$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
86 reviews
Short Weekend

Older hotel, but rooms were nicely updated. Marble bathroom and new carpet. See full review

  • joem439
  • Mar 18, 2015
Perfect for true SoBe Experience

Staff was super friendly and helpful showing us to our room. The room was confusing to get to but a... See full review

  • Happy camper 333
  • Feb 24, 2015
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roserao
Business
China nanjing
Dec 9, 2012

Very nice hotel with good location !

Hotel is quite close to the beach and shopping center, romantic environment !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gman111
Business
Queens,NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Stay

Village feel. Every site is accessible great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruz
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Great place for a quick lovey get away!,

Hotel is a wonderful place to relax and lay back near everything and EZ on the pocket's love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure u take picture enjoy "

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin23
Business
Sarasota
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for one night because we had tickets to a show at Mansion. This hotel was walking distance we never had to get a cab!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Miami Traveler
Business
Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen beds.The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. It was split into rooms and the bathroom in-between. It was really nice and in a good location. The only bad thing is that you have to pay by the minute to use the computer and printer, so if you fly you need to get to the airport in time to print your boarding passes. The ladies I travel with and myself all said that we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is really close to Ocean Drive, Lincoln and a lot of other restaurants. There is also a Mexican restaurant below the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJimena
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 21, 2014

Family getaway

Awesome location! 5 minute walk from beach. And American apparel store right across :-) definitely coming back! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy camper 333
Business
St. Louis
Feb 24, 2015

Perfect for true SoBe Experience

Staff was super friendly and helpful showing us to our room. The room was confusing to get to but a staff member stopped what they were doing and with out a problem walked us up. I honestly have not had a good experience with hotel staff in a longgggg time. Breakfast was good as well packaged so you could take back up to hotel, nap more, then eat. Only negative was the loud music. I can sleep through a lot of things though so if you are a light sleeper I would recommend not even staying on SoBe unless you stay further down the boring side of the strip. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joem439
Business
Bethel Park
Mar 18, 2015

Short Weekend

Older hotel, but rooms were nicely updated. Marble bathroom and new carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MISHI84
Business
ONTARIO , CALIFORNIA
Sep 26, 2012

GREAT LOCATON FUNKY SMELL

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION .... GREAT PLACE TWO BLOCKS AWAY FROM THE BEACH ... NEXT TO MANY SHOPS ALL WALKING DISTANCE. WE CHECKED IN NO PROBLEM GAVE US THE KEY TO ARE ROOM WE HAD TO CARRY ARE BAGS UP, NO ELEVATOR . GOT TO ARE ROOM LOOKED NICE BUT FUNKY MOLD SMELL. HAD TO GO TO CVS AND BUY SOME CANDELS FOR THE ROOM. BESIDES THAT EVERYTHING WAS GOOD.. CLEAN ROOM EVERYDAY NEW TOWELS AS WELL. FLAT SCREEN TV WITH CABLE CHANNELS . BATHROOM WAS KIND OLD BUT DID ITS JOB . I BRING A GAINT BOTTLE OF LYSOL TO ANY HOTEL AND SPRAYED THAT SUCKER DOWN JUST FOR THE HECK OF IT . ARE ROOM WAS ON THE CORNER STREET WITH TWO PATIOS . IF YOUR A LIGHT SLEEPER IT WILL BE HARD TO SLEEP THER ARE MANY PLACES AROUND THAT AREA THAT PLAY MUSIC UNTIL 4 AM . SO I GUESS IT DEPENDS ON THE PERSON... ALSO HAD TO PAY 19 BUCKS A DAY FOR PARKING BUT THATS ANYWHERE U GO IN SOUTHBEACH . OVERALL I LIKED MY STAY AND WILL COME BACK FOR SURE... .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH RIGHT DOWN THE STREET .... ALSO WHEN YOU GO OUT AND DRINK MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR THE PRICE OF THE DRINK THEY GOT US FOR A 75.00 ONE DRINK ....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steveb1081
Business
ma
Nov 1, 2012

great price and location

everything was great except mattresses very hard.great location to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

mangos great place to hang out late nite

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top