$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
649 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (649)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 649
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Pikesville MD
Jul 9, 2014

Sounds great on paper....

location and quality - great!! However the management allowed a large group of extremely loud, inebriated young people to completely take over the roof top pool, along with a blaring DJ, which rendered it completely useless to anyone except those in the "in crowd." Dance disco Music in lobby is played loud enough to curtail relaxing during the day in the room. Not sure what management is thinking - does catering to an ultra young and loud crown make management sense? We called the front desk and music was turned down but not sure at all why they couldn't at least play something a little more middle of the road. Room was spectacularly CLEAN and lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hua hua Mexican was the BEST and very reasonable

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tegano
ft lauderdale fl
Jun 26, 2014

The Staycation that felt like a weekend Getaway.

Upon arriving at the hotel I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a parking garage or any type of free guest parking. I had to pay an extra 35 dollars for valet parking overnight. Other then that the room was a little smaller than what it appeared to be in the pictures. After all is said and done though they had great amenities, a roomy shower a comfortable bed And free happy hour to hotel guests from 7 to 8. Me and my wife had fun. My only request is that you guys get softer blankets..those things were stiff as crackers. Thank you for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent these nice beach cruiser bicycles for 2 hours..only 10 bucks. Highly recommended to see the sights and take in south beach. Cool thing is u can drop them off at any bike station..so ride to where u need to go and leave them at a nearby bike station

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gracie Dee
Fairfax, Virginia
Jun 21, 2014

Great Location

The Staffs are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Location is great, walkable to great spots; outdoor mall, and espaniola way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cliff G
Wilmington, DE
Jun 17, 2014

In need of repair and upgrade

Hotel has seen better days. The bathroom door did not shut due to too many layers if poorly applied paint. The main door to the room had a 1/2 to 1 inch gap all the way. This meant the room was never dark, and I'm some spots you could see out. The floors and hallways had weak spots, it flexed as you walked and the housekeeping carts were left in the hall over night covered by a red sheet/cover. ( I think this is a fire code violation.) The largest issue was the noise I could hear the room above me walking around and the entire conversation going on in the two rooms next to me and across the hall. The icing on the cake was the staff, who besides the bellhop, seemed bothered that they had to check me in or give me a towel at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane Aire
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

I was upgraded to a suite for free due to an AC issue.

I want to say I paid for the cheapest room. It was small but we were in Miami for one night and planned just to sleep when we got back early AM. The front desk guy upgraded us for free to a suite due to an AC issue in our room. The suite was awesome. I was very happy in the end.... Staff was great. Book the suite side of the hotel if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Autumnj
Pittsburgh, pa
May 31, 2014

Bearable

$15 a day resort fee!!! When we first checked in our room was hot muggy and bugs everywhere, including dead bugs around the bathroom sink like the room had not been thoroughly cleaned since it was last occupied. We had to complain to the front desk and they moved us to a suite in the dorster building which was much better! If you stay in this hotel you must book a suite or upgrade when you get there because the standard rooms are absolutely unbearable. The rooftop pool area was about the best thing the hotel had to offer. The Maxine restaurant is good for breakfast! $34 a day parking also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kilamal
Miami
May 30, 2014

Perfect place to relax !

I decided to treat myself to a short stay at the Catalina and couldn't be happier with my decision, the pool was the reason I returned and it continued to exceed my expectations, the staff, the drinks the music and atmosphere, everything, loved it ! The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable, only problem I had were both days my door was opened by house keeping while I was in the room, I didn't like that, they were very apologetic though, overall wonderful stay, and I'll definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FreeCity
Atlanta
May 20, 2014

Last min decision

Driving down from Atl to Mia and made a last min decision to stay in a hotel instead of with friends. Being that this hotel was booked literally an hr before we arrived it was a good deal esp being right on Collins. It was pretty clean, and affordable. Overall it was a good last min deal. There is a mandatory resort fee of like 15 per night however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ras242000
Miami,Fl
May 16, 2014

Great modern style rooms

I only stayed one night but enjoyed my stay immensley. The only drawback is parking. You have to valet for $35 or park on the street and pay $1.75/hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LES girl
New York
May 13, 2014

Great location

Good enough hotel. Great location to hit the beach and shops. Could use an upgrade on the room set up and pool keeping but good hotel overall. I would stay there again and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach!!

Back to menu Return to top