$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
View map of 801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Amazing weekend

My stay at the hotel of south beach went above and beyond my expectation. The staff was incredibly... See full review

  • Emily V.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Wonderful staff & great location!

The Hotel of South Beach is a really cool Art Deco inspired hotel in a convenient location with... See full review

  • SK
  • Mar 17, 2015
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel of South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 96
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SK
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Wonderful staff & great location!

The Hotel of South Beach is a really cool Art Deco inspired hotel in a convenient location with lots of places to shop from and eat. Not only that the staff members were really friendly and accommodating. The room service and their cocktails are amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's really charming and a little oasis. I miss it already!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leov
Business
Dublin
Jan 7, 2015

Lovely spot

Nice small Art Deco hotel. Very close to beach. Great roof top pool. Extra friendly and helpful staff. Can be noisy though as there is bar/nightclub across the road. Elevator is very slow. Have there own beds etc at the beach so extra charge. Breakfast and mini-bar are expensive. Decent small gym

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Stone Crab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave from the Burgh
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2014

Amazing experience

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of staying at this hotel. The location was fantastic (close to the beach and nightclubs), the rooms were very comfortable, and the roof top pool was very convenient. The best part of this hotel experience was the staff. I stayed here for my 29th birthday celebration and I was surprised with room service who handed me a bottle a champagne. I personally have never been treated as nice as this staff in all my years of traveling (I travel a lot). The front desk, bell hops, bartenders all were so generous to me and I will never forget The Hotel of South Beach on Collins Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Liv nightclub and celebrate with your friends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wrut
Business
New York
Apr 15, 2013

Nice stay

Small but great pool. Good location. Friendly Staff. The hotel is a nice place to stay. You wish you'd get more for your money (like bigger rooms etc). But it's the same everywhere in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHLady
Business
Boston
Mar 9, 2013

It was just good

Friendly staffs, nice roof top pool and bar.. The room was very comfortable and nice. The location of the hotel is pretty awesome, it s close to everything. The restaurant in the hotel is definitely overpriced, the food there is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario209papi
Business
stockton CA
Jan 6, 2013

birthday getaway

i loved the people working there... great location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean drive is like half a block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I need sun
Business
Boston
Dec 17, 2012

A sunshine getaway

I have stayed at this hotel before and will stay there again as soon as I can. The location is perfect, a block from the beach, yet quiet. The hotel staff is so helpful. I came from the cold grey Northeast. As soon as I arrived at the hotel I had lunch on the roof right by the pool. It was sunny and warm and delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 25 cent local bus one street over will take you to Lincoln Road Mall in 10 minutes. A great place to get a hair cut and color is McAllister's just outside of Lincoln Rd mall. The Art Deco tour is fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luz13
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 17, 2012

Best time in Miami

Location is perfect, staff is very friendly and personable. Rooms were clean and I liked the modern decor, especially the two closets and bathroom set-up. Even was surprised by a complimentary bottle of champagne after a front desk staff member heard it was my birthday. The hotel and room was spacious, much more spacious than other hotels I have stayed in when visiting South Beach. Will be sure to always return to this hotel. One thing- Did not expect $550 to be held on my debit card in case of any damages however the funds were released within the amount of days they told me it would be, as I did not have any charges or damages in the room. Otherwise, the stay was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobF61
Business
Nutley, New Jersey
May 6, 2012

Average Experience

I stood in the older section of The Hotel while visiting Miami. The appearance of The Hotel is very nice. Attractive little lobby with Wish Restaurant positioned to the left of the reception area and also outside. The indoor section of Wish restaurant is very cute....very minimalist and attractive. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only, however I did not dine at Wish. No problem with cleanliness at all. Bed was firm but comfortable, and of course the location is exceptional with many restaurants, beach, retail shopping near by. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooftop pool with small bar and sun lounges in addition to a nice gym. The only problem was noise.....downgrading this property to a three stars. However, I am quite sure that noise is also a problem in any other of the small, historic hotels in the SoBe area, (as well as the newer ones for that matter). I tried sleeping the first night without any ear plugs. However, around 12:30 am, the sound of a wooden hanger crashing to the closet floor and banging directly against my wall on the way down was enough for me to change my mind. A word to the wise.....always.....always....always bring ear plugs to ANY hotel you plan to stay at, from 3-5 star. I know....you shouldn't have to.... but due to poor building construction and the inconsiderate nature of people...it is a necessity. I slept with the plugs in at night for the remainder of my stay but also noticed that you will hear: 1). The chugging sound of the AC and fridge. 2). Conversations of other guests in the hall and in the adjacent rooms. Some other reviewers noticed a 1" gap between the floor and the bottom of the door, which is true. But believe me, even without this gap, you would still hear hall noise. 3). Soft elevator ping. 4). Mild creaking of the floor above you. 5). Pedestrian and vehicular noise on Collins Ave. Other than the noise problem, which I expected, The Hotel was a very convenient, attractive property to stay. This is not a 4-5 star hotel. However it is a typical, small historic hotel in the SoBe area with both pros and cons. Bottom line......I have mixed feelings about this property......although not a "party hotel" I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd or if you are not too bothered by noise. However, if you are older, looking to relax and keep "regular hours" you may want to seek another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jan 31, 2010

Classy place friendly staff

Really liked this place. The staff very extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are classy and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top