$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
122 reviews
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for... See full review

  • Caitlin23
  • Mar 31, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Hotel Map

25.7868 -80.1321
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on the vibrant Espaola Way of Miami Beach, Florida, the Clay Hotel brings a rich tradition of hospitality and history to this unforgettable part of South Beach. Known to many as "an oasis on South Beach", our hotel is in the heart of the famous Art Deco district and just two blocks from the oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 122
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlnewaddress
Torreon, Coahuila, Mexico
Jul 13, 2014

Great location, helpful staff!

The hotel's location is awesome, right in the middle of all the action! Everything is close by! The staff is attentive and helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The downside is that, since the hotel is in the middle of everything it can get a little nosiy at night from all the partying, but hey...That's why one goes to Miami in the first place, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovetotraveltheworld
Vancouver
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic stay, great location, & clean room.

Had a lovely stay at this historical but recently renovated hotel in Espanola Way. A few blocks from Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive, & 2 blocks from the beach. There are two buildings, I stayed in the second one down the street from the reception main building. Renos are still being made in the stairs & hallways but it wasn't bothersome. I didn't hear much noise from other rooms or the nightlife outside. The room was good for 2 people, with a flat screen tv, fridge, drawer, & hangers. Safe will accommodate the width of a laptop. I would return to this hotel the next time I visit. There are a lot of food options & CVS is a few blocks away. I was able to check in to my room b/c there was one available & request a later checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charlotte Bakery on Washington Ave was my fav place for breakfast. Latin American pastries & food for a reasonable price.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clayq
Melbourne, Australia
Feb 16, 2014

Great base for exploring South Beach

The hotel itself is quite basic (converted hostel), but the location can't be beat and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It has all the necessities needed to explore South Beach, I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Bum Diva
Dallas. TX
Sep 16, 2013

Sneak away to the best of both worlds!

I absolutely luv'd my stay here! My window opened to Espanola Way so I was privileged to the relaxing music of the Italian restaurant right below me. & I was only 2 blocks from the beach...perfection!!! The staff was great...huge shout out Axel & Juan! I'm most definitely returning to The Clay Hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Wet Willie's as often as you can!

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
basell231
Jersey
Aug 12, 2013

stay

the room was okay but the hallways need work in that place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in front of hotel

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EDDIE J.
PORTSMOUTH,VA
Aug 12, 2013

"Great Stay"

Great location and great price for staying on South Beach. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. I'd definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vanvan
NY
Jul 16, 2013

Not 2 blocks from the beach

It is a newly renovated room, so there is no issue with cleanliness. Although described as 2 blocks from the beach, I was assigned a room in the 500s, which is all the way at the back, more than a block away. Although I appreciated the quiet, it was a long walk, and 2 flights of stairs up to get to the room! If you are not a South Beach party lover, I recommend hotels further up north - they are cheaper, come with free parking, and you will get much better value. The staff at the door was rude - he saw me struggling with my bag, and did not even offer to hold the door for me - just looked away?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler1
New Haven, CT
Jun 25, 2013

DON'T DO IT!

This is more of a motel than a hotel. I did not appreciate the tiny room with barely anything in it. The closet was a hole in the wall with a metal bar. The safe was jutting out the wall. a mini fridge on the floor was all they provided and to make it worse, I seen a roach in the morning! It was one night and I highly regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charleneeee
jersey
Jun 18, 2013

Budget hotel room, great location

Stayed at The Clay for 1 night. Budget priced on Espanola Way, walkable to beach, and South Beach. Friendly & polite desk staff. They were able to store our luggage in a locked room with a numbered tag. We had room 517, which was in a building 1 block down Espanola Way. Key card used to access the gate. Note there are no elevators or staff to help with your luggage, so expect to drag your luggage up the flights of stairs yourself. The room itself...is really basic. Full size older mattress, mini fridge, clean but outdated bathroom, newer air conditioning unit but it leaked water. Carpet was old, green, and smelly. If you need one night stay, it was a decent budget choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants on this block. Italian, spanish, mexican, portuguese, bubble tea, drinks. Dining on Ocean Drive is a short walk away and can get great deals like $10 lunch.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lilianita
Bogotá
Mar 10, 2013

Above average in many things that make a fun stay

I have not a single complain. It was nice, the staff was very kind in helping to solve what needed, beautiful área of Southbeach, the room was ok, the neighborhood very nice and a lot of convenient things such as supermarket and beach nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach so nice and near, nice restaurants, nice walking around

Back to menu Return to top

Change search