$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Clay Hotel

3 stars
1438 Washington Avenue, Miami, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Family getaway

Awesome location! 5 minute walk from beach. And American apparel store right across :-) definitely... See full review

  • DJimena
  • Nov 21, 2014
Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen... See full review

  • Frequent Miami Traveler
  • Apr 29, 2014
Nestled on the corner of quaint Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, The Clay Hotel is a jewel among places to stay in the historic Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Twenty- four hours a day, you can step through wood carved French doors into the cool, terra cotta tiled lobby where you'll be greeted by our multi lingual staff at the front desk-the same desk that's been there since 1925. After you've checked in and unpacked your bags, take a stroll down Espanola Way and observe the exotic features that make this one of the most alluring streets in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Clay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Clay Hotel Rooms

BUDGET - HOTEL
Our budget room consists of one full size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Complimentary WIFI access.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Our standard room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air Conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access
DELUXE- HOTEL
Our Deluxe room consists of one queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room includes Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Electric kettle Microwave Complimentary tea and coffee Iron Ironing board Complimentary WIFI access
FAMILY - HOTEL
Our family room consists of two full size beds and a private bathroom. The room includes: Air conditioner Satellite TV Telephone Voicemail Refrigerator Hair dryer Safety deposit box Complimentary WIFI access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for The Clay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Miami Traveler
Business
Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Awesome Hotel Stay

I came to South Beach with 3 ladies for a quick weekend get away. We had a room with 2 queen beds.The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. It was split into rooms and the bathroom in-between. It was really nice and in a good location. The only bad thing is that you have to pay by the minute to use the computer and printer, so if you fly you need to get to the airport in time to print your boarding passes. The ladies I travel with and myself all said that we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is really close to Ocean Drive, Lincoln and a lot of other restaurants. There is also a Mexican restaurant below the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovetotraveltheworld
Business
Vancouver
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic stay, great location, & clean room.

Had a lovely stay at this historical but recently renovated hotel in Espanola Way. A few blocks from Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive, & 2 blocks from the beach. There are two buildings, I stayed in the second one down the street from the reception main building. Renos are still being made in the stairs & hallways but it wasn't bothersome. I didn't hear much noise from other rooms or the nightlife outside. The room was good for 2 people, with a flat screen tv, fridge, drawer, & hangers. Safe will accommodate the width of a laptop. I would return to this hotel the next time I visit. There are a lot of food options & CVS is a few blocks away. I was able to check in to my room b/c there was one available & request a later checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charlotte Bakery on Washington Ave was my fav place for breakfast. Latin American pastries & food for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andhey
Business
Kitchener, Canada
Apr 8, 2014

South beach character

Great location close to ocean drive and in a wonderful location for shops, bars and many varied restaurants. Hotel is old, but full of character and well maintained with a lot of history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctownsend
Business
Texas
Apr 4, 2014

Perfect location!

It's not super nice... but the location is absolutely perfect! I will probably stay here again on my next trip to Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin23
Business
Sarasota
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend get away

Absolutely loved our room with the balcony and the gorgeous bathroom. My boyfriend and I went for one night because we had tickets to a show at Mansion. This hotel was walking distance we never had to get a cab!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FordST
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel

Very loud construction beginning at 8:20 AM, both Friday and Saturday mornings. We were spared the noise on Sunday. This is a very old hotel. Hallway floors are not straight, so bad that you must watch your step when walking to your room. The bathroom floor in our room had a deep "sinkhole" under the mat. An entire foot could fit inside this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aubieca
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 5, 2014

Race night stay

I stayed at the Clay once before this experience and it was awesome.. super quiet room and didn't even see many other guests. This time was a bit different as our room was above the restaurants and bars on the street below. We stayed here becuase the location was close to the start line of a half marathon I was running on Sunday morning; however, the noise from the party below really disrupted my sleep. We had to be up approximately 2 hours after the music stopped at 3 am. Other than that, the hotel was great. Room was clean and staff was nice and helpful. Will definately stay here again, but will know from now on to request a room that will hopefully be more quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC3041
Business
Florida
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent Location In The Heart of SoBE

Hotel staff was very friendly. Twice staying at this hotel; Second time is a charm! Old-World Style hotel set in the center of South Beach - 1 Block away from Lincoln Mall. As this is an older hotel, the bathroom lighting was a little dim and the deco was about average, but worth the stay for the centralized location to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcin1075
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Terrible!!!!!!!!!!

The worst hotel we have ever stayed at !! Lights hanging from the walls with exposed wires, ac quit working and notified front desk and was never repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Clay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
simpar
Business
USA
Jan 20, 2014

Ok overall hotel

Old hotel, not very clean, but great location. There was a mixup with the rooms initially, and it was sorted out albeit not the best solution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top