$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Hotel of South Beach

4 stars
801 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Amazing experience

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of staying at this hotel. The location was fantastic (close to... See full review

  • Dave from the Burgh
  • Jun 27, 2014
Nice boutique hotel in heart of historic district!

This hotel has a great location at 8th St. and Collins Avenue. You can easily access the beach... See full review

  • MplsWahoo
  • May 13, 2014
In the heart of South Beach is a Todd Oldham designed hotel where high style meets history, featuring a spectacular roof top pool overlooking the ocean. This is a smoke-free hotel.

The Hotel of South Beach Rooms

Designer Deluxe
Distinctive Todd Oldham touches with custom-crafted furniture, soft satin-ribboned pillows, hand airbrushed tiles, tie-dyed robes, rain head showers and luxurious beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel of South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.778 -80.1322
Area served
South Beach, Miami FL
Nearby airports
(MIA)Miami International Airport (FFL)Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport
Area description
The Hotel is located just one block from the ocean in the heart of South Beach's Art Deco district at the corner of 8th Street and Collins Avenue. This is the center of the shopping, nightclub and restaurant action.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space is available.

Dining

Wish
Designed by fashion designer Todd Oldham the interior decor is both exotic and cozy. The tropical setting of the patio is perfect for al fresco dining.Breakfast and lunch served daily with light bites served each evening.Room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel of South Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TNT 2
Chicago
Jun 26, 2012

Great getaway

We had an amazing time even though it rained. The staff could not be any nicer. The location was perfect. We were in walking distance to everything. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone who ask:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMRice
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 14, 2012

great location, great design

Overall, this was a great experience. The location is ideal. The rooms are beautiful, clean and luxurious. Unfortunately, they messed up my reservation..but they got me in. Only, I was placed in a room directly over a 24 hour restaurant-WAY loud. The next day I asked to be moved, and then, everything was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

To save some cash and experience something a bit more local, get off the beaten path!!

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhina
North Carolina
Jun 13, 2012

wonderful

Wonderful staff and the hotel is very clean. The walk to the beach is short. Fantastic place I will return to this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee pk
Mexico
Jun 11, 2012

Perfect scape

We had a great time, the staff is so nice at the hotel, they're always worried that you are having a good time, location is excellent, just ia few steps away from the beach, licoln rd mall, Ocean drive... Definitely going back soon!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss dining at Sushi Samba

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kimm0927
staten island, ny
May 14, 2012

Amazingggg!

One of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed in. Great location, amazing service, the room was a tad small but nothing to complain about...would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to be in the heart of South Beach. Steps away from some of the greatest restaurants, shopping is right on the block of the hotel.. food is delicious, pool is quiet & perfect... nothing bad about this hotel, nothing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel T
Philadelphia, PA
May 9, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

The Hotel of South Beach was great! The location was perfect. The hotel is just a block walk to the beach and offers free chairs on the beach. The hotel room is clean, up-to-date, and roomy. The roof top pool is also a good perk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobF61
Nutley, New Jersey
May 6, 2012

Average Experience

I stood in the older section of The Hotel while visiting Miami. The appearance of The Hotel is very nice. Attractive little lobby with Wish Restaurant positioned to the left of the reception area and also outside. The indoor section of Wish restaurant is very cute....very minimalist and attractive. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only, however I did not dine at Wish. No problem with cleanliness at all. Bed was firm but comfortable, and of course the location is exceptional with many restaurants, beach, retail shopping near by. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooftop pool with small bar and sun lounges in addition to a nice gym. The only problem was noise.....downgrading this property to a three stars. However, I am quite sure that noise is also a problem in any other of the small, historic hotels in the SoBe area, (as well as the newer ones for that matter). I tried sleeping the first night without any ear plugs. However, around 12:30 am, the sound of a wooden hanger crashing to the closet floor and banging directly against my wall on the way down was enough for me to change my mind. A word to the wise.....always.....always....always bring ear plugs to ANY hotel you plan to stay at, from 3-5 star. I know....you shouldn't have to.... but due to poor building construction and the inconsiderate nature of people...it is a necessity. I slept with the plugs in at night for the remainder of my stay but also noticed that you will hear: 1). The chugging sound of the AC and fridge. 2). Conversations of other guests in the hall and in the adjacent rooms. Some other reviewers noticed a 1" gap between the floor and the bottom of the door, which is true. But believe me, even without this gap, you would still hear hall noise. 3). Soft elevator ping. 4). Mild creaking of the floor above you. 5). Pedestrian and vehicular noise on Collins Ave. Other than the noise problem, which I expected, The Hotel was a very convenient, attractive property to stay. This is not a 4-5 star hotel. However it is a typical, small historic hotel in the SoBe area with both pros and cons. Bottom line......I have mixed feelings about this property......although not a "party hotel" I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd or if you are not too bothered by noise. However, if you are older, looking to relax and keep "regular hours" you may want to seek another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle Roo
Maryland, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Couldn't Have Been Better

I took my boyfriend to South Beach for his birthday and our experience couldn't have been better at The Hotel. The room was perfect. Clean, comfortable, great location, and staff! We will definitely stay there every time we come back to South Beach!! The rooftop pool was amazing!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Goodtimes
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Nice, Friendly, and South Beach

Kind, attentive and helpful staff quickly checked us in and answered our questions. We we're in the pool within 20 minutes of checking in. It's clean. It's next to the beach in a safe friendly area. Lots of great shopping nearby. I was sad to leave and would definitely go back here again. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juvia. Cool rooftop restaurant with great Miami views.

Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abuelaernesta
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great experience

Very nice hotel. Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room, nice decor. The pool area is wonderful with a great view of the ocean. The bartenders at the pool bar make great drinks - best mojito! I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top