$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
84 reviews
Perfect for true SoBe Experience

Staff was super friendly and helpful showing us to our room. The room was confusing to get to but a... See full review

  • Happy camper 333
  • Feb 24, 2015
Family getaway

Awesome location! 5 minute walk from beach. And American apparel store right across :-) definitely... See full review

  • DJimena
  • Nov 21, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
basell231
Business
Jersey
Aug 12, 2013

stay

the room was okay but the hallways need work in that place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in front of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EDDIE J.
Business
PORTSMOUTH,VA
Aug 12, 2013

"Great Stay"

Great location and great price for staying on South Beach. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. I'd definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vanvan
Business
NY
Jul 16, 2013

Not 2 blocks from the beach

It is a newly renovated room, so there is no issue with cleanliness. Although described as 2 blocks from the beach, I was assigned a room in the 500s, which is all the way at the back, more than a block away. Although I appreciated the quiet, it was a long walk, and 2 flights of stairs up to get to the room! If you are not a South Beach party lover, I recommend hotels further up north - they are cheaper, come with free parking, and you will get much better value. The staff at the door was rude - he saw me struggling with my bag, and did not even offer to hold the door for me - just looked away?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khloe Rose
Business
Chicago
Jul 10, 2013

Friend's Getaway

Great location, two blocks away from the beach! We were at the Espanola Way location but still didn't mind it. Pretty clean room. Only thing I didn't like was that there weren't any elevators so we had to drag our luggage up to flights of stairs. overall however I would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don'tWorryBeHappy
Business
New York, NY
Jul 2, 2013

Weekend trip

Hotel location was great. Along Espanola way, near Lincoln Road, and a short walk to the tip of Lummus beach- an area of the beach which wasn't too crowded with people. The pictures of the rooms on their website is deceiving. Clay Hotel has 3 buildings and the building I stayed was probably once a hostel. It was a small square room with a tv, mini fridge, and bathroom. So it did serve it's purpose since we didn't stay in the hotel often. It just was not what I expected from what I saw on the website. The room and hallway was old looking with old furniture and it was semi-clean but could have been better. The building has 2 floors- so there wasn't an elevator. Our stay wasn't unpleasant- since we only slept there and it was a short trip. The location of the hotel was great. Close to the bars and lounges but away from the rowdiness of Ocean Dr. If you are not picky with hotel rooms Clay Hotel is worth a try if you are on a budget and the price is right. Don't expect anything spectacular, especially if you end up in building #2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler1
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 25, 2013

DON'T DO IT!

This is more of a motel than a hotel. I did not appreciate the tiny room with barely anything in it. The closet was a hole in the wall with a metal bar. The safe was jutting out the wall. a mini fridge on the floor was all they provided and to make it worse, I seen a roach in the morning! It was one night and I highly regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Khloe Rose
Business
Chicago
Jun 25, 2013

Great Location, Great Price

Great price, Awesome location. Right in the middle of South Beach. Room was small but clean. Only problem was no elevator. Had to carry luggage all the way up the stairs. Besides that, I'd definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilo Perez
Business
Athens Greece
Jun 23, 2013

Room Smelled horribly

Apparently they never air the room and it had a very strong humidity smell. I am concerned about possible fungus contamination. Pitty. The management of the facility ismvery poor...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think the name was Maiko sushi. Very nice and affordable sushi. Service was very good and friendly as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charleneeee
Business
jersey
Jun 18, 2013

Budget hotel room, great location

Stayed at The Clay for 1 night. Budget priced on Espanola Way, walkable to beach, and South Beach. Friendly & polite desk staff. They were able to store our luggage in a locked room with a numbered tag. We had room 517, which was in a building 1 block down Espanola Way. Key card used to access the gate. Note there are no elevators or staff to help with your luggage, so expect to drag your luggage up the flights of stairs yourself. The room itself...is really basic. Full size older mattress, mini fridge, clean but outdated bathroom, newer air conditioning unit but it leaked water. Carpet was old, green, and smelly. If you need one night stay, it was a decent budget choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants on this block. Italian, spanish, mexican, portuguese, bubble tea, drinks. Dining on Ocean Drive is a short walk away and can get great deals like $10 lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
student for life forever
Business
Detroit, Michiagn
Jun 13, 2013

Perfect location for perfect price

The Clay Hotel is the perfect location for staying on south beach. We were a 2 minute walk from the beautiful beach, but far away enough from the party scene to be able to get a great nights sleep. You really can't beat the price. The hotel staff were decently friendly and all of our requests were taken care of. The room was small, but we only used it to sleep in so it didn't matter. Overall, an excellent hotel for a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top