$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The James Royal Palm

4 stars
1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
FANTASTIC

The staff was courteous and very accommodating. The room and ocean views were spectacular. The... See full review

  • Jerseykat
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great hotel

The staff here is amazing. They go above and beyond and are super polite and friendly. Upon... See full review

  • lm91682
  • Jul 8, 2014
Modern luxury facing the sea in the heart of South Beach
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine?s ?Hot Hotels of 2013", The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel creates a welcoming haven for discerning travellers looking for a modern beachfront retreat in South Beach. Guests can explore Miami attractions such as The Wolfsonian Museum and Grapeland Water Park before capping off the day on site with a workout session at the fitness centre, a soothing dip in any of the two outdoor pools, and a relaxing salt-infused treatment at the full-service spa. The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel has 10,000 sq ft of events space ideal for any type of indoor and outdoor corporate and social functions. Diners can sample mouth-watering regional Florida favorites at the chef-driven signature restaurant, Florida Cookery on site. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day. A retail store, GIVE: The Shop, is also available. For the kids, The hotel offers activities at Lil' James.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Direct beach access
  • Two outdoor pools and fitness centre
The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel Rooms

All 393 rooms at The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel promote stylish decor and chic furniture with views overlooking South Beach. Each smoke-free unit comes with upscale comforts such as flat-screen TV, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary triple-distilled water, Crabtree & Evelyn bathroom amenities, safe deposit box, work desk, coffee maker, and iron/ironing board. Some units feature ocean and city vistas.

Things To Do
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • New World Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • South Beach (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Wolfsonian Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Holocaust Memorial on Miami Beach (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Jungle Island (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Historic Virginia Key Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Grapeland Water Park (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel offers a great renovated room product, personalized service and the excellent location on 15th and Collins Avenue. The hotel team has made arrangements to ensure a great stay including offering select restaurants within walking distance with special discounts for the guests and allow deliveries to the hotel
  • A $21 resort fee per night plus tax will be charged in addition to the reserved rate. It is payable directly to hotel. This fee entitles the guest to free local phone calls, free wireless Internet access, free use of lounge chairs per registered guest, free access to pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, in room coffee and teas, daily newspaper (Miami Herald or USA Today)
  • There is an additional charge of $20 per third and fourth guest over the age of 12
  • The hotel charges $39 a day for parking
  • The pet policy is that a non-refundable charge of $75 is required, due at check-in, for pets up to a maximum of 25 pounds. In addition, should guests leave their pet in the room while they are out, they must keep the pet in an enclosed pet container. The hotel will gladly arrange with housekeeping for the best time to service the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Royal Palm also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The James Royal Palm Rooms

Ocean Front Two Bedroom Apartmen
180 degree oceanfront view, two kings bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Deluxe King Guestroom Ocean View
Ocean View, One King Bed, 375 Sq. Ft. Complimentary WiFi, floor to ceiling windows
Loft King Suite City View
525 sq. ft., separate sleeping/living areas Complimentary WiFi, City View
One Bedroom Poolside Apartment
Steps to pool and beach, separate bedroom Comp WiFi, separate living room and kitchen
Two Bedroom Poolside Apartment
Steps to pool and beach, two bedrooms, two baths, Comp WiFi, separate living room/kitchen
Studio King Suite Courtyard View
One King Bed, Comp WiFi, Pool and Beach Access 450 Sq. Ft., two 42 in. plasma Tvs
Studio King Suite
City View, Living Area, Comp WiFi, King Bed, floor to ceiling windows, In Room Pantry.
Studio King Suite Accessible
375 Sq. ft., roll in bathroom and grab bars Lowered door viewer, latches and shelving
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Apartment
180 degree oceanfront view, two bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Studio King Suite Ocean View
Ocean View, 450 sq. ft., Complimentary WiFi One King Bed, separate sleeping/living areas
Three Bedroom Ocean Front Apartm
180 degree oceanfront view, three bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Apartment King Suite
575 sq. ft., one king bed, comp WiFi Separate living/Sleeping areas, City View
Apartment King Suite Ocean View
Ocean View, 575 sq. ft., comp WiFi Separate living/Sleeping areas, One King bed
Deluxe Double Guestroom
Two Double Beds, City View, Complimentary WiFi 375 sq. ft., floor to ceiling windows
Deluxe Double Guestroom Ocean Vi
Ocean View, Two Double Beds, 375 Sq. Ft. Complimentary WiFi
Deluxe King Guestroom
One King Bed, City View, Complimentary WiFi 375 sq. ft.
Ocean Front King Guestroom
Direct Ocean Views, Step Out Balcony, 375 sq.ft., One King Bed, Complimentary WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
TV remote control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Dining

Florida Cookery
The James Royal Palms signature restaurant features regional Florida Fare with a focus on locally-sourced ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for The James Royal Palm

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maritimer
Business
Montreal
Nov 26, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel

This hotel was ordinary and looking dated. Perhaps it was a 5 star hotel many years ago, but not anymore. If we had paid half the rate we were charged, satisfaction would have been higher. Several relatively minor issues during our 4 day stay, including irregular housekeeping that we had to keep calling about, overcharging for an umbrella on the beach, and room keys that wouldn't work. The room was Ok, but we were charged a substantial premium for a balcony that was just barely larger than a juliet balcony. There was nowhere to sit on the balcony either. All in all, not a bad hotel or bad staff. But there was nothing to make this a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Smith
Business
Apple Valley, MN
Feb 19, 2013

Not impressed

I don't have much to say negative about the hotel, but the house cleaning need work... Need to change the sheets and pillows. When they said they did they put on a dirty stained sheets...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rutgas
Business
Wall, NJ
Mar 29, 2013

South Beach experience

Great location. Hotel always felt crowded. From the limited access into the hotel to the wait for a lounge chair at the pool to the lack of towels at the beach. Staff tried to accomodate but it felt like they were overwhelmed. Restaurants were a big plus. Lunch and dinner at Florida Citrus was VERY GOOD and VERY REASONBLE. Stay away from Catch unless you want to have your reservation ignored and pay up for the same food and beverage you can get inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was very good. Ate at several other restaurants in the area and this was as good and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davism
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2013

Nice place, a bit overpriced

I'll start with the bad stuff: there were a lot of technical problems when we checked in. First, a reservation that I had cancelled was still in their system. Our room was not ready even though it was 4PM when we arrived. We waited 10-15 minutes for the key-making machine to work, which it never did (someone had to personally let us in the room) and then when we were told it was working again, had to wait another 10-15 minutes while they tried (because apparently it still wasn't working). Finally, the gate that lets you from the beach back into the property wasn't working and never did get fixed during our stay (affecting not just us but all guests). We paid something like $340, and the room we were supposed to get was very small. On the other hand, because our room wasn't ready and it was so late, they gave us a free upgrade to a larger and nicer room. Staff was helpful and apologetic about the problems. Location was perfect, building is pretty, amenities were fine, bed was clean and comfortable. All in all, an ok stay. Even in that area, $340 was a bit pricey for the experience. But I wouldn't tell anyone to NOT go there; it's a fine hotel and I really do appreciate the upgrade they gave us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronmeister
Business
New York
Nov 28, 2013

Getaway with the wife

The hotel was very clean and the staff was courteous. We stayed in the loft sweet, which wasn't a loft, just a slightly bigger hotel room. Our room was on the fourth floor and from midnight to 5am, there was music blasting at the club downstairs, which kept us awake. They did change our room the next day with no problem at all. The restaurant staff was slow and a bit unorganized. We received our lunch and still had to wait 5 minutes to receive napkins and utencils, after asking numerous times. A simple breakfast for 2 is $50-$60. Unfortunately the weather was rainy, windy and overcast the entire time, so we weren't able to use the pool or go down to the beach, which made the $21 per person extra fee a waste. Overall, the hotel is really nice and clean. The concierge was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak was a fantastic restaurant, about a 3 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachGirl100
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 30, 2014

Great location and good value

Enjoyed the location (right on the beach and walking distance to the best dining and shopping) however a bit disappointed as I was expecting the same luxury service and amenities as I have experienced at The James in NYC and Chicago. While the South Beach is sub-pad in comparison it is still a nice, clean, well situated hotel for a good value. I hope to see them step up service level if they want to be considered a luxury option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the historic pool areas at the nearby Raleigh and National hotels. Worth an evening visit for cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mmg2014
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Ok, but not exceptional Hotel in south beach

The Hotel is very well located, its a good hotel but was expecting much better. The first room they gave us was 2-3 stars equivalent at most. After that first big disapointment we complained and the night manager in a very cold way proposed an upgrade to another room (paid of course :) ) We accepted the surcharge and got a better room, still nothing special but acceptable. The service of the hotel is nothing special, they dont try hard to please... With some exceptions ( pool lady and one the concierges were very nice) staff looks amateurish and doesnt seem to have any focus on client satisfaction... And charge $18 for an humbrela in the hotel beach sounds quite ridiculous for a quality hotel... We had much better experiences in other hotels in south beach...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juvia restaurant in lincoln rd is really good with incredible views of the city. And try the amazing tapas at pubbelly restaurant. Dont miss it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superlg
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 18, 2013

January escape

Very helpful staff, especially at the beach and at the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjwct
Business
CT
Mar 14, 2013

Very Solid

Great location, food and staff. Service a little uneven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The 3 of us
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 29, 2013

A great getaway

A well run hotel with many great amenities and friendly staff. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top