$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
87 reviews
A wonderful gem

A had a great time. It's a beautiful gem in the heart of Art Deco a South Beach. See full review

  • Living38
  • Aug 25, 2014
Amazing experience

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of staying at this hotel. The location was fantastic (close to... See full review

  • Dave from the Burgh
  • Jun 27, 2014
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel of South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arash
Business
Reseda, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 30, 2014

Location is good

The hotel is really small and old. The mattress of the bed is one of the worst one that I have ever slept on. Old rooms with dated furniture. This hotel is like a 3 stars hotel. But the location is good. I wouldn't comeback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobF61
Business
Nutley, New Jersey
May 6, 2012

Average Experience

I stood in the older section of The Hotel while visiting Miami. The appearance of The Hotel is very nice. Attractive little lobby with Wish Restaurant positioned to the left of the reception area and also outside. The indoor section of Wish restaurant is very cute....very minimalist and attractive. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only, however I did not dine at Wish. No problem with cleanliness at all. Bed was firm but comfortable, and of course the location is exceptional with many restaurants, beach, retail shopping near by. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooftop pool with small bar and sun lounges in addition to a nice gym. The only problem was noise.....downgrading this property to a three stars. However, I am quite sure that noise is also a problem in any other of the small, historic hotels in the SoBe area, (as well as the newer ones for that matter). I tried sleeping the first night without any ear plugs. However, around 12:30 am, the sound of a wooden hanger crashing to the closet floor and banging directly against my wall on the way down was enough for me to change my mind. A word to the wise.....always.....always....always bring ear plugs to ANY hotel you plan to stay at, from 3-5 star. I know....you shouldn't have to.... but due to poor building construction and the inconsiderate nature of people...it is a necessity. I slept with the plugs in at night for the remainder of my stay but also noticed that you will hear: 1). The chugging sound of the AC and fridge. 2). Conversations of other guests in the hall and in the adjacent rooms. Some other reviewers noticed a 1" gap between the floor and the bottom of the door, which is true. But believe me, even without this gap, you would still hear hall noise. 3). Soft elevator ping. 4). Mild creaking of the floor above you. 5). Pedestrian and vehicular noise on Collins Ave. Other than the noise problem, which I expected, The Hotel was a very convenient, attractive property to stay. This is not a 4-5 star hotel. However it is a typical, small historic hotel in the SoBe area with both pros and cons. Bottom line......I have mixed feelings about this property......although not a "party hotel" I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd or if you are not too bothered by noise. However, if you are older, looking to relax and keep "regular hours" you may want to seek another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerengaged
Business
nyc,ny
Feb 11, 2013

Nice...but

Great staff, awesome location, great rooftop pool. Awful internet in room, really awful. Water pressure in shower below average. Frosted window made me feel like I was in in prison or something. Still really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gary Alan
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Aug 29, 2013

The Hotel

The room was old-looking and air conditioner made our room cold. Bathroom was very small. No wi-fi in our room (I was offered a different room when I inquired about why it did not work). The bar was nice and bartender was friendly. Concierge recommended great restaurant (Havana). Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool area on the roof was very nice. Rooms need updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Havana, a Cuban restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3rd Honeymooners
Business
Sydney Australia
Sep 1, 2013

Good value

Would have been nice if the TV worked. Bed was hard but the location is excellent. WiFi kept cutting out and requiring login again - a real nuisance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to Florida
Business
Chicago
Jan 23, 2014

Great location in South beach

My only issue was that even after booking a room with 2 beds, we were given a room with 1 bed. We had to upgrade to a suite to get a room with 2 beds. Since it was hotel's fault, they should've given us complimentary upgrade but instead we had to pay $80/night extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 21, 2010

Good location

Overall our stay was ok. The location is great, but the hotel itself has seen better days. The room was pretty small and their were a lot of stains on the floor. Everything was probably clean but it looked kind of dirty because it was so old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stp, mn
Feb 18, 2010

Nice Hotel! but too expensive!!

The area was nice but there's no place to go eat some good cooking food, the only resturant close to it was way over price and over rated on there cooking. It was close to the beach but had a very small pool and odd looking too, i'll say 4ft wide and 20ft long and 4ft deep.. next time i rather stay at a less pricy hotel and get the same thing i got from here...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 19, 2010

Average Hotel for the High Price

Great location, everything else was mediocre given the high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica54
Business
Chicago
Dec 2, 2014

Not what we expected

Very dissatisfied with this hotel. Rooms need a renovation and beds were extremely uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top