$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
291 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Mar 29, 2011

marooned in miami

I was pleasantly surprised by the oasis of calm that was my room on Collins during spring break (those years are well behind me). I would give it 5 stars for the price (vs paying double for something "luxury") but I am taking one away because I think it is likely I would not have enjoyed my stay as much in another room where there might have been more traffic. (Plus I was awakened once in the night and heard a very faint bass from club nearby but no big deal, back to bed) It was a last minute decision due to the fuel fire and flight cancellation but one I am happy with. And I have stayed at a few of the spots on Collins. This one great for a short stay. One thing I noticed that while it was in no way fancy the bathroom seemed super clean, even more than I have seen at 5 star hotels. And the decor generally did not bother me as it has some. All in all very positive experience, would consider returning. But never over spring break if I have a choice next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanta
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Nice Hotel

Great location, comfortable bed/clean room & nice, but small pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach/boardwalk.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jermworm Recommends
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Spring Break @ The Richmond

The Hotel was very accomidating to our needs. I enjoyed the gym personally while my girlfriend enjoyed tanning outdoors. The hot tub was a very nice addition. The staff was very nice and helpful with any of the questions we had. We normally shot for lesser hotels because we never stayed in the room. We knew we wanted to rest a lot so he had to step up the quality. When I go back with my boys I will slum it out them but for couples The Richmond was a nice fit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak, MI
Feb 25, 2011

Close but no cigar

The marketing for this hotel is smart, advertising it as being Art Deco. Yes, there are some Art Deco elements in the lobby that are interesting and there are some simulated antiques in your room. But mostly what this means is that the hotel is old. Thin walls mean you'll get to know your neighbors, and old plumbing means you'll know when they flush the toilet when you're in the shower. It's quaint, I'll give it that. The real jewel of this hotel is the pool area, with gorgeous flora and a nice saltwater pool and hot tub. That sounds bad but the salt level is gentle and feels more natural than chlorine. The inexplicable part of this equation is that they close the pool area at sunset!!?? Here we are on vacation as a couple and we have to make sure we get out of the hot tub at sunset. The bar/restaurant also closes early and the beach is dangerous after dark, so if you're too old for nightclubbing you're pretty much left to watch TV in your room. The restaurant in the hotel is fairly useless, and they charged us $3 a cup for mediocre coffee in the morning. My recommendation would be to head across the street to Maxine's in the morning for a nice breakfast. The beach is of course beautiful, but the area around the hotel is not that great. Aside from the pretty hotels there are mostly beach shops. I would recommend going out the back of the hotel, taking a right on the pathway and walking down to Ocean Street. That is a much prettier area of town. Or, go south to Lincoln and take a right. There are a wide variety of European-style outdoor restaurants there. You should definitely look there for better eating. In short: a great base of operations for Miami Beach, but don't think of this as a four-star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head across the street to Maxine's for a nice breakfast or go west on Lincoln to find some European-style outdoor restaurants.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Jan 6, 2011

Not worth it.

I had stayed at the Richmond about 7 years ago and was so impressed that I chose it for my husband's first trip to Miami. Big mistake! Either my taste has dramatically changed, or the hotel has gone dramatically down hill (which is definitely the case). We stayed 4 nights, and couldn't change our reservation or check out early, as the hotel would have charged 100% of what we pre-paid for changes or early departures.The bed was so bad that we both came back with back pain - and we both can usually sleep ANYWHERE. The chair had what looked to be like a blood stain on it. Wifi was $10 an hour - and the hotel did not include continental breakfast, coffee, or anything. There were no coffeemakers or hairdryers in the rooms. I've stayed at the South Seas next door (which includes all of the above, complimentary, for less money) and am kicking myself for choosing the Richond over the South Seas.When we asked about upgrading to an oceanview room, we were informed it would be $50 extra per night, but what did it matter, because she didn't think we'd be spending much time in the room anyway. We actually DID plan to spend some time relaxing in the room - it was our vacation!Towels were never at the pool when we went down - we had to ask for them and wait each time. The hotel did have a nice outdoor hot tub.Overall, very disappointed with the fact that though [...]doesn't charge a fee, the hotel did and we felt stuck for 4 nights and did not have a comfortable stay at all.Even if you just need a place to sleep for a few hours, I would not recommend the Richmond. You can stay across the street on Collins for much less money and probably get a free breakfast out of that, and won't have to spend money at the chiropractor when you return home!This is the first travel review I have ever written, so I am not one to complain about hotels often. I just feel others should learn from my mistake in choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the airport flyer 150 bus to and from the airport! For $2.35, it stops right across / in front of the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston ,MA
Dec 29, 2010

Not up to Snuff

The hotel , unfortunately leaves a lot to be desired. There was not even a chair in front of the desk ! the toilet did not work repeatedly , when we complained about the noise for being next to the elevator , there was just a blank stare ! when we reported that the lock leading to the beach was not working , they said they'll take care of it , but did not . We had to jump over the fence to get back from the beach. The management needs a tottal make over !!! The hotel is no more than 2 star REALLY !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Frankfurt, Germany
Dec 27, 2010

Christmas with our Daughter

Hotel was OK. Room was not bad but at the front of the Hotel with lots of road noise. Hotel rooms very dated and in need of refubishment. We had a great time over Christmas with family in Miami Beach. Great place to visit, lots to see and do. Folks in Miami were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aventura Mall is great shopping, just 30 minutes from the Hotel.......just a nightmare to park day after Christmas!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DM424
Columbus, OH
Dec 15, 2010

Good location, some updating would help

I have been to Miami several times for quick weekends away. This time I was running away from a snowstorm on its way to OH. Hotel was a little farther north than I normally stay, wouldn't consider this SoBe, more just Miami Beach. Nice pool area and easy access to beach. Surprised at size of room - very large with walk-in closet. Bathroom definitely showed its age. Old tiles, old toilet, cloth shades in the window in the tub. Queen size bed was actually two twins pushed together, too short for my 6'2 frame. Drinks were very expensive, but food was good. Only ate here once because of the price. Website somewhat misleading - hotel does have Wifi, but at a cost - $10/day. Able to use wifi connection from surrounding hotels for free. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to Lincoln Rd for 2 for 1 happy hour specials. 3-9 PM.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Beaches
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2010

A Decent Place to Stay

The hotel was good for the price of about $120 per night. It was clean, quiet, and in a great location. I wouldn't probably stay here for a weeks vacation, but we stayed here for two nights before a cruise, and it worked nicely for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I wish we would have realized that the boardwalk right behind the hotel goes all the way to the end of South Beach. We would have loved to enjoy a nice walk in the morning, but before we realized it, we had to leave for our cruise. It's beautiful.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzer
DTW
Nov 30, 2010

Can't wait to go back!

Nothing GLAM, just good, CLEAN, nice hotel visit. Walk to SoBe, walk to Lincoln Mall, walk to parks, walk to museum, lovely pool and yard area right off ocean. In house cafe delightful! again, if you want glam food, go to SoBe; if you want a great meal at a good price served by wonderful staff in a lovely setting, eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus 150 from airport to directly in front of hotel $3.25, with only 3 stops between airport and hotel (compared to $35 taxi), and same back to airport

Back to menu Return to top

Change search