee, the hotel did and we felt stuck for 4 nights and did not have a comfortable stay at all.Even if you just need a place to sleep for a few hours, I would not recommend the Richmond. You can stay across the street on Collins for much less money and probably get a free breakfast out of that, and won't have to spend money at the chiropractor when you return home!This is the first travel review I have ever written, so I am not one to complain about hotels often. I just feel others should learn from my mistake in choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the airport flyer 150 bus to and from the airport! For $2.35, it stops right across / in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top