$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
84 reviews
A wonderful gem

A had a great time. It's a beautiful gem in the heart of Art Deco a South Beach. See full review

  • Living38
  • Aug 25, 2014
Amazing experience

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of staying at this hotel. The location was fantastic (close to... See full review

  • Dave from the Burgh
  • Jun 27, 2014
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel of South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jan 31, 2010

Classy place friendly staff

Really liked this place. The staff very extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are classy and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 19, 2010

Average Hotel for the High Price

Great location, everything else was mediocre given the high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jan 9, 2010

We Would Stay Here Again

The location and friendliness of the hotel staff across the board made our stay just wonderful. The Hotel is a $32.00 cab ride from the Miami airport. The room was nice; the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, the TV was large, but there was no view at all and my husband said the noise kept him awake but I heard no noise and slept like a baby. The complimentary internet is wonderful and the bathroom amenities were really good. The closets are very small but there is plenty of drawer space. The air conditioning in our room blew directly onto the bed which bothered my husband but I liked it a lot. The News Cafe on the ground floor is open 24 hours and is a favorite gathering spot which we enjoyed a lot because you are always in the middle of activity. We stayed in the new building (there are 2 buildings of The Hotel; the older building is on Collins and faces away from the beach and the new building is on Ocean Drive) so to get to the pool and the fitness center we had to leave our building and walk the half block to the older building. We thought this would be a big hassle but it was not. This small inconvenience was worth the nicer room and the higher price to us. The rooftop pool area and fitness center are nice but the view is not all that great. Go early to the pool to get a lounge chair (you can reserve a chair just by putting a magazine or small personal item on it) or the bartender will reserve one for you. We arrived daily at around 10:00 and by noon all the chairs were filled. The pool is just a long shallow dip pool with a whirlpool area at one end, but it is heated and perfect for cooling off. Swimming is impossible. The bartender stays busy and food is delivered poolside. The fitness area is a small room overlooking the pool area with 2 treadmills, an eliptical and free weights. There were never more than 3 people in there at a time, so it was adequate for our needs. There is no locker room to speak of, just bathrooms and a shower room. We can't say enough good things about the staff. All of our requests were accommodated (usually quickly) and they were all friendly and helpful with reservations and suggestions for restaurants and shopping. They really made us feel at home. But really the number 1 great quality of this hotel is the location. The action really is nonstop between 5th and 15th streets and there you are at 8th; 1 block from Washington and all the clubs and restaurants, 8 blocks from Lincoln Road and all the great shopping, and really not more than 9 blocks from anywhere interesting. We walked from bay to ocean and from Lincoln to South Point Park with no problem. And the beach is directly out the front door of the hotel. Really, its the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining out is very expensive but the portions are HUGE. Share every dish you order.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm Vacation Lover
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 2, 2010

Endless perks

The Hotel was definitely worth the price! As a gold card member (sign up on their website) you receive endless goodies. 10% off, continental breakfast, other discounts. The problem that we did have was that the staff was relatively new, therefore we first received the worst of the worst room. I'm talking dungeon. After complaining and explaining that we booked far in advance, we received an upgrade. Otherwise, New Years weekend was spectacular. We were able to split up time between the pool and beach. Received great advice on where to eat and what to do. All in all, well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Great location, impeccable service

The Hotel at South Beach surpassed all my expectations. I have never experienced such friendly and helpful front desk and concierge service. We truly felt welcomed and everything was made so easy. We had a return flight late in the day and the front desk let us know that we could still use all their facilities after we checked out, which was great b/c it meant we could spend more time at the beach and still have a place to shower before getting on the plane. Our room wasn't huge, but we loved it and never felt cramped, and the design of the room was chic and practical. The location to the beach and surrounding nightlife is unbeatable, and the free use of umbrella and beach chairs was an added luxury. We're already starting to plan our trip back to Miami and The Hotel at South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Sep 2, 2009

A wonderful vacation

The hotel itself was great,but the staff made my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 23, 2009

Great service

Staff was friendly and helpful. Keep in mind most rooms do not have a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel reastrant is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruyere
Business
NYC
Aug 23, 2009

Excellent South Beach Experience

I went off-season in August, so that might make things different. The best part about this hotel is the rooftop pool. It isn't large, but it's large enough. You can see the ocean from the rooftop. And, they had free yoga class on Saturday morning. The drinks are good, but expensive. Staff is friendly. Location is perfect. Wish was a delightful restaurant, but very expensive. Another bonus is the free beach chairs and umbrella. The room was a little small and a little worn, but all in all in good shape. I highly recommend this hotel and would go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel, so don't feel like you have to eat every meal there. There's La Sandwicherie (YUM!!) and News Cafe near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agr8tguy
Business
atlanta,ga
Jun 28, 2009

hotel south beach

the hotel had a great location-close to everything.the thing that was missing for me was the towels were terrible. they were very hard to dry off and ruff. i know this is a little thing but it is important to me when paying what we did. its almost time to restart a remodeling process. the furniture was beginning to show it age as well as the carpet. however the staff was awesome-helpful and very friendly and he

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drdoughnut
Business
New York City
Jun 16, 2009

One of the best small hotel experiences

The only reason I randomly picked this hotel was because when I was planning my trip with my girlfriend, this was the only hotel that seemed to be loved by everybody who stayed there according to the reviews. The hotel was immaculate. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. They even got me the King size bed which I requested a month and a half prior to my arrival. The staff was friendly professional and courteous. But the location was absolutely perfect. One block away from the craziness of South Beach. And that one block provided the perfect buffer between the wildness of South Beach and the calmness of our little sweet hotel. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We took a beginner dance class at the Juca dance studios on Lincoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top