$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
71 reviews
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for... See full review

  • Caitlin23
  • Mar 31, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Hotel Map

25.7868 -80.1321
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on the vibrant Espaola Way of Miami Beach, Florida, the Clay Hotel brings a rich tradition of hospitality and history to this unforgettable part of South Beach. Known to many as "an oasis on South Beach", our hotel is in the heart of the famous Art Deco district and just two blocks from the oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 9, 2013

An Average Nights Stay

The hotel could use some cosmetic upgrades all around. It met our needs as a place to crash after a night out but not the type of hotel to enjoy vast amenities. Check-in and valet were easy. The cost for the hotel and the parking fee are about average but the staff was friendly. The hotel is separated into two parts and accessing our room required us to cross a pedestrian street and enter the gate with our keycard. On our way to the room, the stairway hall had a crudely boarded-up window. The photos provided are clearly not representative of our tiny room and our room was slightly below average in cleanliness, as evidenced by leaving a backpack under the nightstand and pulling it out later covered with dust bunnies. It met our needs but will spend a little more for a better hotel experience in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk east to Collins Ave. if you're grabbing a quick bite to eat for breakfast. The options are MUCH more appealing.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daejr88
kenner louisiana
Jun 2, 2013

the clay

it was the best. nice and comfortable. we weren't in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CeeEeeTee
Brooklyn, NY
May 28, 2013

Great Stay

The front desk worker was really nice and helpful! The hotel was clean and nice. The set up was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youngbabs
Pittsburgh
May 23, 2013

3 stars BUT great value!

I'm giving 3 stars just because we all know what 4 and 5 star hotels are like. For the price this is perfect. It's on the absolute cutest street (espanola way) and my boyfriend and I stayed for 6 days and we were on the most noisy part of the street but from our room could barely hear it. It's not perfect and the building is older but has such charm that you don't notice. If this is what you are looking to pay, I recommend this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat on espanola way BUT go into Miami for your real authentic food. South beach food sucks.

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjs travels
atlanta
May 15, 2013

simple hotel, great location

the hotel is conveniently located in south beach with easy access to the beach, restaurants, and night life. valet was friendly and car was pulled up near instantly each time we needed it room was average for the price in this area, but the location was great. i'd stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr blah blah blah
Tallahassee, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Nice Location

Nice Location. Plenty of restaurants right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italianbabe
Boston
Apr 12, 2013

Very affordable, great location

This was our second time visiting South Beach and we again stayed at the Clay Hotel. Fantastic location making it easy to get everywhere and very affordable. It is an older hotel so if your looking for luxury its not for you. All of the staff is friendly and very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpringBreak13
NY,NY
Apr 2, 2013

Spring Break

We are college students who stayed at The Clay for Spring Break. None of us had previously been to SoBe. Overall, we had a positive experience. Positives: GREAT location! We were so close to all the bars, clubs, restaurants and beach. We also LOVED how cute Espinola Way is! The price was very affordable for us. Our flight was early and got us to the hotel way before check-in time but they put us in a room right away. That was such a relief. We also had a problem with our bathroom door and they fixed it within 5 minutes. Negatives: The room was cramped for the four of us but we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway. We also had cranky room neighbors who complained to us and about us.. if there was a way to designate one of the buildings for "spring breakers" .. that might be better. I'm sure they weren't happy being our neighbors but what did they expect from an SoBe inexpensive hotel during Miami Music Week?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lilianita
Bogotá
Mar 10, 2013

Above average in many things that make a fun stay

I have not a single complain. It was nice, the staff was very kind in helping to solve what needed, beautiful área of Southbeach, the room was ok, the neighborhood very nice and a lot of convenient things such as supermarket and beach nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach so nice and near, nice restaurants, nice walking around

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on island time
Baltimore, MD
Mar 7, 2013

one night stay

Accommodations were perfectly satisfactory. No problems of any kind. The staff was very professional, helpful, and generally easy to talk to. They gave concise, accurate, and useful answers to all questions we had. Location is convenient to Espanola Way, Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue, Ocean Ave, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search