$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Miami Traveler
Business
Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen beds.The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. It was split into rooms and the bathroom in-between. It was really nice and in a good location. The only bad thing is that you have to pay by the minute to use the computer and printer, so if you fly you need to get to the airport in time to print your boarding passes. The ladies I travel with and myself all said that we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is really close to Ocean Drive, Lincoln and a lot of other restaurants. There is also a Mexican restaurant below the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovetotraveltheworld
Business
Vancouver
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic stay, great location, & clean room.

Had a lovely stay at this historical but recently renovated hotel in Espanola Way. A few blocks from Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive, & 2 blocks from the beach. There are two buildings, I stayed in the second one down the street from the reception main building. Renos are still being made in the stairs & hallways but it wasn't bothersome. I didn't hear much noise from other rooms or the nightlife outside. The room was good for 2 people, with a flat screen tv, fridge, drawer, & hangers. Safe will accommodate the width of a laptop. I would return to this hotel the next time I visit. There are a lot of food options & CVS is a few blocks away. I was able to check in to my room b/c there was one available & request a later checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charlotte Bakery on Washington Ave was my fav place for breakfast. Latin American pastries & food for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andhey
Business
Kitchener, Canada
Apr 8, 2014

South beach character

Great location close to ocean drive and in a wonderful location for shops, bars and many varied restaurants. Hotel is old, but full of character and well maintained with a lot of history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctownsend
Business
Texas
Apr 4, 2014

Perfect location!

It's not super nice... but the location is absolutely perfect! I will probably stay here again on my next trip to Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin23
Business
Sarasota
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for one night because we had tickets to a show at Mansion. This hotel was walking distance we never had to get a cab!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FordST
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel

Very loud construction beginning at 8:20 AM, both Friday and Saturday mornings. We were spared the noise on Sunday. This is a very old hotel. Hallway floors are not straight, so bad that you must watch your step when walking to your room. The bathroom floor in our room had a deep "sinkhole" under the mat. An entire foot could fit inside this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aubieca
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 5, 2014

Race night stay

I stayed at the Clay once before this experience and it was awesome.. super quiet room and didn't even see many other guests. This time was a bit different as our room was above the restaurants and bars on the street below. We stayed here becuase the location was close to the start line of a half marathon I was running on Sunday morning; however, the noise from the party below really disrupted my sleep. We had to be up approximately 2 hours after the music stopped at 3 am. Other than that, the hotel was great. Room was clean and staff was nice and helpful. Will definately stay here again, but will know from now on to request a room that will hopefully be more quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC3041
Business
Florida
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent Location In The Heart of SoBE

Hotel staff was very friendly. Twice staying at this hotel; Second time is a charm! Old-World Style hotel set in the center of South Beach - 1 Block away from Lincoln Mall. As this is an older hotel, the bathroom lighting was a little dim and the deco was about average, but worth the stay for the centralized location to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcin1075
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!

The worst hotel we have ever stayed at !! Lights hanging from the walls with exposed wires, ac quit working and notified front desk and was never repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
simpar
Business
USA
Jan 20, 2014

Ok overall hotel

Old hotel, not very clean, but great location. There was a mixup with the rooms initially, and it was sorted out albeit not the best solution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top