$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EYoung
New York
Jan 21, 2013

Great experience

Very nice, small boutique hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I stayed a couple nights and loved the location and convenience to the beach and shopping areas. The first night we discovered late that the TV didn't work, and the next day they swapped it out and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and basic and the bed was comfortable. It's great for people who are active and out during the day/evening, and need a nice, good value place to sleep, with caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
out2late
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

failed to deliver

I showed up at 1:30 to register and the room would not be available until 4:30. I signed the documents and showed up at 7:30 to find that they had let the room out to someone else. I was put up in their apartment across the street and parking was comped but it was not satisfactory. Nice facility I think but management is inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 9, 2011

GREAT TIME

The Richmond was a great hotel! the pool was AMAZINGGG!!! the staff was very friendly and willing to help! The rooms were VERY CLEAN which was a big deal for us! The room are average size, not too big but still a good size for a couple! the AC worked GREAT! we were actually cold !!!! the only suggestion I have is that the hotel should have more entertainment ! We stood over during the raining season, but were lucky to get 2 days of great sunshine =) however, when it did rain we could hear the music and dj's from all the hotels around us while the richmond was dead silent!!!! a little bit of music or some type of entertainment would def. improve this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2011

Things have changed...

Sad to see a wonderful little boutique hotel go down the drain... fights at 3am in the hallway; vomit next to chaise lounges at the pool in the morning, needs better upkeep. Will not stay there any longer. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usuallyhappycamper11
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2011

Terrible experience

We booked an oceanfront room through [...], but when we checked in they showed us to a room nowhere near the ocean. They changed the rooms but the ac wasn't working and during the night the heat went on. Even with the windows open the room was above 80 degrees and we couldn't sleep. A hotel employee told us the problem couldn't be fixed. When we checked out they promised us a refund. With the help of [...]we contacted them repeatedly but they were never available. They stalled for seven months.Again with the help of [...], we just found out that they will not honor their promise.There are so many nice hotels along the ocean in Miami Beach, this is definitely one we would never choose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miami Beach Quick Getaway
Business
St. Louis Mo
Jun 29, 2011

Great Location Improvements Needed

The Hotel was in a great location. The majority of the staff was courteous and friendly. My main concern was the room temp it was 75 degrees during the day which is not cool enough and you could not lower the thermostat; it appeared to be locked. You only received 1 set of towels per person each day and if you needed to take multiple showers you would have to ask for more. Also, soap supplies were not provided on day 2 and I had to ask for more on day 3. It is very hot in Miami and it just seemed as if the hotel was rationing out soap supplies, towels and air. I became very frustrated during my stay and would not stay there again. Finally, the Hotel only served breakfast and lunch and was very limited in what it prepared and we had to go out for all our meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at VanDyke cafe is really good. Expect to pay $30-$45 per meal while dining in Sobe. Also, the restaurants on Ocean Drive are less expensive than the ones on Lincoln Rd and Collins Dr.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kogelenberg
Business
blaricum , Holland
Jun 10, 2011

Pleasant stay

Thehotel is good. The room is not big but the garden is beautifull. The pool also is very nice and you walk directly to Thebeach from the garden. I Will come back Very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Urban Weekend in Miami...

We went to Miami over Memorial Day Weekend, without knowing it was going to be urban weekend. Stay away this weekend! It is a whole lot of ghetto black people walking around half naked and completely wasted!!! Thank god Richmond Hotel was pretty quiet. Loved that the hotel had direct beach access and we were almost the only ones laying out at the pool. Also, this hotel is in a great central location so you can walk to all the good places to go out in South Beach, the Delano, Ocean Dr., Lincoln Rd. outside mall, etc. The cons...this is a no frills hotel. The "room service" is done at 6 or 7pm, the shower did not drain, hard and only two towels, room was clean but nothing new nor was there anything to rave about. The rooms could use some renovations, extras like coffee in the room, adequate amount of towels, fabric softener...also, the cushions on the beach chairs are looking disgusting and dirty and there were never enough towels by the pool. there were hardly any people even at the pool so why can we not keep enough clean towels handy? All in all, for the price and being on the beach, the hotel was not bad. I would recommend staying at a nicer hotel though if possible. I probably will not be back here, but it was not a bad experience....at least it was clean and quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in waling distance to anything you would need to do in South Beach! No need to rent a car, parking is $$$. Also, if coming from Miami Dade airport and there is more than 1 person, get a cab instead of the super shuttle, it will be cheaper ($32).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scout 86
Business
New York, NY
May 17, 2011

The Richmond Hotel

Great little hotel on the beach and the Art Deco strip in South Beach. Staff was delightful. The pool and garden a sweet oasis. Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, the Beach; right out the door. Ocean view room is worth it. Rented a car and enjoyed the state parks. Dinner at the Boater's Grill in Bill Braggs Park (Key Biscayne); snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park & dinner at the Sundowner Restaurant to watch a gorgeous sunset (Key Largo). Warning: Friday & Saturday nights are loud! The Richmond does not do big parties but the neighboring hotels do, so next time we are booking weekdays. And, we will also avoid Spring Break season (mid-Feb. - end of April).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Valet parking at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winchendon, MA
May 6, 2011

Enjoyable

The first impression of the hotel was very scary! Disappointed in the area of the hotel and worried that it didn't look like it would be a very nice place - a little run down. The pool area was best thing about this place! Was very shocked when we arrived early in the morning and were not able to "check in" until 4:00....they allowed us to use the facilies and held our luggage and actually ended up giving us a different room at 1:00. Plan on bringing some money to "lounge" on South Beach - this hotel does not have any lounge chairs on the beach only in their pool area...thats okay, we sat in the sand on towels :) You must bring your walking shoes because everything is a good hike away. Overall very enjoyable, however I don't think I will be going back anytime soon - South Beach is VERY expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a very good distance away! Food/Drink VERY EXPENSIVE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NerfDK
Business
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Nice location, unclean room, bad AC

Our first room, 429 smelled of puke however, it wasn't easily identifiable until we decided to go to sleep. The odor was coming from part of the wooden bed that's very hard to reach/clean. The hotel was kind enough to move us to another room, 318. We turned the AC on and went to sleep. We woke up drenched in sweat. The AC wasn't working properly. We had to call for service again and a young man said that the AC was not working properly, but they will fix it within an hour. That got fixed within the hour. The doors don't close softly so we have to slam the door to get it shut. Room 318's door is right next to our bed and the door is right next to another room's door. Our neighbors had to slam their door also every time they had to leave their rooms making a loud noise. The nice thing about the hotel was that the pool was nice, and it was very close to the beach. They also charged us $37 for valet parking. They said that parking charges elsewhere were variable and not convenient. Later, we found out that there's a parking lot for $20 a day about a block away. Google it next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian + Argentinean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top