$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charleneeee
Single
jersey
Jun 18, 2013

Budget hotel room, great location

Stayed at The Clay for 1 night. Budget priced on Espanola Way, walkable to beach, and South Beach. Friendly & polite desk staff. They were able to store our luggage in a locked room with a numbered tag. We had room 517, which was in a building 1 block down Espanola Way. Key card used to access the gate. Note there are no elevators or staff to help with your luggage, so expect to drag your luggage up the flights of stairs yourself. The room itself...is really basic. Full size older mattress, mini fridge, clean but outdated bathroom, newer air conditioning unit but it leaked water. Carpet was old, green, and smelly. If you need one night stay, it was a decent budget choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants on this block. Italian, spanish, mexican, portuguese, bubble tea, drinks. Dining on Ocean Drive is a short walk away and can get great deals like $10 lunch.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
student for life forever
Couples
Detroit, Michiagn
Jun 13, 2013

Perfect location for perfect price

The Clay Hotel is the perfect location for staying on south beach. We were a 2 minute walk from the beautiful beach, but far away enough from the party scene to be able to get a great nights sleep. You really can't beat the price. The hotel staff were decently friendly and all of our requests were taken care of. The room was small, but we only used it to sleep in so it didn't matter. Overall, an excellent hotel for a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 13, 2013

Average Nights Stay

Staff were nice but the hotel is in need of some upgrades. It met our needs as just place to crash. Check-in was easy, with a reasonable fee for parking. Our room was in the second building across a pedestrian street through a key-card gate and on ascent of the stairs you cannot miss the crudely boarded-up window. Our room was to be expected but seemed to need a vacuum and a good dusting as evidenced by retrieving our backpack from the nightstand covered in dust bunnies. The location was good but our mini-balcony door did not close properly allowing some street noise to rouse us quite early. I would not recommend this hotel to others in its present state.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, walk the extra block to Collins Ave. The restaurants and options are far better.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 9, 2013

An Average Nights Stay

The hotel could use some cosmetic upgrades all around. It met our needs as a place to crash after a night out but not the type of hotel to enjoy vast amenities. Check-in and valet were easy. The cost for the hotel and the parking fee are about average but the staff was friendly. The hotel is separated into two parts and accessing our room required us to cross a pedestrian street and enter the gate with our keycard. On our way to the room, the stairway hall had a crudely boarded-up window. The photos provided are clearly not representative of our tiny room and our room was slightly below average in cleanliness, as evidenced by leaving a backpack under the nightstand and pulling it out later covered with dust bunnies. It met our needs but will spend a little more for a better hotel experience in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk east to Collins Ave. if you're grabbing a quick bite to eat for breakfast. The options are MUCH more appealing.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just going places
Couples
Omaha, Nebraska
Jun 9, 2013

Nice for one night stopover

Needed a place to stay prior to getting on board a cruise. Decent location and nice place for the price, only complaint, did not have enough hot water for my shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is a short walk to the east.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daejr88
Friends
kenner louisiana
Jun 2, 2013

the clay

it was the best. nice and comfortable. we weren't in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CeeEeeTee
Friends
Brooklyn, NY
May 28, 2013

Great Stay

The front desk worker was really nice and helpful! The hotel was clean and nice. The set up was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youngbabs
Couples
Pittsburgh
May 23, 2013

3 stars BUT great value!

I'm giving 3 stars just because we all know what 4 and 5 star hotels are like. For the price this is perfect. It's on the absolute cutest street (espanola way) and my boyfriend and I stayed for 6 days and we were on the most noisy part of the street but from our room could barely hear it. It's not perfect and the building is older but has such charm that you don't notice. If this is what you are looking to pay, I recommend this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat on espanola way BUT go into Miami for your real authentic food. South beach food sucks.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjs travels
Couples
atlanta
May 15, 2013

simple hotel, great location

the hotel is conveniently located in south beach with easy access to the beach, restaurants, and night life. valet was friendly and car was pulled up near instantly each time we needed it room was average for the price in this area, but the location was great. i'd stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr blah blah blah
Couples
Tallahassee, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Nice Location

Nice Location. Plenty of restaurants right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top