$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Family getaway

Awesome location! 5 minute walk from beach. And American apparel store right across :-) definitely... See full review

  • DJimena
  • Nov 21, 2014
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachlover
Business
Staten Island, New York
Jan 14, 2013

barely acceptable

everything old and grungy. retro doesn't have to be uncomfortable. switched to the Chesterfield the next day. So glad I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilo Perez
Business
Athens Greece
Jun 23, 2013

Room Smelled horribly

Apparently they never air the room and it had a very strong humidity smell. I am concerned about possible fungus contamination. Pitty. The management of the facility ismvery poor...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think the name was Maiko sushi. Very nice and affordable sushi. Service was very good and friendly as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler1
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 25, 2013

DON'T DO IT!

This is more of a motel than a hotel. I did not appreciate the tiny room with barely anything in it. The closet was a hole in the wall with a metal bar. The safe was jutting out the wall. a mini fridge on the floor was all they provided and to make it worse, I seen a roach in the morning! It was one night and I highly regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ravenator
Business
baltimore
Oct 8, 2013

not good

very limited hot water, tv screwed up, dirty and moldy, very unpleasant experience. live and learn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taleda
Business
Bronx
Nov 6, 2013

Nothing Special

Where to start off the rooms are tiny. The first room that was given to me smell like a dirty basement so I ask them to change my room. The hallway was under construction so there was dust all over the place. Second things you need to know is that you have to walk about three blocks to get to your room because they have separate building with a lot of stairs. Third thing you don't see staff the whole time your there. And if you do see them they don't even say good morning. There nothing special about this place. It feels like you rented a tiny room for a few days. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitalija
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 7, 2013

dont go there

We arrived after 5 pm,hotel checkin in from 3 pm.The staff has bad communication. First we were given one room, while we got our luggage they said that room was not ready. Then they found another "clean" room. We were sent into uncleaned room and had to wait in the room while hotel stuff was cleaning the room! Housekeeping didnt speak English. After all this no apologies, nothing. Towels had horrible bleach smell. There was roach lying on the stairs.Parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAG EA
Business
virginia
Jan 19, 2014

Never, ever again!!

Do not waste your money by staying at this awful hotel. Room was in terrible condition. Dust, dirt, bugs, spiders, etc were all around the room and since Miami was going through one of its coldest moments, we could not heat up the room and had to wear our coats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcin1075
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!

The worst hotel we have ever stayed at !! Lights hanging from the walls with exposed wires, ac quit working and notified front desk and was never repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FordST
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel

Very loud construction beginning at 8:20 AM, both Friday and Saturday mornings. We were spared the noise on Sunday. This is a very old hotel. Hallway floors are not straight, so bad that you must watch your step when walking to your room. The bathroom floor in our room had a deep "sinkhole" under the mat. An entire foot could fit inside this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gramps and Grams
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

Good Location - Poor Hotel

We selected this hotel because it is 2 blocks from the beach and Lincoln Ave, and reviews were not bad. Let me enlighten others. This place is a dump. No rooms on ground level, no elevators, creaky stairs, floors with soft spots you feel like you'll fall thru, and the room had a bed, bath, fridge, microwave, and night stand - no chair, table, dresser, etc. Probably a great place for spring break kids wanting to party, but for a couple of family a must avoid tag should be on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Food, shopping, music, clubs, beach everything within a block of two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top