$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The James Royal Palm

4 stars
1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
33 reviews
Great hotel

The staff here is amazing. They go above and beyond and are super polite and friendly. Upon... See full review

  • lm91682
  • Jul 8, 2014
James Hotel was amazing

The hotel was great, it didn't have that weird awkwardness smell that hotel usually do. They have a... See full review

  • Jess the Traveler
  • Nov 14, 2013
Modern luxury facing the sea in the heart of South Beach
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine?s ?Hot Hotels of 2013", The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel creates a welcoming haven for discerning travellers looking for a modern beachfront retreat in South Beach. Guests can explore Miami attractions such as The Wolfsonian Museum and Grapeland Water Park before capping off the day on site with a workout session at the fitness centre, a soothing dip in any of the two outdoor pools, and a relaxing salt-infused treatment at the full-service spa. The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel has 10,000 sq ft of events space ideal for any type of indoor and outdoor corporate and social functions. Diners can sample mouth-watering regional Florida favorites at the chef-driven signature restaurant, Florida Cookery on site. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day. A retail store, GIVE: The Shop, is also available. For the kids, The hotel offers activities at Lil' James.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Direct beach access
  • Two outdoor pools and fitness centre
The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel Rooms

All 393 rooms at The James Royal Palm Miami Hotel promote stylish decor and chic furniture with views overlooking South Beach. Each smoke-free unit comes with upscale comforts such as flat-screen TV, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary triple-distilled water, Crabtree & Evelyn bathroom amenities, safe deposit box, work desk, coffee maker, and iron/ironing board. Some units feature ocean and city vistas.

Things To Do
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • New World Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • South Beach (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Wolfsonian Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Holocaust Memorial on Miami Beach (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Jungle Island (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Historic Virginia Key Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Grapeland Water Park (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel offers a great renovated room product, personalized service and the excellent location on 15th and Collins Avenue. The hotel team has made arrangements to ensure a great stay including offering select restaurants within walking distance with special discounts for the guests and allow deliveries to the hotel
  • A $21 resort fee per night plus tax will be charged in addition to the reserved rate. It is payable directly to hotel. This fee entitles the guest to free local phone calls, free wireless Internet access, free use of lounge chairs per registered guest, free access to pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, in room coffee and teas, daily newspaper (Miami Herald or USA Today)
  • There is an additional charge of $20 per third and fourth guest over the age of 12
  • The hotel charges $39 a day for parking
  • The pet policy is that a non-refundable charge of $75 is required, due at check-in, for pets up to a maximum of 25 pounds. In addition, should guests leave their pet in the room while they are out, they must keep the pet in an enclosed pet container. The hotel will gladly arrange with housekeeping for the best time to service the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7885 -80.1293
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.81, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.96, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Royal Palm also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The James Royal Palm Rooms

Ocean Front Two Bedroom Apartmen
180 degree oceanfront view, two kings bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Deluxe King Guestroom Ocean View
Ocean View, One King Bed, 375 Sq. Ft. Complimentary WiFi, floor to ceiling windows
Loft King Suite City View
525 sq. ft., separate sleeping/living areas Complimentary WiFi, City View
One Bedroom Poolside Apartment
Steps to pool and beach, separate bedroom Comp WiFi, separate living room and kitchen
Two Bedroom Poolside Apartment
Steps to pool and beach, two bedrooms, two baths, Comp WiFi, separate living room/kitchen
Studio King Suite Courtyard View
One King Bed, Comp WiFi, Pool and Beach Access 450 Sq. Ft., two 42 in. plasma Tvs
Studio King Suite
City View, Living Area, Comp WiFi, King Bed, floor to ceiling windows, In Room Pantry.
Studio King Suite Accessible
375 Sq. ft., roll in bathroom and grab bars Lowered door viewer, latches and shelving
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Apartment
180 degree oceanfront view, two bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Studio King Suite Ocean View
Ocean View, 450 sq. ft., Complimentary WiFi One King Bed, separate sleeping/living areas
Three Bedroom Ocean Front Apartm
180 degree oceanfront view, three bedrooms Separate living/dining, wet bar, comp Wifi
Apartment King Suite
575 sq. ft., one king bed, comp WiFi Separate living/Sleeping areas, City View
Apartment King Suite Ocean View
Ocean View, 575 sq. ft., comp WiFi Separate living/Sleeping areas, One King bed
Deluxe Double Guestroom
Two Double Beds, City View, Complimentary WiFi 375 sq. ft., floor to ceiling windows
Deluxe Double Guestroom Ocean Vi
Ocean View, Two Double Beds, 375 Sq. Ft. Complimentary WiFi
Deluxe King Guestroom
One King Bed, City View, Complimentary WiFi 375 sq. ft.
Ocean Front King Guestroom
Direct Ocean Views, Step Out Balcony, 375 sq.ft., One King Bed, Complimentary WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
TV remote control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Dining

Florida Cookery
The James Royal Palms signature restaurant features regional Florida Fare with a focus on locally-sourced ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The James Royal Palm

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooke1
New York
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

Everything was just perfect. Pool menu could be better but service and staff is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch is a great choice

Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Traveler2012
New York
Jan 1, 2013

Royal Palm

The Royal Palm is a beautiful hotel situated in the heart of South Beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the hotel was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagosurfer
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 17, 2012

Super new addition to South Beach lineup

Spent last weekend here, just 6 weeks after the property's opening. Rooms and common areas are beautifully designed, great combination of modern and Art Deco. Some really cool modern art in particular, I loved the beautifully flowing wooden clothes peg based sculpture next to the elevators! Great location at the heart of South Beach. The hotels' bar scene isn't yet as hopping as places like the Delano and SLS, but they're just a couple of blocks away, and there's something to be said for having a hotel that's an oasis of calm to return to. Loved having a Nespresso machine plus a bunch of capsules in the room, helped get the morning off to a good start after having a few more cocktails than usual the night before... Staff was all super friendly and welcoming to us. Hooked us up with a very nice baby sitter to look after the little guy while we were out in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pour over coffees and pastries in the lobby coffee shop

Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miami party girls
Orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2013

AmaZing!

This hotel was amazing for the money! The bed was so comfortable! The room was clean. The staff was personable and helpful. The view was wonderful! Our cocktail server we had on the beach gave us the best service I have experienced in south beach. I have no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pritesh
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2013

A Perfect Vacation Destination at South Beach, FL

I had great time ever by experiencing incredible hotel services fro the staff, great place to experience "Urban Relaxation" in your pleasure time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James L
NJ
Jun 24, 2013

Great location

Great location, love the gym, great pool and restaurants. Would stay again. When booking make sure to ask for ocean front if you want to actually see the water close up and not water miles away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean drive, Washington street, Lincoln.

Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess the Traveler
MI
Nov 14, 2013

James Hotel was amazing

The hotel was great, it didn't have that weird awkwardness smell that hotel usually do. They have a pools and an outdoor Jacuzzi that was open 24/7. Also an outdoor sitting area and a bar. Upstairs there was a swimming pool with breakfast area/buffet, the food was little pricey but also very very delicious and fresh. They also have a spot on the beach where they serviced us. Was about 5-10 feet away from the hotel, towels provided. The best part that we used the most was the concierge. It was free as well, and they have knowledge of all the area. Was very easy to decide and book with them. It is hard to find parking in the city, the hotel offered us bikes to ride, it was free as well. The hotel also have a spa inside, if you are planning on using it make sure you book a slot BEFORE you arrive. Room service is very expensive but worth it especially if it is raining. Check out was 2pm, and we had about 6 hours before we had to go to the airport, the hotel stored our bags for free until we had to head to the airport. We didn't' have to worry about taking them with us to the beach or anything.. BARS are open till 5 am around town and there are a lot of parties so there is a lot to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 block down from James, called Bianca's (its also hotel). AMAZING food, very romantic for couples and also very classy for a group eat out. Inside, outside eating. We sat outside, we had multiple waitress/waiters. For dinner, we had the veal ravioli, was very delicious, also had the fish dish, it comes in a big bowl and it was a big piece, and we also had the filet mignion, was cooked perfectly, it came with potates, they were delicious as well. For deserts, we had the Gelato and the cheesecake. both were big pieces and tastes very authentic.

Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lm91682
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2014

Great hotel

The staff here is amazing. They go above and beyond and are super polite and friendly. Upon check-in they rush to hand you a delicious fruit infused water. The room is spacious, white, bright and clean. We had a small terrace with a slight ocean view. A complimentary bathrobe and the best hotel slippers I've ever gotten (the little things make me happy, lol) are offered during your stay. The James is super into being green, so the shampoo, conditioner and body wash is not given in your typical small hotel sized bottle. Rather a large bottle of each hangs on the wall. I don't really like this feature, as for some reason it kind of skeeves me out. It smelled very strongly of chemicals (even though it boasts being chemical free) and wasn't very good. The hotel does offer a filtered carafe of water each day, which is great. The pool is large and chairs are spaced out well, many with umbrellas and tables. At the pool and the beach you are given a small picnic basket with water bottles, apples and drink/ food menus…such a nice touch. Chairs at the beach are complimentary, but umbrellas are $20…that's South Beach. Location is great, close to Ocean and the trendy hotels on Collins. I've only eaten the food served poolside or at the beach, but both are tasty. I had the fish tacos and burger, both very good and yummy pina coladas. The hotel gym is located off of the pool and nicely equipped. The crowd at the hotel was quiet and respectful. Not a party crowd, but not an uber conservative crowd either. Mostly late 20s and older professionals with friends or couples. I've stayed at this hotel twice and both times had a great experience. Much nicer than the SLS down the street and actually a little more lux. A great stay in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gordon P
Pittsburgh PA
Apr 21, 2013

The Royal Palm is back ..

The Royal Palmis back and better than ever .. after a number of years with other owners and being run down these new owners have got the hotel in outstanding shape and with a staff that can not be beat .. decore and rooms are beautiful . complementery water and fresh fruit served to you on the beach and at the pool .. get the idea .. they have thought of everything ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe,s .. great food

Review of The James Royal Palm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I heart Miami
New York
Apr 3, 2013

Fabulous Couple Escape

My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed our recent stay at The James Royal Palm. First of all, the property is beautiful. We loved the easy beach access along with the 2 chairs and umbrella everyday. (There's a $21/day resort fee that covers the chairs, umbrella, and bottled water/fruit that is delivered to you on the beach...well worth it) We also enjoyed the smaller, quieter pool deck onthe 2nd floor. The staff at the hotel was excellent. We could not have met nicer, friendlier people who were more than happy to please us! Our original room had a problem with the sinks so we were moved to another room immediately and it was great. Only complaints? The room service is apparenltly not 100%...many people in the hotel were complaining all week. We were there Monday-Friday and our room was cleaned everyday except 1. However, they DO have turndown service which is nice and not too common in SoBe. Also, the food/drink service is a little slow on the beach/pool, but it isn't terrible when you're lounging in the sun. The bathroom doors are also kind of weird because they don't exactly close! Otherwise, we had a fabulous getaway and we would stay at the hotel again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Catch is DELICIOUS! A little pricey, but WELL worth it. Ask for Douglas, he was amazing.

Back to menu Return to top