$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
74 reviews
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for... See full review

  • Caitlin23
  • Mar 31, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Hotel Map

25.7868 -80.1321
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on the vibrant Espaola Way of Miami Beach, Florida, the Clay Hotel brings a rich tradition of hospitality and history to this unforgettable part of South Beach. Known to many as "an oasis on South Beach", our hotel is in the heart of the famous Art Deco district and just two blocks from the oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lilianita
Business
Bogotá
Mar 10, 2013

Above average in many things that make a fun stay

I have not a single complain. It was nice, the staff was very kind in helping to solve what needed, beautiful área of Southbeach, the room was ok, the neighborhood very nice and a lot of convenient things such as supermarket and beach nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach so nice and near, nice restaurants, nice walking around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on island time
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 7, 2013

one night stay

Accommodations were perfectly satisfactory. No problems of any kind. The staff was very professional, helpful, and generally easy to talk to. They gave concise, accurate, and useful answers to all questions we had. Location is convenient to Espanola Way, Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue, Ocean Ave, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tile lady
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 30, 2013

Great vibe, fantastic location!

Really had a nice stay- exactly what I was looking for. It's fairly basic, but clean and quaint. Loved the arched doorways and old wood floors in the hallways. My room was off Espanola Way, so it was quiet in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boundfor70
Business
bethesda, maryland
Jan 21, 2013

best location

The hotel location is very good, near south beach and Lincoln rd. In addition, very reasonable price and staff are kind and friendly. I do not remember other things, however, I will stay here again in case I will visit miami beach in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachlover
Business
Staten Island, New York
Jan 14, 2013

barely acceptable

everything old and grungy. retro doesn't have to be uncomfortable. switched to the Chesterfield the next day. So glad I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gman111
Business
Queens,NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Stay

Village feel. Every site is accessible great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roserao
Business
China nanjing
Dec 9, 2012

Very nice hotel with good location !

Hotel is quite close to the beach and shopping center, romantic environment !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Italianbabe
Business
Miami
Nov 16, 2012

A nice little hotel

Staff & location perfect. Room ok no frills & some days hot water, some days cold to warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steveb1081
Business
ma
Nov 1, 2012

great price and location

everything was great except mattresses very hard.great location to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

mangos great place to hang out late nite

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Party boi
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 30, 2012

Great location ... Small room

My initial contact with the staff at The Clay was excellent. The staff is probably one of the most the friendly I've encountered. The room was extremely small, but fine for me since I was staying there by myself. I had the standard room with one queen bed. Speaking of the bed, I felt like I was sleeping on the floor. It was hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom was nice and looked like it had recently been updated. I went to South Beach to lounge on the beach and party so I'm not real picky about rooms. This room served its purpose and was decent. The location is excellent, walking distance to the beach, shops and great resturants. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to beach, shops and night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top