$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
267 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
margreat
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Big Mistake! Don't go!

Staying in this hotel is my biggest mistake! The hotel service sucks. There is only one blanket per room, and either me or my roommate has to sleep with nothing! The stuff here speak poor English and are really rude. Aren't hotel supposed to put customers' needs first?? I just ask for ONE THING!! and the twin beds are not even 1 meter wide. Really disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTT
Business
US
Apr 18, 2011

Very nice experience

Very good overall experince with hotel. Location was great... 5 minute walk to Lincoln Mall and 10 minutes to Ocean Drive. Check in was easy and room was very clean and well decorated. Pool area is beautiful and beach access right outside the gate. Hotel staff were very polite which is a refreshing change from the South Beach norm! I agree with other reviewers that walls are very thin and hall noise can be heard but this is an old hotel so it's going to happen. My main tip is don't pay the hotel $35 per day valet fee... Go to the big deck near the convention center/Filmore theater and park for about half that. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maimi Beach, Fl
Apr 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great short getaway and location. Beautiful pool and easy beach access. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Excellent value. Room was small, however clean and economical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look around for food and drink specials. Many happy hour options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stals17
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 13, 2011

Relaxing

Pros: Great location; right in the middle of the hotel district. Short walk to nightlife & restaurants. The beach in the backyard is gorgeous! The B150 Bus ($2.35) takes you from the airport to the hotel as oppose to paying $35-$40 for taxi fare. The bus ride is about 30 minutes. The value of the trip is affordable. The staff is friendly and wonderful. Very peaceful. Cons: The carpet inside the room could use a steam cleaning or even be replaced. There is no iron board; had to use the bed to iron. Barely no cold water in the shower. The TV sits low, so you have to sit up or move your feet aside while laying in the bed. Not enough outlets. Had to take turns using the 2 outlets in the bathroom to charge phones & cameras/camcorders. Pipes in the bathroom makes noise when your neighbor takes a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC to MIA
Business
NYC
Apr 8, 2011

Great location

Location is fantastic, close to the beach, one block from lincoln road. but the room thatwe got was very small. Also facing Collins Ave, so it was quite loud at night. We were a bit disappointed at the bathroom, which was a bit old fashioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2011

Disappointing

The hotel is conveniently located and the front desk staff was delightful. That ends the positives. Main problem: walls and doors so thin, we heard everything that happened in the next room -- down to knowing when the guy was taking a leak... Bed way too mushy. Air conditioner was cranky and loud. No water pressure. Restaurant beyond bad. Pool tiny. Stay here only if the price is exceptionally low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Crab House -- alot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 29, 2011

marooned in miami

I was pleasantly surprised by the oasis of calm that was my room on Collins during spring break (those years are well behind me). I would give it 5 stars for the price (vs paying double for something "luxury") but I am taking one away because I think it is likely I would not have enjoyed my stay as much in another room where there might have been more traffic. (Plus I was awakened once in the night and heard a very faint bass from club nearby but no big deal, back to bed) It was a last minute decision due to the fuel fire and flight cancellation but one I am happy with. And I have stayed at a few of the spots on Collins. This one great for a short stay. One thing I noticed that while it was in no way fancy the bathroom seemed super clean, even more than I have seen at 5 star hotels. And the decor generally did not bother me as it has some. All in all very positive experience, would consider returning. But never over spring break if I have a choice next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanta
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Nice Hotel

Great location, comfortable bed/clean room & nice, but small pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach/boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jermworm Recommends
Business
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Spring Break @ The Richmond

The Hotel was very accomidating to our needs. I enjoyed the gym personally while my girlfriend enjoyed tanning outdoors. The hot tub was a very nice addition. The staff was very nice and helpful with any of the questions we had. We normally shot for lesser hotels because we never stayed in the room. We knew we wanted to rest a lot so he had to step up the quality. When I go back with my boys I will slum it out them but for couples The Richmond was a nice fit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Feb 25, 2011

Close but no cigar

The marketing for this hotel is smart, advertising it as being Art Deco. Yes, there are some Art Deco elements in the lobby that are interesting and there are some simulated antiques in your room. But mostly what this means is that the hotel is old. Thin walls mean you'll get to know your neighbors, and old plumbing means you'll know when they flush the toilet when you're in the shower. It's quaint, I'll give it that. The real jewel of this hotel is the pool area, with gorgeous flora and a nice saltwater pool and hot tub. That sounds bad but the salt level is gentle and feels more natural than chlorine. The inexplicable part of this equation is that they close the pool area at sunset!!?? Here we are on vacation as a couple and we have to make sure we get out of the hot tub at sunset. The bar/restaurant also closes early and the beach is dangerous after dark, so if you're too old for nightclubbing you're pretty much left to watch TV in your room. The restaurant in the hotel is fairly useless, and they charged us $3 a cup for mediocre coffee in the morning. My recommendation would be to head across the street to Maxine's in the morning for a nice breakfast. The beach is of course beautiful, but the area around the hotel is not that great. Aside from the pretty hotels there are mostly beach shops. I would recommend going out the back of the hotel, taking a right on the pathway and walking down to Ocean Street. That is a much prettier area of town. Or, go south to Lincoln and take a right. There are a wide variety of European-style outdoor restaurants there. You should definitely look there for better eating. In short: a great base of operations for Miami Beach, but don't think of this as a four-star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head across the street to Maxine's for a nice breakfast or go west on Lincoln to find some European-style outdoor restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top