$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Raleigh

4 stars
1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
15 reviews
Delightful!!!

Amazing service, great location, fantastic pool, good food all for a moderate price! Would... See full review

  • minestrone
  • Jun 30, 2009
Delightful!!!

Amazing service, great location, fantastic pool, good food all for a moderate price! Would... See full review

  • minestrone
  • Jun 30, 2009
The Raleigh was built and designed in 1940 by the famed architect Laurence Murray Dixon, one of the most prolific and acclaimed architects of South Beachs historic Art Deco District. Dixon applied an understated elegance with Art Deco grandeur to the property, which represented an architectural significance during the formative years of Miami Beach. The Raleighs impressive interiors, landscaped lagoon pool-heralded as a jewel of modernist design-and commanding faade, bestowed the hotel a strong oceanfront identity. Guest rooms are adorned with the fabrics and style of the 1940s period, featuring period furnishings, terrazzo floors and cedar wood closets.
The Raleigh is located in the heart of South Miami Beach, on 18th Street and Collins Avenue, 20 minutes from Miami International Airport. Situated on a corner, the property has frontage both on Collins and the ocean, providing guests exceptional access to the beach and affording two thirds of guest rooms ocean views.
The Raleigh Includes 104 ocean and garden view guest rooms and suites, a 6,000 S.F. luxury duplex penthouse with 3 bedrooms, terraces, and an outdoor shower, Award-winning beautifully designed Esther Williams pool, with cascading waterfall, scented towels, and pool side bar, The Oasis - a 20,000 S.F. sanctuary of private cabanas located from the pool to the beach, 3,000 S.F. of flexible meeting space to accommodate private events and meetings along with some of the most versatile outdoor space in the market, all located along popular Collins Avenue in Miamis famous South Beach.

A $20 per night resort fee is payable directly to the hotel upon checkin. Valet parking available $39 per night.

The Raleigh Rooms

Superior King
Up to 265 square feet, neighborhood views, in-room stereos and DVD players, mini-bars, In-room safe, linen duvets, 400 count Egyptian cotton sheets, Ciel Spa Amenities, concierge Service, Private beach access, in-room & poolside spa & massage, 24-Hour in-room food service
Superior Double
Up to 265 square feet, neighborhood views, in-room stereos and DVD players, mini-bars, In-room safe, linen duvets, 400 count Egyptian cotton sheets, Ciel Spa Amenities, concierge Service, Private beach access, in-room & poolside spa & massage, 24-Hour in-room food service
Superior Partial Ocean View
Up to 275 square feet, partial ocean and pool views, in-room stereos and DVD players, mini-bars, In-room safe, linen duvets, 400 count Egyptian cotton sheets, Ciel Spa Amenities, concierge Service, Private beach access, in-room & poolside spa & massage, 24-Hour in-room food service
Premier Ocean Front
275 square feet, direct ocean views, in-room stereos and DVD players, mini-bars, In-room safe, linen duvets, 400 count Egyptian cotton sheets, Ciel Spa Amenities, concierge Service, Private beach access, in-room & poolside spa & massage, 24-Hour in-room food service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Raleigh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7937 -80.1285
Area served
Miami Beach, South Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport is just 20 minutes away.
Area description
The Raleigh is located in the heart of South Beach on 18th Street and Collins Avenue, 20 minutes from Miami International Airport. It provides exceptional access to the beach to its guests.

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant Michael Schwartz, featuring 3 meal service, bar and poolside service. Legendary Martini Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for The Raleigh

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nxie
New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

trip

nice pool and good location. food pretty good. rooms kind of old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequenttraveller2012
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Love this place

My family spent Christmas Eve at the Raleigh. We love the atmosphere and ambience of this hotel. Its a quiet Oasis and a great respite from the hustle and bustle of South Beach. The rooms aren't perfect , a little on the small side, but the bathrooms are new and fresh, the beds are comfortable and the linens are great. The pool area and the service are what makes this place special. The staff all seem proud to work there and everyone we encountered just made the experience more special. We loved that the internet and beach chairs were free too (after seeing fees of $30 a day for a beach chair and $10 for internet, per person! in Palm Beach). The food and service in the restaurant/bar was great. Outstanding breakfast. Highly recommend dinner at Ola which is only 1 1/2 blocks away. I've stayed in a few other spots in Miami but this is our favorite by far. Hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping on Collins between 5th and 8th is much better than Lincoln Rd. Mall.

Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VICTIM OF THEFT
MIAMI BEACH FLORIDA
May 29, 2011

OMG NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS WAS THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER.. THE FRONT DESK CLERKS WERE GREAT,BUT FROM THE TIM WE CHCKED IN I FELT LIKE WE WERE TARGET VICTIMS FOR SOME [*]. I SHOULDVE FOLLOWED MY 1ST MIND AND CHANGED HOTELS. THE MAIDS KEEP KNOCKING ON OUR DOORS EVERY 30 MINS FOR NOTHING , ACCUSSED US OF SMOKING IN ROOMS,WALKED IN OUR ROOM UNANNOUNCED AND MY FIANCE WAS LYING IN THE BED.. FOR REAL.. THE SAFE WAS BROKE THEN THEY CAME TO FIX IT BUT THIS IS THE ICING ON THE CAKE ''THEY STOLE OVER $5000 WORTH OF JEWELRY OUT THE SAFE''. ARE YOU SERIOUS IM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FREAKING P'D OFF NO CAMERAS ON THE PREMISES ARE YOU SERIOUS.. YES I CALLED THE POLICE.. IM STILL P'D OFF AND GONNA BE P'D OFF UNTIL THIS IS RESSOLVED.. I WANT A FULL REFUND..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VICTIM OF THEFT
MIAMI BEACH FLORIDA
May 29, 2011

OMG NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS WAS THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER.. THE FRONT DESK CLERKS WERE GREAT,BUT FROM THE TIM WE CHCKED IN I FELT LIKE WE WERE TARGET VICTIMS FOR SOME [*]. I SHOULDVE FOLLOWED MY 1ST MIND AND CHANGED HOTELS. THE MAIDS KEEP KNOCKING ON OUR DOORS EVERY 30 MINS FOR NOTHING , ACCUSSED US OF SMOKING IN ROOMS,WALKED IN OUR ROOM UNANNOUNCED AND MY FIANCE WAS LYING IN THE BED.. FOR REAL.. THE SAFE WAS BROKE THEN THEY CAME TO FIX IT BUT THIS IS THE ICING ON THE CAKE ''THEY STOLE OVER $5000 WORTH OF JEWELRY OUT THE SAFE''. ARE YOU SERIOUS IM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FREAKING P'D OFF NO CAMERAS ON THE PREMISES ARE YOU SERIOUS.. YES I CALLED THE POLICE.. IM STILL P'D OFF AND GONNA BE P'D OFF UNTIL THIS IS RESSOLVED.. I WANT A FULL REFUND..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Dec 29, 2010

Great location

The Raleigh is in a great location if you want to be in South Beach. The public spaces, particularly the pool area are beautiful. The rooms could use some refurbishing and we were told this will happen in April 2011. The staff was very accommodating considering we got stranded and could not fly out. We were able to stay extra nights. A new restaurant, The Royal, opened in the lobby recently. We ordered lunch at the pool and waited over half an hour for the food. While we had a great lunch earlier in the week, the kitchen was so backed up that the waiter offered to cancel the order since he couldn't say for sure how long the food would take. We did cancel. I would hope these glitches will work themselves out but it was a holiday weekend and they should have been prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime Italian, Quinns

Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Dec 29, 2010

Great location

The Raleigh is in a great location if you want to be in South Beach. The public spaces, particularly the pool area are beautiful. The rooms could use some refurbishing and we were told this will happen in April 2011. The staff was very accommodating considering we got stranded and could not fly out. We were able to stay extra nights. A new restaurant, The Royal, opened in the lobby recently. We ordered lunch at the pool and waited over half an hour for the food. While we had a great lunch earlier in the week, the kitchen was so backed up that the waiter offered to cancel the order since he couldn't say for sure how long the food would take. We did cancel. I would hope these glitches will work themselves out but it was a holiday weekend and they should have been prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime Italian, Quinns

Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, New York
Jun 5, 2010

Great trip for friends and families

The hotel is in a great location in terms of being able to walk from it to many key locations on Lincoln and Collins avenues as well as on Ocean Drive. It has a nostalgic appeal, harkening back to the days of the Rat Pack, with a 40's-50's feel to it. The base rooms are a bit small. I like the fact that they still use actual room keys instead of swipe cards. The staff overall was very friendly. My friend and I for the most part ate at various different locations aside from the Raleigh, but the one night we had dinner there it was excellent, with relaxing outdoor seating to boot. The pool itself is quite interesting in terms of its architecture and quite deep. The Hotel provides complimentary beach chairs and towels for the beach goers as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Hotel bars along Collins avenus are for the most part swankier than those on ocean drive however far more expensive. If you dont want to cab it from location to location prepare to walk a bit and possibly be prepared to change outfits given the humidity, lol

Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, New York
Jun 5, 2010

Great trip for friends and families

The hotel is in a great location in terms of being able to walk from it to many key locations on Lincoln and Collins avenues as well as on Ocean Drive. It has a nostalgic appeal, harkening back to the days of the Rat Pack, with a 40's-50's feel to it. The base rooms are a bit small. I like the fact that they still use actual room keys instead of swipe cards. The staff overall was very friendly. My friend and I for the most part ate at various different locations aside from the Raleigh, but the one night we had dinner there it was excellent, with relaxing outdoor seating to boot. The pool itself is quite interesting in terms of its architecture and quite deep. The Hotel provides complimentary beach chairs and towels for the beach goers as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Hotel bars along Collins avenus are for the most part swankier than those on ocean drive however far more expensive. If you dont want to cab it from location to location prepare to walk a bit and possibly be prepared to change outfits given the humidity, lol

Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2010

The Raleigh Summer Adventure

Excellent location, beautiful pool and secluded back-area. Friendly help - but received a curt message when cooler was emptied of liqor, and replaced by own soft drinks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Raleigh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2010

The Raleigh Summer Adventure

Excellent location, beautiful pool and secluded back-area. Friendly help - but received a curt message when cooler was emptied of liqor, and replaced by own soft drinks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top