$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for... See full review

  • Caitlin23
  • Mar 31, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Hotel Map

25.7868 -80.1321
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on the vibrant Espaola Way of Miami Beach, Florida, the Clay Hotel brings a rich tradition of hospitality and history to this unforgettable part of South Beach. Known to many as "an oasis on South Beach", our hotel is in the heart of the famous Art Deco district and just two blocks from the oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin23
Business
Sarasota
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for one night because we had tickets to a show at Mansion. This hotel was walking distance we never had to get a cab!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FordST
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel

Very loud construction beginning at 8:20 AM, both Friday and Saturday mornings. We were spared the noise on Sunday. This is a very old hotel. Hallway floors are not straight, so bad that you must watch your step when walking to your room. The bathroom floor in our room had a deep "sinkhole" under the mat. An entire foot could fit inside this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aubieca
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 5, 2014

Race night stay

I stayed at the Clay once before this experience and it was awesome.. super quiet room and didn't even see many other guests. This time was a bit different as our room was above the restaurants and bars on the street below. We stayed here becuase the location was close to the start line of a half marathon I was running on Sunday morning; however, the noise from the party below really disrupted my sleep. We had to be up approximately 2 hours after the music stopped at 3 am. Other than that, the hotel was great. Room was clean and staff was nice and helpful. Will definately stay here again, but will know from now on to request a room that will hopefully be more quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC3041
Business
Florida
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent Location In The Heart of SoBE

Hotel staff was very friendly. Twice staying at this hotel; Second time is a charm! Old-World Style hotel set in the center of South Beach - 1 Block away from Lincoln Mall. As this is an older hotel, the bathroom lighting was a little dim and the deco was about average, but worth the stay for the centralized location to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcin1075
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!

The worst hotel we have ever stayed at !! Lights hanging from the walls with exposed wires, ac quit working and notified front desk and was never repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
simpar
Business
USA
Jan 20, 2014

Ok overall hotel

Old hotel, not very clean, but great location. There was a mixup with the rooms initially, and it was sorted out albeit not the best solution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAG EA
Business
virginia
Jan 19, 2014

Never, ever again!!

Do not waste your money by staying at this awful hotel. Room was in terrible condition. Dust, dirt, bugs, spiders, etc were all around the room and since Miami was going through one of its coldest moments, we could not heat up the room and had to wear our coats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruz
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Great place for a quick lovey get away!,

Hotel is a wonderful place to relax and lay back near everything and EZ on the pocket's love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure u take picture enjoy "

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasonmod
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 9, 2013

Great location

This hotel was excellently located right in the heart of south beach and walking distance to the beach and several bars. The hotel is a classic and a little run down (make note there are no elevators and it was not very fun lugging up a heavy bag to the third floor) but it has charm and was a great value for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Watch Dog Bistro located next to the hotel. Saba mixes great drinks and is easy on the eyes. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitalija
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 7, 2013

dont go there

We arrived after 5 pm,hotel checkin in from 3 pm.The staff has bad communication. First we were given one room, while we got our luggage they said that room was not ready. Then they found another "clean" room. We were sent into uncleaned room and had to wait in the room while hotel stuff was cleaning the room! Housekeeping didnt speak English. After all this no apologies, nothing. Towels had horrible bleach smell. There was roach lying on the stairs.Parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top