$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

3 stars
View map of 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
65 reviews
The New Casablanca on the Ocean

very clean..rooms., pool- Enjoyed our stay staff was very pleasant. at the Desk and maids. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Kennedy
  • Feb 12, 2014
Loved this place!

I loved this hotel!!! The staff was really friendly and even gave us an upgraded room. The room... See full review

  • Lisa C
  • Mar 9, 2011
Miami Beach studios with full kitchens and free Wi-Fi

The famous Miami Beach Millionaires' Row is the setting for The New Casablanca on the Ocean's extended stay studios and townhouses. The renovated property on the shores of the Atlantic boasts 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses that all include kitchens. The hotel is 10 minutes from South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami. The hotel holds a place in local history as Lenny Bruce and other stars used to perform there. It still reflects retro Florida style, especially the Adonis-like figurines holding up the entrance.

Highlights
  • 10 minutes to South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami
  • All 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses include kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool
Rooms
Renovated rooms and townhouses say beach getaway with their palm-printed comforters and partial or full city and ocean views. Rooms have a full kitchen complete with refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven, coffee/tea maker, cookware and dishes. Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.
Features

Direct beach access and an oceanfront pool invite guests to enjoy a more peaceful side of Miami Beach without so many tourists. In addition to nightly rates, the hotel offers month-long rentals and furnished studios.

There is a self-service laundry on each floor.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (26 miles)
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
Attractions
  • La Gorce Golf Course (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (3.7mi/ 6 km)
  • Art Deco District (3.8 mi/ 6.1 km)
  • Lincoln Road (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (4.5 mi/ 7.2 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (9 mi/ 14.5 km)
Business
  • Conference room
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Effective May 1, the property will charge $20 USD for valet parking.
  • Major credit card or cash in security is required in order to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The New Casablanca on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The New Casablanca on the Ocean Rooms

Ocean View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Standard Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet, complimentary cable TV. Full assortment of amenities including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Ocean View Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Bay/Intercoastal View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and City view with western exposure overlooking the bay & intercostal waters. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Gilias Restaurant
Offers an assortment of simple yet tasteful Cuban Dishes. Daily breakfast and dinner. " All you can eat" buffet are available at reasonable prices. Hours 7 AM - 10 PM (Daily)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Al21
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Oct 7, 2011

All ran down

The hotel is all ran down, except the lobby has renovation, bath room have bugs, the beds is from 1960s, bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mike66
Business
Northampton, PA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Do not waste your money

I was making plans for a nice hotel for my honeymoon the night before we set out for our cruise. The air conditioning was almost nonexistant. we asked for maintenance to check it out and he said it was working....Did I mention the language barrier was a problem. My wife said it will be fine for one night....I on the other hand was very disappointed. it is nowhere near south beach and if you take the bus you will end up in some nasty neighborhoods.....stay at the holiday inn on byscayne....thats where I will be staying again next time we go to miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dmaia
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Mar 27, 2012

dont do it!

very old hotel, staff always on bad mood, internet doesnt work AT ALL and the breakfast is the same as nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kukdai
Business
Herndon,VA
Dec 29, 2012

Not Good

The hotel is very old and looks like it will fall apart very soon. the unusual smell that stinks everywhere. very small bathroom and small bathtub. ac at the room doesn't works and it is like form 60 or 70s. it has the regular room keys to open and close the room which was a surprise in this digital world. the only good thing was they have beach at the back of the hotel. the hotel seriously needs a renovation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pondzie
Business
Ohio
Jun 9, 2013

Do not stay here

As a guest of the hotel, they couldn't even accommodate me with parking. Had to park in a lot a block away. The ceiling in the lobby gave in and water was everywhere. There were exposed wires in the hallways and room. View was of the building but was supposed to be partial water. Everything was dark and old. Dont trust the pictures, place is simply a dump. Spend a couple hundred bucks more and get a nice hotel. Stayed June 7-9, 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DALE DAVIS
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Apr 24, 2010

"The Trip from Hell"

It was horrible and it starting with the booking. I was not suppose to be at his hotel but the original hotel that I went to was over book, regardless [...] Then we ended up here, it was dirt, old, unsafe and disgusting. I would rather sleep in my car. Then to top it off at 2:00 AM a group of loud, drunk, teenagers tried to come in the room because it was double booked!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Most helpful hint i can pass on is DONT STAY HERE!

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr dad.
Business
Orlando Florida.
Jan 14, 2010

Expect no mercy, absolutely no mercy.

[...] my great shock came after cheking in, when i entered the room at the evening of Jan 10th,the same freezing night when there was very very (record?) cold in miami.I asked the front desk that the room is freezing, how can i turn on the heat ? I have children including a 3 months old baby. The lady on the front desk told me that this is an old hotel, & there is no heating system in the hotel. I told her "mam I am a doctor & i know without heating, my 3 months old baby is at the great risk of getting pneumonia".I was told, they had small heaters which they already gave to other guests & tomorrow they will buy one and give it to us, I'll have to wait till tomorrow when manager comes.I was told she is sending 2 more blankets to my room. A house keeping lady came with 2 blankets but before giving blankets, she asked, do we have 2 extra blankets in our room in the closit. She was told yes we saw it. She said well, it is the policy of the hotel to give only 2 extra blankets, & she left without giving us those blankets. But in a minute the same house keeping lady came back and said, she want to give us just one blanket but we should not tell it to the front desk ppl.That was the night i will always remember. Merciful God protected my baby & family. Yes that was a sleepless night for me & my wife.Miami is not a cold place & the odds are very very small that some one will need heating in this city.The odds are, your stay will be smooth in this place, but in case you did need a help, Don't expact mercy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 22, 2009

not very nice your ad is misleading

you had a very nice staff but the hotel is dirty and run down I didn't see these so called renovations and there was no prior notice to me about the outrageous daily fee to park the car. Also the mandatory fee for the safe which was advertised as "part of the deal" they charged a daily fee for that & we didn't even use it. The Kitchen was run down & the equipment was very dirty the carpet was very dirty I won't stay there again. when we 1st arrived they gave us beach keys from pool to beach & we got locked out good thing I had cell phone it took 45 min to get someone to let us in. very dangerous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First time Florida tourist
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 16, 2010

Not much to like

Other than the nice pool and beach, this hotel was very disappointing. Took over 1/2 hour to check in as clerk was busy having a personal phone conversation and could not have cared less. No matter when you went to front desk, it was understaffed! Do not be deceived by the web site room picture. It seemed like there were some updated rooms, but others were in bad shape. I requested a city view king and was given a full bed that dropped from the wall; poor mattress, no box spring and dingy bedding. The bathroom was in very bad shape and unclean. Very skimpy on the towels (either had wash cloth or hand towels but not both). Next day went to desk to discuss concerns about room and was told the bed was a king. When asked for a different room was told to come back later; Did get a different room but was clearly not a welcomed request. Second room at least had normal beds but run down and bathroom still in rough shape and towel supply concern continued. Continental breakfast was very poor..cereal was kept behind serving table and you had to ask for it. Dining room tables not wiped clean and no buffet meals like advertised. Not many options for dining within walking distance. Hotel overall run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PITER79
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Terrible experience

First thing when we came the service told us that the “Casablanca” hotel charges additional 17$ per night for parking. Than next morning we were informed that that breakfast is not included, of course when we booked the hotel we did not see any information about additional charges for parking as well as that the breakfast is not included in the price. Than second night we had like more than four cockroaches in the bathroom and room. Than at the end they charged us additional 10$ hotel fee of course when we booked the hotel we did not see any information about that. So I DO NOT recommend anyone to stay in the “Casablanca” hotel unless you would like to have cockroaches in the bathroom and pay for this 10$ extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top