$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
simpar
Business
USA
Jan 20, 2014

Ok overall hotel

Old hotel, not very clean, but great location. There was a mixup with the rooms initially, and it was sorted out albeit not the best solution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAG EA
Business
virginia
Jan 19, 2014

Never, ever again!!

Do not waste your money by staying at this awful hotel. Room was in terrible condition. Dust, dirt, bugs, spiders, etc were all around the room and since Miami was going through one of its coldest moments, we could not heat up the room and had to wear our coats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruz
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Great place for a quick lovey get away!,

Hotel is a wonderful place to relax and lay back near everything and EZ on the pocket's love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure u take picture enjoy "

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasonmod
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 9, 2013

Great location

This hotel was excellently located right in the heart of south beach and walking distance to the beach and several bars. The hotel is a classic and a little run down (make note there are no elevators and it was not very fun lugging up a heavy bag to the third floor) but it has charm and was a great value for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Watch Dog Bistro located next to the hotel. Saba mixes great drinks and is easy on the eyes. :)

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitalija
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 7, 2013

dont go there

We arrived after 5 pm,hotel checkin in from 3 pm.The staff has bad communication. First we were given one room, while we got our luggage they said that room was not ready. Then they found another "clean" room. We were sent into uncleaned room and had to wait in the room while hotel stuff was cleaning the room! Housekeeping didnt speak English. After all this no apologies, nothing. Towels had horrible bleach smell. There was roach lying on the stairs.Parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auntie Ruckus
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 25, 2013

Small and Cute

We chose a single and it was great. Minus the 4 inch scorpion that was in the bed but the staff was very quick in removing that. Hot plate, real dishes and mini fridge are present. Bed was a little hard and the stairs have slots in them so watch out if you have vertigo! There are bistros and clubs below so if you were looking for a quiet nights sleep, this will not work. The staff was very friendly and helpful and dealt with another irate customer with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelley B
Business
Florida
Nov 18, 2013

this my place

This is the second time I have stayed here, of course, because I got a cheaper rate I got a smaller room which has not been updated. but it was fine for what I wanted, centrally located, clean friendly just to sleep in that's all I needed. Towels were clean, linen clean and floors clean. We went to our room 2 a.m. and left 10 am. we weren't looking for a spa. For the price it was great and we will be staying here again everytime we go to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pretty tyra
Business
glen burnie, md
Nov 9, 2013

proposal

It was terrible no iron, room had a odor, needs a lot of updating, no elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taleda
Business
Bronx
Nov 6, 2013

Nothing Special

Where to start off the rooms are tiny. The first room that was given to me smell like a dirty basement so I ask them to change my room. The hallway was under construction so there was dust all over the place. Second things you need to know is that you have to walk about three blocks to get to your room because they have separate building with a lot of stairs. Third thing you don't see staff the whole time your there. And if you do see them they don't even say good morning. There nothing special about this place. It feels like you rented a tiny room for a few days. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experienced tourist Miami
Business
New York
Nov 3, 2013

Better then expected

It's was amazing the hotel was so quaint and comfortable location was great .and the food was amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top