The New Casablanca on the Ocean

3 stars
View map of 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Dec 28, 2010

Good Location, Poor Internet Service

The hotel is in a great locaton on Miami Beach. It was clean and quiet. Major issue was Internet Connection, could not connected from the room, had to go to the loby to connect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Geddes
Business
Homestead, FL
Oct 22, 2010

Wonderful Service & Staff

We, Along with 20 family members & friends, had the pleasure of staying the evening before and after our wedding day. I cannot begin to Thank the staff for their amazing service. The front desk clerk [...] assisted us in EVERY way possible and ALWAYS with a smile on his face. Every single staff member we encountered was pleasant and attentive to our needs as guests. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel has quick and easy access to the beach. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Casablanca to any traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located in North Beach, just a short drive from South Beach, dining, shopping and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Your Friends
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Good location, Clean Room, Nice View

I recomment taking the bus to south beach. Every cab ride to south beach is about $15.00 each way. $2.00 for each person on the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, OH
May 18, 2010

Great price for this hotel-

Not very many "nice" restaurants in walking distance. Realized that we should have stayed in South Beach as much more activity (shopping, dining and beaches much nicer) going on. Next time we will know better. Not very much to do in North Beach so if you want alot of relaxation (especially in evening) this is the right hotel for you but I would recommend South Beach myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Norman's Tavern--Very good bar & grill food--nice atmosphere. One of very few that looked appealing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DALE DAVIS
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Apr 24, 2010

"The Trip from Hell"

It was horrible and it starting with the booking. I was not suppose to be at his hotel but the original hotel that I went to was over book, regardless [...] Then we ended up here, it was dirt, old, unsafe and disgusting. I would rather sleep in my car. Then to top it off at 2:00 AM a group of loud, drunk, teenagers tried to come in the room because it was double booked!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Most helpful hint i can pass on is DONT STAY HERE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First time Florida tourist
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 16, 2010

Not much to like

Other than the nice pool and beach, this hotel was very disappointing. Took over 1/2 hour to check in as clerk was busy having a personal phone conversation and could not have cared less. No matter when you went to front desk, it was understaffed! Do not be deceived by the web site room picture. It seemed like there were some updated rooms, but others were in bad shape. I requested a city view king and was given a full bed that dropped from the wall; poor mattress, no box spring and dingy bedding. The bathroom was in very bad shape and unclean. Very skimpy on the towels (either had wash cloth or hand towels but not both). Next day went to desk to discuss concerns about room and was told the bed was a king. When asked for a different room was told to come back later; Did get a different room but was clearly not a welcomed request. Second room at least had normal beds but run down and bathroom still in rough shape and towel supply concern continued. Continental breakfast was very poor..cereal was kept behind serving table and you had to ask for it. Dining room tables not wiped clean and no buffet meals like advertised. Not many options for dining within walking distance. Hotel overall run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billwieringa
Business
indiana
Mar 26, 2010

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

The New Casablanca on the Ocean Was great to get ocean view, Huge lobby, Nice size pool, and Restaurant was nice however small menu options and asked for mayo on sandwich to be told they dont have any. Rooms have stoves, sinks, fridge,pans,plates,and silverware. All in all was happy with hotel. When you check in they charge your credit card an additional 200 in which i was told they would release 2 days after checkout, however its now been 7 days and still havent recieved 200 bank. Also parking is 17$ per night.Was about 20 min with traffic from port, also booked cruise through [...] and was at counter when a local walked in and got same room for 59 a night without prior booking he was a walk-in, I paid 135$ a night for 2 nights, was alittle upset about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Esbins
Business
Ortlando, Florida
Mar 23, 2010

Great for anyone travelling on a budget!

This hotel is great ONLY IF YOU ARE A FAMILY TRAVELING ON A BUDGET!!! If you are used to luxury accommodations or nice modern hotel rooms, then THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU!!! You are a moron if you are that type stay here and then have the nerve to complain! That being said...The hotel has a beautiful lobby, is right on the beach, has an great swimming pool, and has a very inexpensive continental breakfast. The rooms are old. They have Murphy beds (the kind that fold up into the wall), a mini kitchenette set up but a full size fridge. There was enough cookware, plates, silverware, etc to feed a group of 10! The decor of the room was cheesy as hell! Fake flowers, and other "nik-naks" all over the place. The TV is an old Tube Style, and is located between the beds so you cannot watch it while sitting on them. There is a small Chaise sofa which is what you must use. Inside the large closet were Beach chairs, Blankets, even beach toys for the kids. The only important tip to give you is that the higher up your room is, the more you will hear wind howling outside the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach right outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Reasonably Happy

Room was adequate, ocean view was decent, clean and staff was friendly. Front desk was 15 mins late with wake up call. Not automated like some hotels. Onsite resteraunt was fair priced but bar was pricey. Overall a solid 3 stars. Valet parking was understaffed and a bit rude. Guest upstairs were very noisy laughing and talking and sounded like they were moving furniture all night. But again it was spring break weekend too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dinner we ate at Raymonds and sat oustide on the sidewalk. The pork chops were excellent and the mohitos were good. Price was not too bad and its just a short walk from the hotel. Other than that wasnt alot of other choices besides pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Feb 24, 2010

So So

The room was so so. We went when Miami was having a cold snap. The air in the hall ran 24/7 which made the hall very cold. This is an old hotel. The overflow on the tub had rust around it. Even with the do not disturb sign. They knocked on the door to deliver a night stand we didn't ask for. One day we never got our roomed cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top