The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
View map of 801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

4.3/5

Overall score

91%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.778 -80.1322
Area served
South Beach, Miami FL
Nearby airports
(MIA)Miami International Airport (FFL)Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport
Area description
The Hotel is located just one block from the ocean in the heart of South Beach's Art Deco district at the corner of 8th Street and Collins Avenue. This is the center of the shopping, nightclub and restaurant action.

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHLady
Business
Boston
Mar 9, 2013

It was just good

Friendly staffs, nice roof top pool and bar.. The room was very comfortable and nice. The location of the hotel is pretty awesome, it s close to everything. The restaurant in the hotel is definitely overpriced, the food there is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarahe
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2013

Not bad

There were so many really nice things about this hotel. The staff were all really accommodating. The location was great. The bartender makes a great cocktail. The bed was very comfortable. The rooftop was relaxing with a nice view. However, there was a dump truck that woke us up like an alarm outside our window at 7am every morning. I told the front desk about it, and the response was, "oh yeah, we know about that. It wakes up that whole wing of the hotel". Ask for a room away from the garbage truck! Also, our toilet broke on our last day, and the front desk said they would call in maintenance, but never did. So for the last night we had to use the public restrooms in the restaurant! When I told the front desk maintenance had never come, they offered us coffee or orange juice, which was not much of a compensation if you ask me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Juvia on Lincoln Road for a fancy dinner or late night drinks - incredible view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Beach Visitor
Business
Charleston SC
Feb 19, 2013

Great long weekend getaway

Staff was very nice, responsive and the valet parking made everything easy. Conceirge seemed to have connections everywhere and steered us to great restaurants, and we enjoyed a very good meal in the hotel our first night. I would visit again but would recommend maybe 2nd floor or room on north side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the Concierge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and T
Business
Windsor, California
Feb 16, 2013

The Hotel in South Beach Miami

Actually, a very pleasant surprise. The roof top pool was outstanding. The staff was very professional and helpful. Nice workout room near the roof top pool. Close to the beach First rate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerengaged
Business
nyc,ny
Feb 11, 2013

Nice...but

Great staff, awesome location, great rooftop pool. Awful internet in room, really awful. Water pressure in shower below average. Frosted window made me feel like I was in in prison or something. Still really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
delmoda
Business
nj
Jan 22, 2013

great hotel

im glad we found this hotel. i have stayed at 20 hotels for the past 20 years in south beach. i will go back here always. great small hotel. the staff is the best. these people really care for you. anything you need, they are there. do not hesitate booking this hotel. the value is really good also. this hotel is better then $600 a night hotels i have stayed at in south beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

villa 221. this is the place to go. great staff. beautiful location. it is right over the bridge from south beach. $20 cab ride. well worth the ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario209papi
Business
stockton CA
Jan 6, 2013

birthday getaway

i loved the people working there... great location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean drive is like half a block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I need sun
Business
Boston
Dec 17, 2012

A sunshine getaway

I have stayed at this hotel before and will stay there again as soon as I can. The location is perfect, a block from the beach, yet quiet. The hotel staff is so helpful. I came from the cold grey Northeast. As soon as I arrived at the hotel I had lunch on the roof right by the pool. It was sunny and warm and delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 25 cent local bus one street over will take you to Lincoln Road Mall in 10 minutes. A great place to get a hair cut and color is McAllister's just outside of Lincoln Rd mall. The Art Deco tour is fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skigasp
Business
Europe
Nov 6, 2012

Great property just off ocean drive

stayed at the property for a week. the hotel is very nice and well decorated. they kept the art deco style and truly adapted it to modern days. The staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The location of the hotel is great and very convenient. The parking of the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie D.
Business
Boulder, Co
Oct 14, 2012

Modern,Spacious, Convenient.

We went for a work weekend and added on a few days to check out Miami and South Beach. We chose The Hotel of South Beach for it's close proximity to the beach and all of the shopping and restaurants that area has to offer. Our first night in room 222, which was very nice, was too loud. We were there for Caribbean Festival! Not on purpose!!!! Although it looked like alot of fun, we were there to work and get a good nights rest. We asked the front desk to please move us to a quieter room. They had no problem doing with our request. We totally scored on our new room! We were escorted to room 330 at The Hotel at 800. The sister property of the older hotel a block away. We were upstairs from The News Cafe, right on Ocean Drive. But it was really quiet. And Spacious and beautiful! The rest of our stay was quiet and right out our front door, accros the street was the beach. Request a room in this part of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinochio's cafe acros the street is a great little Italian spot for coffee and pannini's. Also, use the self parking only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top