$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
259 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ericagio
Livorno, Italy
Jul 3, 2012

Good place to stay

10 minutes from Ocean Drive, 2 minutes from the sea, good pool, very good position.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MWWW
Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Staying for the location

Pretty bare bones hotel, but in a great location. Nice pool. Location right on the beach side of the road and in the center of everything South Beach. Comfy bed and room was clean. Staff was super friendly and prompt. Paper thin walls (at least on the first floor.) That meant all noises next door at all hours and even through the vents above. If it wasn't for the fact I had an early flight and the room next door was partying all night, probably not a big deal - but worth noting. Probably could avoid that by specifically asking for a higher floor room and one that doesn't adjoin. For what we were looking for in our price range - not a bad little hotel with basic rooms and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has no vending machines - so bring your own waters and use the fridge (if your room has one.) Mine did, the people I traveled with did not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Fernandes
New Bedford , Ma
Jun 7, 2014

vacation

Well I'm sorry to say I don't have too many good things to say about this hotel except for the location is great . Checked in got to the room which was very small with old furnishings, looked kind of dingey. We unpacked and hung our things then sat down on my side of the bed which { they gave us a full size bed for 2 adult females should of given a room with @ least a king or 2 fulls } was very springy so I lyed down to check the comfort level of the bed FORGET IT the mattress must be 25 years old so uncomfortable, so I was concerned about being able to sleep on it, then my room mate sits on her side of the bed and immediately smelled vomit . So I walked over to her side of the bed and sure enough strong smell of vomit well that about did it for me !! Went down to the front desk and told them and they immediately assigned us another room no ?'s asked ! The other room was just as small but did have a more comfortable queen size bed but room was also a bit dingey. Did not get offered the complimentry drink that many talk about in their reviews and also they don't offer any complimentry continental or breakfast buffet that some also boast about in reviews they must be friends of owners because I don't see how this hotel can get some of the grand reviews that people wrote . Don't be fooled for your money like I was. I thought the pool area seemed very nice until I layed out on a lounger for a little while and ended up getting bit from the little red ants that are all over the deck area of the pool. this property does not hose down and spray there pool area when closing it for the night I watched them every night they just take the cushions off the lounge chairs and throw them in the sheds until the next morning those were also disgustingly dirty as well. They don't physically clean anything at this hotel I will NEVER stay at this property again.To bad they are going to lose out because I stay on the beach @ least twice a year !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln rd mall and ocean dr with restaurants and night life only 3 blocks walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed07093
Business
Wantage New Jersey
Jun 4, 2014

Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well maintained and heated, housekeeping is slow, but accommodating if calked upon, private 5th floor sun deck is ideal for peaceful reading and sunbathing. All in all excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FKU across street great pad Thai!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rock tech
palmetto, Fl
May 23, 2014

one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't have asked for a better location.enjoyed the pool and easy beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j stephens
NYC
May 19, 2014

OKAY STAY

Clean hotel, house keeping cleaned rooms. Drinks was good.Miami drink was Great. (Strawberry pinacoloda) food was also Great.Every one in the kichen/bar very nice.Tiffany at the front desk checked us in sweet girl .hotel needs upgrade rugs tub etc. Only one problem hotel on beach but we had to pay $15.00 for beach chairs a day.I walked to walgreens and brought a chair for $17.00 then gave it away .I go every year with friends but 1st time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rock tech
palmetto, Fl
May 15, 2014

Wonderfull Miami experience

Found it to be conveniently located, staff was friendly, great pool and easy beach access. Hotel was cozy and not too overcrowded like most big hotels, would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S1o3
San Antonio, Texas
May 15, 2014

Great location

All nightlife activities are walking distance, great location to the beach, just walk out across the boardwalk, hotel was nice and cozy, I liked the old fashioned theme in the rooms, but there are a few things in the room and bathroom that could be updated, but it didn't bother me too much, I've seen worse. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location if you are into nightlife, bars and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa JB
Montreal
Apr 15, 2014

girls trip to miami

great loction but def not a 4 star. the pool was clean but closed too early. the internet that i paid for kept diconnecting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BillyC Cruiser
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Disappointing Stay

Hotel is in desperate need of a complete renovation/refurbishment. Extremely run-down. Bathroom in the room was dirty. Tub was really grimy. The room was worn and dated. Bed and pillows were comfortable though. Good location and nice private pool area. The cushions on the pool chairs could have used a good cleaning. Glad we only stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OD NYC
New York, New York
Jan 29, 2014

Great location but that's about it...

Great location in SoBe and the staff is decent but the room left a lot to be desired. The bed was small and sunk in the middle so my fiance and I had pretty bad back problems by the end of our stay. The decor was dated and not in great condition but that didn't specifically bother us. The water in the bathroom took a while to get hot and if someone in the room next to you is taking a shower, there is an incredibly loud noise. I also thought the toilet seat was very small for anyone's standard. In summary, the hotel is dated but I expected that. The staff was nice though and like I said the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Front Porch Cafe is the best brunch in SoBe, hands down. Chalan on the beach (it's not on the beach) was the best dinner venue at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search