$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

The New Casablanca on the Ocean

3 stars
6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
55 reviews
The New Casablanca on the Ocean

very clean..rooms., pool- Enjoyed our stay staff was very pleasant. at the Desk and maids. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Kennedy
  • Feb 12, 2014
Loved this place!

I loved this hotel!!! The staff was really friendly and even gave us an upgraded room. The room... See full review

  • Lisa C
  • Mar 9, 2011
Miami Beach studios with full kitchens and free Wi-Fi

The famous Miami Beach Millionaires' Row is the setting for The New Casablanca on the Ocean's extended stay studios and townhouses. The renovated property on the shores of the Atlantic boasts 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses that all include kitchens. The hotel is 10 minutes from South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami. The hotel holds a place in local history as Lenny Bruce and other stars used to perform there. It still reflects retro Florida style, especially the Adonis-like figurines holding up the entrance.

Highlights
  • 10 minutes to South Beach and 15 minutes to the Port of Miami
  • All 275 rooms and 13 two-bedroom townhouses include kitchens
  • Heated swimming pool
Rooms
Renovated rooms and townhouses say beach getaway with their palm-printed comforters and partial or full city and ocean views. Rooms have a full kitchen complete with refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven, coffee/tea maker, cookware and dishes. Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.
Features

Direct beach access and an oceanfront pool invite guests to enjoy a more peaceful side of Miami Beach without so many tourists. In addition to nightly rates, the hotel offers month-long rentals and furnished studios.

There is a self-service laundry on each floor.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (26 miles)
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
Attractions
  • La Gorce Golf Course (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (3.7mi/ 6 km)
  • Art Deco District (3.8 mi/ 6.1 km)
  • Lincoln Road (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (4.5 mi/ 7.2 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (9 mi/ 14.5 km)
Business
  • Conference room
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Effective May 1, the property will charge $20 USD for valet parking.
  • Major credit card or cash in security is required in order to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The New Casablanca on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The New Casablanca on the Ocean Rooms

Ocean View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Standard Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet, complimentary cable TV. Full assortment of amenities including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Oceanfront Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanfront view. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Ocean View Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and spectacular oceanview. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.
Bay/Intercoastal View Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Spacious Deluxe Studio with full kitchen, walk-in closet and City view with western exposure overlooking the bay & intercostal waters. Full assortment of amenities (including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, hair dryer & massage shower head. Kitchen includes full size refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave & assortment of pots, pans & utensils. Grocery store located in lobby. Complimentary in room coffee first night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Gilias Restaurant
Offers an assortment of simple yet tasteful Cuban Dishes. Daily breakfast and dinner. " All you can eat" buffet are available at reasonable prices. Hours 7 AM - 10 PM (Daily)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cosmo
Business
Gmina Zgierz, Poland
Sep 14, 2011

Fantastic couple getaway

This hotel is in the excellent location, with the great pool and reach to the gorgeous beach. Staffs are very polite and helpful. Rooms are quiet and accommodated the with full kitchen. There are parking at the hotel and the public parking lot to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice beaches, exellent spot for joggers and swimmers , great weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micht
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Casablanca on the beach

The price was reasonable for this hotel. We chose it because of the location. Room service is not so good. 2 times we were not changed towels. And we had to remind. Room was not very clean. Restaurant menu was poor espacially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The most helpful was location, location, location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tyris
Business
va
Jun 27, 2011

Idk... Guess it was ok

The lobby looks great took alot of photos but rooms are not what you expect there small thought would be bigger based off pictures. My cousin room had a big water bug n the room, they had to change rooms, my brother room a/c didnt work and fridge didnt get cold but overall my room was good. There slow deliverying towels do not give enuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is by each other.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 28, 2011

Good Family Vacation Spot

Casablanca is clean, family friendly, comfortable and has a wonderful location right on the beach and a nice pool. The rooms are a bit outdated and are more like an aunt's condominium than a hotel but Miami beach is not for being indoors. Continental breakfast was included. Valet parking $17/day was available right on site was convenient. Room cleaning while at the hotel was erratic. The family atmosphere was nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa C
Business
Providence, RI
Mar 9, 2011

Loved this place!

I loved this hotel!!! The staff was really friendly and even gave us an upgraded room. The room was much nicer than in the pictures online. Very clean and a beautiful view of the ocean. The kitchen was great and the cleaning staff even cleaned our dishes every day. I read comments about the bed being uncomfortable but they were completely the opposite. I had such a great sleep each night! The pool and beach access were a great plus! Being 22 there was not a ton of night life in the immediate area, but it was a quick 15 minute bus ride to south beach where there is tons of stuff to do! I could not imagine finding a better hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissatisfaction
Business
West Palm Beach
Jan 2, 2011

SOMEBODY LIED!!!

First of all, the Reservation was for a King-Size Bed in the room--the Bed was a "Full" (not even a "Queen-size) and BOLTED to the floor--so there was NO CHANCE of getting a King-Size Bed & the Hotel said they had NO other rooms with King-Size Beds--VERY Disappointing--and QUITE Mis-leading as I made the reservations specifically FOR a King-Size Bed. Secondly, there were no mini-bottles of shampoo (as other Hotels might offer)and NO bars of shower soap upon our arrival. We had to REQUEST bars of shower soap. Supposedly the Hotel had Shampoo/Hair Conditioner dispensers in the shower, but the Hair Conditioner dispenser was EMPTY & never Re-filled and the shampoo dispenser was not labeled as such..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan on taking a cab/taxi & allowing time for pick-up. if you try to drive, you'll encounter lots of traffic & Parking Lot rip-offs. Also know WHERE you're going & HOW MANY miles it should take --if you're travelling via taxi/cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 29, 2010

Not a bad place for your money

Good service and a location for a reasonable price, but I wish our oceanview room had a balcony... Friendly and helpful staff. The biggest drawback was the smell. The whole hotel had that slight aroma of an old building (I'm not sure why it call "New Casablanca" - the place is obviously old). When we came to our room, it reeked of some cleaning liquid. We kept the window opened all the time, but the smell went away only after a few days. Continental breakfast is served in a restaurant but is rather poor - worse than in most motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We visited three good places - all of them less than a mile from the hotel: Café Prima Pasta (good for a dinner), Katana Japanese Restaurant (very popular sushi place), Las Vegas Restaurant (inexpensive Cuban place with good simple food). Also a good and popular French place - Petit Rouge, but it's a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Dec 28, 2010

Good Location, Poor Internet Service

The hotel is in a great locaton on Miami Beach. It was clean and quiet. Major issue was Internet Connection, could not connected from the room, had to go to the loby to connect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Geddes
Business
Homestead, FL
Oct 22, 2010

Wonderful Service & Staff

We, Along with 20 family members & friends, had the pleasure of staying the evening before and after our wedding day. I cannot begin to Thank the staff for their amazing service. The front desk clerk [...] assisted us in EVERY way possible and ALWAYS with a smile on his face. Every single staff member we encountered was pleasant and attentive to our needs as guests. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel has quick and easy access to the beach. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Casablanca to any traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located in North Beach, just a short drive from South Beach, dining, shopping and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The New Casablanca on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Your Friends
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Good location, Clean Room, Nice View

I recomment taking the bus to south beach. Every cab ride to south beach is about $15.00 each way. $2.00 for each person on the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top