$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

3 stars
View map of 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MA
Feb 24, 2010

So So

The room was so so. We went when Miami was having a cold snap. The air in the hall ran 24/7 which made the hall very cold. This is an old hotel. The overflow on the tub had rust around it. Even with the do not disturb sign. They knocked on the door to deliver a night stand we didn't ask for. One day we never got our roomed cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
VA
Feb 3, 2010

So Surprised!!!!

I cannot belive this place! seriously i was a little scared and prepared everyone for the worst. We had never been to miami and had book thru[...] of course and i was a little afraid of what we were getting into. $100.00 a night for beach view???? In Miami??? It was a total shock to see this place it was great the people were very helpful and the general location was just awesome! The bathrooms were a little OLD to say the least but you can't complain about that for the price right? also there is this little place called the SANDBAR a couple blocks down the street and it was AWESOME!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The sandbar! awesome little place with pool tables and the floor was SAND!!

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Carrollton, OH
Jan 24, 2010

Looks can be deceiving

My husband and I were in town for the end of our honeymoon and were looking for a nice hotel that wasn't overpriced. When we arrived it looked run down from the outside but once we got in the lobby area it was really nice. We arrived early and ask about early check-in and was told that it probably wouldn't be available but we could get the beach key, towels and have the front desk hold out luggage. We did this since we had no other options and were told to check back after noon to see about early check-in. The beach access was really great and the best thing about the whole stay. The pool was really nice and the pool area was nice and relaxing to sit in. We check backed frequently with the front desk about checking in and early were told that we would be able to do it by 1pm but we didn't actually get check-in until after 3pm. After we were checked in and went up to the room we were very unimpressed with the "Oceanfront" room I paid for. We basically could see a little bit of the ocean and the balcony was nothing like it showed in the pictures. The room itself its a nice size and it has a small kitchenette. The bathroom was small but fairly updated. The towels were horrible. They were so thin and unbearable to use. The water also took a very long time to warm up. After we got ready for dinner we went to check the hotel restaurant and decided not to eat there. The restaurant was overpriced for the type of food there. We walked a few blocks north and found a Pizza Hut to stop and eat at. When we got back to the hotel later that night to finally relax and sleep for the night it was impossible. It seemed like multiple people actually lived in the hotel rooms so all we heard through the paper thin walls was kids screaming and crying. Attempting to sleep that night was also horrible because of how thin the walls are and because the windows were also very thin. Check-out was really easy since we left at 5am to catch our flight and the guy working was really nice. Also security was able to call a taxi for us to take to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose to actually stay in the hotel there is a Publix Super Market down the street so save yourself some money and buy some food to keep in your room. Also don't eat at the restaurant it's overpriced down the street is a Pizza Hut, Dominos, Mcdonalds and Subway. There is also some other same cafe's up north too.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr dad.
Family
Orlando Florida.
Jan 14, 2010

Expect no mercy, absolutely no mercy.

[...] my great shock came after cheking in, when i entered the room at the evening of Jan 10th,the same freezing night when there was very very (record?) cold in miami.I asked the front desk that the room is freezing, how can i turn on the heat ? I have children including a 3 months old baby. The lady on the front desk told me that this is an old hotel, & there is no heating system in the hotel. I told her "mam I am a doctor & i know without heating, my 3 months old baby is at the great risk of getting pneumonia".I was told, they had small heaters which they already gave to other guests & tomorrow they will buy one and give it to us, I'll have to wait till tomorrow when manager comes.I was told she is sending 2 more blankets to my room. A house keeping lady came with 2 blankets but before giving blankets, she asked, do we have 2 extra blankets in our room in the closit. She was told yes we saw it. She said well, it is the policy of the hotel to give only 2 extra blankets, & she left without giving us those blankets. But in a minute the same house keeping lady came back and said, she want to give us just one blanket but we should not tell it to the front desk ppl.That was the night i will always remember. Merciful God protected my baby & family. Yes that was a sleepless night for me & my wife.Miami is not a cold place & the odds are very very small that some one will need heating in this city.The odds are, your stay will be smooth in this place, but in case you did need a help, Don't expact mercy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rule the Traveler
Family
Atlanta, GA
Jan 4, 2010

Nightmare Hotel!! I do not recommend!!

I did not like the hotel. I am also surprised that [...] would even have it on your list as a hotel available for your users. I am disappointed that I chose this hotel from you search engine. I Travel around 100,000 miles per year around the world. And stay at 100's of hotels. This tops "The worst" on my top 10 worst list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want shopping and food. Do not stay at this hotel.. Go to South Beach...

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TOP T
Couples
Hartford, CT
Jan 3, 2010

The Report

Nice location and access to beach and pool. Valet service was very good and convenient (allows for unlimted in/out of garage). Continental breakfast was alright but ending time was good. Basically slept at hotel and plans were to hang at the Ocean Dr area. Easy drive to the Ocean Dr area. Didn't like window noise, bed (boxspring was shot) and leaky soap despenser in bathroom. Rugs a little worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent night life (Clevelander) in Ocean DR area. Nice walking/restaurants in Washington St and Ocean Dr area and excellent board walk. Nice shopping stores in those areas.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chapel Hill, NC
Jan 1, 2010

a little bit old

Location was good. I could see beach on my bed. Only valet parking is possible and you have to pay $17 plus tax per night. They serve WIFI only in the lobby not in the room which was really inconvenient. They serve free computer access but they charge printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wang40
Family
Parsippany,NJ
Dec 29, 2009

Miami

Stay there for few days during Christmas time. Really enjoy the trip with family. Easy access to beach. Pool is clean. Ocean view room is great. In Room kitchen is excellent, especially for us who travel with the kids. Restaurant downstairs is not bad and not pricey. Walgreen and some small shops are 3 blocks away. Public parking is 1 block north. Free WiFi in the lobby. Took taxi or bus to South Beach or other attractions nearby. Only thing I didn't like is the room is by the elevator, so it is a little noisy, but the bed is comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Louisville, KY
Dec 28, 2009

Nice Location

The hotel is very average, but the location to the beach and pool were above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel Restaurant average price good food.

Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Delaware, OH
Dec 14, 2009

Pretty Good

The hotel is in a pretty good location, fairly close to some restaurants & shopping areas. The bus ($2 fare) is probably the best way to get around, though, since most of the "night life" is in downtown Miami. The rooms aren't really ocean front per se...I would definitely say they are all ocean view since there is a pool and lots of shrubbery between the hotel and the ocean. The security was definitely top notch, though the service desk was relatively slow. The restaurant/bar is nice and cozy, the breakfast was more than adequate. The rooms are old, but not completely out-dated; everything looked clean and aside from the toilet running constantly, I was pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Just take the bus to get to any good entertainment. There are a couple of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance, but if you're looking for a lot of fun - I'd hitch a ride downtown.

Back to menu Return to top