$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scout 86
New York, NY
May 17, 2011

The Richmond Hotel

Great little hotel on the beach and the Art Deco strip in South Beach. Staff was delightful. The pool and garden a sweet oasis. Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, the Beach; right out the door. Ocean view room is worth it. Rented a car and enjoyed the state parks. Dinner at the Boater's Grill in Bill Braggs Park (Key Biscayne); snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park & dinner at the Sundowner Restaurant to watch a gorgeous sunset (Key Largo). Warning: Friday & Saturday nights are loud! The Richmond does not do big parties but the neighboring hotels do, so next time we are booking weekdays. And, we will also avoid Spring Break season (mid-Feb. - end of April).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Valet parking at the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winchendon, MA
May 6, 2011

Enjoyable

The first impression of the hotel was very scary! Disappointed in the area of the hotel and worried that it didn't look like it would be a very nice place - a little run down. The pool area was best thing about this place! Was very shocked when we arrived early in the morning and were not able to "check in" until 4:00....they allowed us to use the facilies and held our luggage and actually ended up giving us a different room at 1:00. Plan on bringing some money to "lounge" on South Beach - this hotel does not have any lounge chairs on the beach only in their pool area...thats okay, we sat in the sand on towels :) You must bring your walking shoes because everything is a good hike away. Overall very enjoyable, however I don't think I will be going back anytime soon - South Beach is VERY expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a very good distance away! Food/Drink VERY EXPENSIVE!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winchendon, MA
May 6, 2011

Enjoyable

The first impression of the hotel was very scary! Disappointed in the area of the hotel and worried that it didn't look like it would be a very nice place - a little run down. The pool area was best thing about this place! Was very shocked when we arrived early in the morning and were not able to "check in" until 4:00....they allowed us to use the facilies and held our luggage and actually ended up giving us a different room at 1:00. Plan on bringing some money to "lounge" on South Beach - this hotel does not have any lounge chairs on the beach only in their pool area...thats okay, we sat in the sand on towels :) You must bring your walking shoes because everything is a good hike away. Overall very enjoyable, however I don't think I will be going back anytime soon - South Beach is VERY expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a very good distance away! Food/Drink VERY EXPENSIVE!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NerfDK
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Nice location, unclean room, bad AC

Our first room, 429 smelled of puke however, it wasn't easily identifiable until we decided to go to sleep. The odor was coming from part of the wooden bed that's very hard to reach/clean. The hotel was kind enough to move us to another room, 318. We turned the AC on and went to sleep. We woke up drenched in sweat. The AC wasn't working properly. We had to call for service again and a young man said that the AC was not working properly, but they will fix it within an hour. That got fixed within the hour. The doors don't close softly so we have to slam the door to get it shut. Room 318's door is right next to our bed and the door is right next to another room's door. Our neighbors had to slam their door also every time they had to leave their rooms making a loud noise. The nice thing about the hotel was that the pool was nice, and it was very close to the beach. They also charged us $37 for valet parking. They said that parking charges elsewhere were variable and not convenient. Later, we found out that there's a parking lot for $20 a day about a block away. Google it next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian + Argentinean

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NerfDK
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Nice location, unclean room, bad AC

Our first room, 429 smelled of puke however, it wasn't easily identifiable until we decided to go to sleep. The odor was coming from part of the wooden bed that's very hard to reach/clean. The hotel was kind enough to move us to another room, 318. We turned the AC on and went to sleep. We woke up drenched in sweat. The AC wasn't working properly. We had to call for service again and a young man said that the AC was not working properly, but they will fix it within an hour. That got fixed within the hour. The doors don't close softly so we have to slam the door to get it shut. Room 318's door is right next to our bed and the door is right next to another room's door. Our neighbors had to slam their door also every time they had to leave their rooms making a loud noise. The nice thing about the hotel was that the pool was nice, and it was very close to the beach. They also charged us $37 for valet parking. They said that parking charges elsewhere were variable and not convenient. Later, we found out that there's a parking lot for $20 a day about a block away. Google it next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian + Argentinean

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Good Stuff...Not great!

The Richmond has a nice lobby and relaxing pool area. I guess I didn't realize most hotels in Sobe are older. The Richmond was undergoing some construction, but it didn't affect our stay. It is really close to the beach, but not too close from the spot where all the happenings are occuring. You need to walk about 7 blocks before getting to Ocean and 10 (where all the things are happening). It's great to stay here if you are willing to walk a bit to get to the crowded spots. I guess it's good this way; you can be in a relaxing spot while in the hotel and walk a bit to get to the louder parts. It is really close to Lincoln Road and Walgreens. Overall, it met my standards. The only thing that needs to change is they NEED TO OFFER FREE WI-FI!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DG girl
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Richmond Hotel 4/14/11 -4/18/11

Great Hotel, friendly staff, AWESOME location - private access to beach! The one down side, don't get a connecting room. The walls are very thin with connecting room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak on Ocean - DELICIOUS!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DG girl
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Richmond Hotel 4/14/11 -4/18/11

Great Hotel, friendly staff, AWESOME location - private access to beach! The one down side, don't get a connecting room. The walls are very thin with connecting room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak on Ocean - DELICIOUS!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Good Stuff...Not great!

The Richmond has a nice lobby and relaxing pool area. I guess I didn't realize most hotels in Sobe are older. The Richmond was undergoing some construction, but it didn't affect our stay. It is really close to the beach, but not too close from the spot where all the happenings are occuring. You need to walk about 7 blocks before getting to Ocean and 10 (where all the things are happening). It's great to stay here if you are willing to walk a bit to get to the crowded spots. I guess it's good this way; you can be in a relaxing spot while in the hotel and walk a bit to get to the louder parts. It is really close to Lincoln Road and Walgreens. Overall, it met my standards. The only thing that needs to change is they NEED TO OFFER FREE WI-FI!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dustin12
Silver Spring MD
Apr 24, 2011

2nd Stay at the Richmond

This was just a quick get away and second time at the Richmond of many in South Beach, The hotel is wonderful, great friendly staff, clean and wonderful pool with walkway directly to beach. Across the street is Maxines a great place to get breakfast, my only problem with the hotel was that on my second time here I decided to upgrade to a deluxe room, I found there to be no difference in the price at all in size of room or view from the regular room. Great spot to stay at just don't opt for ocean view or deluxe cus it is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxines directly across the street from The Richmond is a great place for breakfast and even lunch and is affordable and open 24/7

Back to menu Return to top