$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
74 reviews
A great mix of everything Miami

I agonized over picking a hotel in Miami and I'm so glad I landed on The Hotel. Everything was... See full review

  • Sunburnt Max
  • Mar 25, 2014
Wonderful end to our honeymoon!

We stayed at The Hotel for 3 nights which included New Years Eve, the staff were extremely... See full review

  • Honeymooners December2013
  • Jan 7, 2014
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel of South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.778 -80.1322
Area served
South Beach, Miami FL
Nearby airports
(MIA)Miami International Airport (FFL)Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport
Area description
The Hotel is located just one block from the ocean in the heart of South Beach's Art Deco district at the corner of 8th Street and Collins Avenue. This is the center of the shopping, nightclub and restaurant action.

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
BobF61
Nutley, New Jersey
May 6, 2012

Average Experience

I stood in the older section of The Hotel while visiting Miami. The appearance of The Hotel is very nice. Attractive little lobby with Wish Restaurant positioned to the left of the reception area and also outside. The indoor section of Wish restaurant is very cute....very minimalist and attractive. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only, however I did not dine at Wish. No problem with cleanliness at all. Bed was firm but comfortable, and of course the location is exceptional with many restaurants, beach, retail shopping near by. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooftop pool with small bar and sun lounges in addition to a nice gym. The only problem was noise.....downgrading this property to a three stars. However, I am quite sure that noise is also a problem in any other of the small, historic hotels in the SoBe area, (as well as the newer ones for that matter). I tried sleeping the first night without any ear plugs. However, around 12:30 am, the sound of a wooden hanger crashing to the closet floor and banging directly against my wall on the way down was enough for me to change my mind. A word to the wise.....always.....always....always bring ear plugs to ANY hotel you plan to stay at, from 3-5 star. I know....you shouldn't have to.... but due to poor building construction and the inconsiderate nature of people...it is a necessity. I slept with the plugs in at night for the remainder of my stay but also noticed that you will hear: 1). The chugging sound of the AC and fridge. 2). Conversations of other guests in the hall and in the adjacent rooms. Some other reviewers noticed a 1" gap between the floor and the bottom of the door, which is true. But believe me, even without this gap, you would still hear hall noise. 3). Soft elevator ping. 4). Mild creaking of the floor above you. 5). Pedestrian and vehicular noise on Collins Ave. Other than the noise problem, which I expected, The Hotel was a very convenient, attractive property to stay. This is not a 4-5 star hotel. However it is a typical, small historic hotel in the SoBe area with both pros and cons. Bottom line......I have mixed feelings about this property......although not a "party hotel" I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd or if you are not too bothered by noise. However, if you are older, looking to relax and keep "regular hours" you may want to seek another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
Elle Roo
Maryland, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Couldn't Have Been Better

I took my boyfriend to South Beach for his birthday and our experience couldn't have been better at The Hotel. The room was perfect. Clean, comfortable, great location, and staff! We will definitely stay there every time we come back to South Beach!! The rooftop pool was amazing!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
Professor Goodtimes
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Nice, Friendly, and South Beach

Kind, attentive and helpful staff quickly checked us in and answered our questions. We we're in the pool within 20 minutes of checking in. It's clean. It's next to the beach in a safe friendly area. Lots of great shopping nearby. I was sad to leave and would definitely go back here again. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juvia. Cool rooftop restaurant with great Miami views.

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
abuelaernesta
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great experience

Very nice hotel. Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room, nice decor. The pool area is wonderful with a great view of the ocean. The bartenders at the pool bar make great drinks - best mojito! I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
Ritamogi
New York, NY, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Don't Judge a Book by its Cover

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much, but it was FABULOUS. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our bags with them after we had checked out, and used the pool for a bunch of hours. They also have a full shower and changing rooms in the pool area. Room was very comfortable and clean, bathroom was very nice, pool area was very relaxing. Pool is small, but it was totally fine because the hotel itself is small (bartender at the pool made delicious mojitos). Hotel has a GREAT location (short walk to beach, bars, restaurants, shopping, etc), and they have their own area on the beach where you can get free beach chairs from Boucher Brothers. Would ABSOLUTELY recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ghiradelli's on Lincoln Road :)

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
PickyNYC
New York, NY, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Quick Winter Getaway

We've stayed here before and always return. The staff is great and laid back. Note that Obitz has the wrong pictures up and the 'couture' room is just a little larger and with a king vs. queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join their 'gold card' program for extra perks.

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
Devonboss
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

A+

Elegant, close to everything, far enough away where you don't hear the pounding music till 5 AM Clean , safe, friendly, Art Deco just like the 30s when it was built but modern rooms and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinocchio's for cappuccino David's for Cuban food Pizza slices are 3x a regular slice

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Great location

Great location. Staff friendly and helpful. Nicely renovated historic hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, though somewhat noisy. This seems to be true of most older build ins that are renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
mnmtz
Detroit, MI
Sep 23, 2011

Perfect hotel/location

If you travel to south beach you know how small rooms are at an average 3 to 4 star hotel. Add to that paper thin walls and an uncomfortable bed and you'll never return there again. The Hotel of South Beach is the best deal, most comfortable bed, attentive staff, turndowns twice a day, beach chairs,...etc. You get the point. Don't waste your time and money anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
NBoyer
Cambridge, Massachusetts, États-Unis
Aug 21, 2011

Nice place to stay!!!

We went in Miami for the weekend. We wanted a nice, clean and convenient place. We got it. Nice and large room, original deco. Very close to the beaches and shops all around. Few blocks to restaurants, bars, clubs. We really appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top