$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

4 stars
1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
42 reviews
Good Location

Good location, excellent staff, good breakfast, excellent happy hour. Would book again See full review

  • Doreen
  • Dec 24, 2014
A Definite Gem on Ocean Drive

We happened upon this hotel by chance. We got a sweet deal on a suite and quickly cancelled our... See full review

  • KLCMorgan
  • Nov 27, 2014
Enjoy your stay inside one of the Edgewater Hotel`s studios providing modern furnishings accented with dark mahogany accents. Lounge in one of the cozy armchairs or lay back and relax as you watch premium cable from your plush queen sized bedding.
Complete with marble and granite counter tops accented with the contemporary appliances in the fully equipped kitchenettes, you can choose to stay in for the night or fix yourself a midnight snack. Find sanctuary and peace of mind up on the roof.
Sitting just above the sights of South Beach, you can relax in the comfortable seating of the roof top lounge with spectacular views of the ocean and the magic that is South Beach Miami.

Indulge your senses with what the Edgewater South Beach Hotel has in store. From the posh amenities and luxurious services to the exhilarating experiences, your South Beach Miami vacation is sure to enlighten you to a whole new lifestyle. Take in the mouth watering fragrances of the surrounding cafes, bistros, and restaurants. From Cuban cuisine, to intriguing Italian pastas, right down to the All-American Hotdog, anything your taste buds want to taste is at your beckoning call. Stay right on Ocean Drive, steps to some of the World`s most beautiful beaches, where people are always coming and going, dancing, or soaking up the amazing Florida sunshine on the sugar sand beach.

Our SPOIL ME PLAN is available for $18 per night and includes:
Our Early Evening Happy Hour on the Rooftop Terrace overlooking Ocean Drive will welcome you to the hotel at the beginning of your stay and provide a great transition from day to night during your time at Edgewater South Beach. Hosted by our General Manager from 5:30pm - 6:30pm, the happy hour features wine tastings, beer and refreshments, as well as cheese or other appetizers. Selections vary, but we promise to keep your palate entertained. The perfect start to a day on Miami Beach, our Continental Breakfast includes coffee, tea, croissants and bagels, cream cheese, marmalade, juice and fruit.
The Spoil Me Plan also includes:
Beach chairs & towels for the complete oceanfront hotel experience
High-speed wireless internet access in guest rooms and common areas
In-room safe access and Daily newspaper.
Pets allowed (20 lbs) - $100 non-refundable cleaning fee. Valet parking available for $35.00 per day tax included.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Edgewater South Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Edgewater South Beach Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - STUDIO
Fully equipped kitchen, sitting area, mini bar, safe, telephone, air conditioning, flat screen cable TV
STANDARD - SUITE
mini bar, save, telephone, flat screen cable TV, hardwood parquet floors, fully equipped kitchen, DVD players.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christopher Scott
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Jan 8, 2013

Poor service and hidden "resort fees"

Background...I stayed at this hotel for the first night of my honeymoon before leaving for a cruise the next day. I paid for a king deluxe suite with an ocean view, and I was originally given a small queen room with an ocean view as well as a beautiful view of the stairs (sarcasm). The AC was blowing in the middle of December. It took talking to multiple employees and finally a manager to get switched to the correct room with a working thermostat. The price of the room also does not include the $18 "resort fee" that is automatically charged for using a few beach chairs for a couple of hours. The place is really cool, but the service and pricing information was poor at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great local sandwich shop around the corner from the hotel. It made for a wonderful picnic on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wash DC Traveler
Business
Washington, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Dissapointed

My wife and I stayed here prior to a cruise. While we really liked the location we we really dissapointed with everything else. Themandatory activitiy/resort fee gave us the distinct privilige to carry beach chairs to the beach. The evening happy hour consisted of cheap wine and beer up on a very windy terrace with no view. Theffree breakfast is strictly continental on the same windy terrace with no view. Our room while spacious was also dissapointing, the bathroom was infested with roaches we didn't inquire about another room because we saw it on the last night of our two night stay. All in all we were dissapointed (there's that word again) with our entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The lobster roll at Sushi Siam is crazy good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trogo
Business
Cary, NC, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Average South Beach

Staff was very nice. We apparently missed the happy hour. Room was clean, bed small, view of a building rooftop. I don't feel I got much for the $18 "resort" fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

overpriced food along the beachfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NBQOTN
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2012

Great location but definitely not 4 stars

Staff are friendly and it's a perfect location. However, there was an ongoing loud noise by our room window, working on a signage or lighting. Floor tiles were installed up in the roof where breakfast was served. Towels and linen that were kept in the room had holes and worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K. Jakaitis
Business
Germantown, Maryland
Feb 15, 2013

Good hotel for price

The location of the hotel is fantastic! The staff were very nice. They were full of suggestions when asked about places to go. The rooftop had awesome views of the ocean and it was a great place to have breakfast and happy hour. The showers in the bathroom are a little quirky, but had everything one would need to get ready. For the price this hotel is definitely worth considering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Consider eating at restaurants off Ocean drive. There are some really great places the locals go to that are much more budget friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelle the traveller
Business
Bergen County, NJ
Mar 25, 2011

Nice Hotel, Not a Resort AT ALL

This place calls itself a resort, which it definitely is not. Although all resorts have a fee, they usually include the services they say on the web site. This resort fee was steep, and the web site claims it offers free bottled water, daily newspaper, a safe (which by the way is not attached to anything and can easily be picked up and stolen) among other things. These were not offered and when I asked, I was told bottled water was $3 and that they were not implementing the newspaper yet. That is what I call false advertisement. And for a resort to not even provide bathrobes is beyond me. I feel like the staff severely judged us. We are a young couple, but I travel A LOT. So when we checked in after 4pm, and the room was not ready (although they allowed us to enter the room), when I complained, I basically got a shrug. The room was frankly dirty. Dusty side tables, glass stains on the side tables, floor was covered with tag pieces from someone cutting tags off their clothes, no towels, and no toilet paper holder. I do not feel at a resort I should have to reach around the toilet for toilet paper. I had to ask 3 times before one was finally installed (you would think maid service would have noticed). The room itself is beautiful and spacious, with a useful kitchenette (perfect for eating leftovers, which we did twice on the gorgeous rooftop). Unfortunately, we discovered leftover food from previous guests which explained why we had bugs in our room. So while the hotel is pretty and in the perfect location, they definitely need to remember basic amenities and cleaning practices. If they are going to offer a kitchenette, then make sure to check all cabinets for food and such. Also, their customer service is okay. I went to the front desk for a fork, and two hours later I got one (but I did not want lunch at 3pm). I ended up tracking down a very nice maid and she gave me one. Also, the $18 daily fee also goes towards a breakfast and happy hour. Again, look to the web site. The breakfast consists on croissants, white bread, jam, and oj. It starts at 8:30, and if you go up much later, they run out of food and that is all. Also, it's South Beach, how about some nice fruit or yogurt? Heavy croissant then go to the beach? Not good. The happy hour was better, but the site says cocktails and small food like cheese. It's Heineken, wine, and peanuts. This "resort" really cannot promise such amenities on their site and then not do such things at the hotel. Also, their chair service is lame as well as they run out of chairs and again you are paying for something you do not receive. Overall, this hotel has much potential but needs to set itself straight. It is a hotel, not a resort at all, and basics need to be provided. Maid service needs to be perfected, and if a customer complains, no matter her age, they should respect it and honor it. We were also charged the resort fee for the day we checked in at 4pm, and we clearly did not use the sub par amenities that day. Overall, this hotel needs an overhaul to be a resort. The perfect location may bring me near this place again, although I am not sure I would stay here (even with a gorgeous rooftop).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oioi
Business
pittsburgh
Oct 25, 2011

great!

it was really good except the fact that they don't offer room service yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David1234567
Business
New Jersey
Nov 22, 2011

Great once again

This was our second stay at the Edgewater South Beach. Our first stay was great but the second stay was even better. The rooms are very clean and the location is PERFECT. Staff was great, polite and courteous. Keep it up! Pros: Clean, new, happy hour, polite staff, good sized rooms, awesome location, affordable Cons: my only con is that the shower glass allows water to get the floor wet. Why not just put a door? Really no other reason to look for another place in South Beach when we return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Front porch cafe is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Perfect location

Perfect location and a reasonably good service. The parking fee of $30 per day is slight overkill, but you should be able to use other cheaper parking lots nearby if you do not plan to drive your car too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Edgewater South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADRAED
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

NICE STAY OVERALL

EXCEPT FOR THE LOSING OUR RESERVATION TEMPORARILY (WHICH I CAN'T SAY WAS THE FAULT OF THE STAFF) AND WAITING 30 MINUTES FOR VALET TO BRING OUR CAR AND A MATTRESS THAT WAS A BIT UNCOMFORTABLE FOR ME, THE ROOM AND THE STAFF WERE GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top