$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
86 reviews
Short Weekend

Older hotel, but rooms were nicely updated. Marble bathroom and new carpet. See full review

  • joem439
  • Mar 18, 2015
Perfect for true SoBe Experience

Staff was super friendly and helpful showing us to our room. The room was confusing to get to but a... See full review

  • Happy camper 333
  • Feb 24, 2015
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 86
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Travelor
Business
Seattle
Jan 9, 2015

Unique and awesome place

The hotel was broken up and confusing with lack of staff to help direct, there was also remodeling in our building which looked half done with carpet ripped up in spots throughout the building, if they did a section at a time it would have looked less trashy. But the room was fantastic, perfectly laid out, amazing modern and unique fixtures, quiet, clean, really enjoyed the stay a lot, the location was perfect alongside my favorite Cuban restaurant in south beach, was an amazing get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing cuban spot across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJimena
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 21, 2014

Family getaway

Awesome location! 5 minute walk from beach. And American apparel store right across :-) definitely coming back! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aiibaba
Business
Brooklyn,n.y.
Nov 10, 2014

Great one night stay...

This place is in a great location...waking distance to everything...the valet packing is the best...don't try to look for parking elsewhere...the street is closed for the night and lots of restaurants to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at this haitian restaurant name tap tap..great local spot..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ITorres
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 10, 2014

Great location! Small room.

We loved the location, right in Espanola Way! We loved the kitchenette. We were able to cook a nice meal one evening. Staff did not clean room very well. The room was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAG EA
Business
virginia
Jan 19, 2014

Never, ever again!!

Do not waste your money by staying at this awful hotel. Room was in terrible condition. Dust, dirt, bugs, spiders, etc were all around the room and since Miami was going through one of its coldest moments, we could not heat up the room and had to wear our coats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lorraine A
Business
East Brunswick NJ
Aug 16, 2013

Great location musty rooms

This hotel is in a great location but we were "upgraded" to two queen bed rooms instead of one room with two queens which was ok since the kids are adults now except that the rooms were musty and very small. We had been sent 1/2 block down to their "other building" which was more than a block down the side street. One room was very musty and we asked to be moved. The two corner rooms we ended up in were nicer but we had moldy carpet outside our bathroom door because water leaks from the shower out the door. The staff solves the problem by putting a towel on the floor over the musty wet carpet. The closet area is open and you walk into it as you enter the room. The furniture is beat up. They are renovating but this old hotel needs more work than what they appear to be putting into the rooms. The hotel is ok for a night or two but I wouldn't recommend it for a week. The price is great for the area and it is a great location but the rooms need work. Also no elevator - you have to hike up the open air steps with your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilo Perez
Business
Athens Greece
Jun 23, 2013

Room Smelled horribly

Apparently they never air the room and it had a very strong humidity smell. I am concerned about possible fungus contamination. Pitty. The management of the facility ismvery poor...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think the name was Maiko sushi. Very nice and affordable sushi. Service was very good and friendly as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top