$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

3 stars
6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
54 reviews
The New Casablanca on the Ocean

very clean..rooms., pool- Enjoyed our stay staff was very pleasant. at the Desk and maids. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Kennedy
  • Feb 12, 2014
Loved this place!

I loved this hotel!!! The staff was really friendly and even gave us an upgraded room. The room... See full review

  • Lisa C
  • Mar 9, 2011
Miami Beach studios with full kitchens and free Wi-Fi

The famous Miami Beach Millionaires' Row is the setting for The New Casablanca on the Ocean's extended stay studios and townhouses. The renovated property on the shores of the Atlantic boasts 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses that all include kitchens. The hotel is 10 minutes from South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami. The hotel holds a place in local history as Lenny Bruce and other stars used to perform there. It still reflects retro Florida style, especially the Adonis-like figurines holding up the entrance.

Highlights
  • 10 minutes to South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami
  • All 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses include kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool
Rooms
Renovated rooms and townhouses say beach getaway with their palm-printed comforters and partial or full city and ocean views. Rooms have a full kitchen complete with refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven, coffee/tea maker, cookware and dishes. Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.
Features

Direct beach access and an oceanfront pool invite guests to enjoy a more peaceful side of Miami Beach without so many tourists. In addition to nightly rates, the hotel offers month-long rentals and furnished studios.

There is a self-service laundry on each floor.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (26 miles)
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
Attractions
  • La Gorce Golf Course (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (3.7mi/ 6 km)
  • Art Deco District (3.8 mi/ 6.1 km)
  • Lincoln Road (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (4.5 mi/ 7.2 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (9 mi/ 14.5 km)
Business
  • Conference room
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Effective May 1, the property will charge $20 USD for valet parking.
  • Major credit card or cash in security is required in order to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.8454 -80.1203
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Bal Harbour Shops - 2 miles Miami Arena - 10 Miles Miami Beach Convention Center 3.6 miles South Beach - 4 miles Supermarket (Publix) 1/2 mile

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The New Casablanca on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The New Casablanca on the Ocean Rooms

Ocean View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Standard Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet, complimentary cable TV. Full assortment of amenities including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Ocean View Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Bay/Intercoastal View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and City view with western exposure overlooking the bay & intercostal waters. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Gilias Restaurant
Offers an assortment of simple yet tasteful Cuban Dishes. Daily breakfast and dinner. " All you can eat" buffet are available at reasonable prices. Hours 7 AM - 10 PM (Daily)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DALE DAVIS
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Apr 24, 2010

"The Trip from Hell"

It was horrible and it starting with the booking. I was not suppose to be at his hotel but the original hotel that I went to was over book, regardless [...] Then we ended up here, it was dirt, old, unsafe and disgusting. I would rather sleep in my car. Then to top it off at 2:00 AM a group of loud, drunk, teenagers tried to come in the room because it was double booked!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Most helpful hint i can pass on is DONT STAY HERE!

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First time Florida tourist
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 16, 2010

Not much to like

Other than the nice pool and beach, this hotel was very disappointing. Took over 1/2 hour to check in as clerk was busy having a personal phone conversation and could not have cared less. No matter when you went to front desk, it was understaffed! Do not be deceived by the web site room picture. It seemed like there were some updated rooms, but others were in bad shape. I requested a city view king and was given a full bed that dropped from the wall; poor mattress, no box spring and dingy bedding. The bathroom was in very bad shape and unclean. Very skimpy on the towels (either had wash cloth or hand towels but not both). Next day went to desk to discuss concerns about room and was told the bed was a king. When asked for a different room was told to come back later; Did get a different room but was clearly not a welcomed request. Second room at least had normal beds but run down and bathroom still in rough shape and towel supply concern continued. Continental breakfast was very poor..cereal was kept behind serving table and you had to ask for it. Dining room tables not wiped clean and no buffet meals like advertised. Not many options for dining within walking distance. Hotel overall run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billwieringa
indiana
Mar 26, 2010

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

The New Casablanca on the Ocean Was great to get ocean view, Huge lobby, Nice size pool, and Restaurant was nice however small menu options and asked for mayo on sandwich to be told they dont have any. Rooms have stoves, sinks, fridge,pans,plates,and silverware. All in all was happy with hotel. When you check in they charge your credit card an additional 200 in which i was told they would release 2 days after checkout, however its now been 7 days and still havent recieved 200 bank. Also parking is 17$ per night.Was about 20 min with traffic from port, also booked cruise through [...] and was at counter when a local walked in and got same room for 59 a night without prior booking he was a walk-in, I paid 135$ a night for 2 nights, was alittle upset about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Esbins
Ortlando, Florida
Mar 23, 2010

Great for anyone travelling on a budget!

This hotel is great ONLY IF YOU ARE A FAMILY TRAVELING ON A BUDGET!!! If you are used to luxury accommodations or nice modern hotel rooms, then THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU!!! You are a moron if you are that type stay here and then have the nerve to complain! That being said...The hotel has a beautiful lobby, is right on the beach, has an great swimming pool, and has a very inexpensive continental breakfast. The rooms are old. They have Murphy beds (the kind that fold up into the wall), a mini kitchenette set up but a full size fridge. There was enough cookware, plates, silverware, etc to feed a group of 10! The decor of the room was cheesy as hell! Fake flowers, and other "nik-naks" all over the place. The TV is an old Tube Style, and is located between the beds so you cannot watch it while sitting on them. There is a small Chaise sofa which is what you must use. Inside the large closet were Beach chairs, Blankets, even beach toys for the kids. The only important tip to give you is that the higher up your room is, the more you will hear wind howling outside the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach right outside.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Reasonably Happy

Room was adequate, ocean view was decent, clean and staff was friendly. Front desk was 15 mins late with wake up call. Not automated like some hotels. Onsite resteraunt was fair priced but bar was pricey. Overall a solid 3 stars. Valet parking was understaffed and a bit rude. Guest upstairs were very noisy laughing and talking and sounded like they were moving furniture all night. But again it was spring break weekend too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dinner we ate at Raymonds and sat oustide on the sidewalk. The pork chops were excellent and the mohitos were good. Price was not too bad and its just a short walk from the hotel. Other than that wasnt alot of other choices besides pizza.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Feb 24, 2010

So So

The room was so so. We went when Miami was having a cold snap. The air in the hall ran 24/7 which made the hall very cold. This is an old hotel. The overflow on the tub had rust around it. Even with the do not disturb sign. They knocked on the door to deliver a night stand we didn't ask for. One day we never got our roomed cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Feb 3, 2010

So Surprised!!!!

I cannot belive this place! seriously i was a little scared and prepared everyone for the worst. We had never been to miami and had book thru[...] of course and i was a little afraid of what we were getting into. $100.00 a night for beach view???? In Miami??? It was a total shock to see this place it was great the people were very helpful and the general location was just awesome! The bathrooms were a little OLD to say the least but you can't complain about that for the price right? also there is this little place called the SANDBAR a couple blocks down the street and it was AWESOME!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The sandbar! awesome little place with pool tables and the floor was SAND!!

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Carrollton, OH
Jan 24, 2010

Looks can be deceiving

My husband and I were in town for the end of our honeymoon and were looking for a nice hotel that wasn't overpriced. When we arrived it looked run down from the outside but once we got in the lobby area it was really nice. We arrived early and ask about early check-in and was told that it probably wouldn't be available but we could get the beach key, towels and have the front desk hold out luggage. We did this since we had no other options and were told to check back after noon to see about early check-in. The beach access was really great and the best thing about the whole stay. The pool was really nice and the pool area was nice and relaxing to sit in. We check backed frequently with the front desk about checking in and early were told that we would be able to do it by 1pm but we didn't actually get check-in until after 3pm. After we were checked in and went up to the room we were very unimpressed with the "Oceanfront" room I paid for. We basically could see a little bit of the ocean and the balcony was nothing like it showed in the pictures. The room itself its a nice size and it has a small kitchenette. The bathroom was small but fairly updated. The towels were horrible. They were so thin and unbearable to use. The water also took a very long time to warm up. After we got ready for dinner we went to check the hotel restaurant and decided not to eat there. The restaurant was overpriced for the type of food there. We walked a few blocks north and found a Pizza Hut to stop and eat at. When we got back to the hotel later that night to finally relax and sleep for the night it was impossible. It seemed like multiple people actually lived in the hotel rooms so all we heard through the paper thin walls was kids screaming and crying. Attempting to sleep that night was also horrible because of how thin the walls are and because the windows were also very thin. Check-out was really easy since we left at 5am to catch our flight and the guy working was really nice. Also security was able to call a taxi for us to take to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose to actually stay in the hotel there is a Publix Super Market down the street so save yourself some money and buy some food to keep in your room. Also don't eat at the restaurant it's overpriced down the street is a Pizza Hut, Dominos, Mcdonalds and Subway. There is also some other same cafe's up north too.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr dad.
Orlando Florida.
Jan 14, 2010

Expect no mercy, absolutely no mercy.

[...] my great shock came after cheking in, when i entered the room at the evening of Jan 10th,the same freezing night when there was very very (record?) cold in miami.I asked the front desk that the room is freezing, how can i turn on the heat ? I have children including a 3 months old baby. The lady on the front desk told me that this is an old hotel, & there is no heating system in the hotel. I told her "mam I am a doctor & i know without heating, my 3 months old baby is at the great risk of getting pneumonia".I was told, they had small heaters which they already gave to other guests & tomorrow they will buy one and give it to us, I'll have to wait till tomorrow when manager comes.I was told she is sending 2 more blankets to my room. A house keeping lady came with 2 blankets but before giving blankets, she asked, do we have 2 extra blankets in our room in the closit. She was told yes we saw it. She said well, it is the policy of the hotel to give only 2 extra blankets, & she left without giving us those blankets. But in a minute the same house keeping lady came back and said, she want to give us just one blanket but we should not tell it to the front desk ppl.That was the night i will always remember. Merciful God protected my baby & family. Yes that was a sleepless night for me & my wife.Miami is not a cold place & the odds are very very small that some one will need heating in this city.The odds are, your stay will be smooth in this place, but in case you did need a help, Don't expact mercy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rule the Traveler
Atlanta, GA
Jan 4, 2010

Nightmare Hotel!! I do not recommend!!

I did not like the hotel. I am also surprised that [...] would even have it on your list as a hotel available for your users. I am disappointed that I chose this hotel from you search engine. I Travel around 100,000 miles per year around the world. And stay at 100's of hotels. This tops "The worst" on my top 10 worst list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want shopping and food. Do not stay at this hotel.. Go to South Beach...

Back to menu Return to top

Change search