The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
542 reviews
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 542
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Oct 13, 2014

Not what it used to be

the first time i came to this hotel was 6 years ago. Seems like they have done no maintenance at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
san fran joan
Business
San Francisco
Sep 30, 2014

Miami Beach

This hotel is very conveniently located with great restaurants on site. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaybar
Business
Washington DC
Sep 4, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I was pleasantly surprised when my son and I pulled in front of Hotel Catalina and during our stay there for 7 nights. The temporary parking to check in and out and the assistance we received was great. The registration process was painless and the assistance to find our room, give us a tour, explain the how the equipments in room work, and inform us to the amenities at the hotel and neighborhood were all phenomenal. Checking out was quick and without problem. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I am recommending this place to my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marissa Adele
Business
Myrtle beach, sc
Jun 13, 2014

Business trip

The staff was always so helpful and kind. The hotel was in a perfect location and the rooftop pool was amazing. The beds were absolutely perfect but the room itself was kind of damp and smelled a little musty. Overall I enjoyed my stay and will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jumior
Business
new york
May 12, 2014

not bad for the price

Hotel is in a great location but rooms are small. The amenities make it worth it staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mateo Timbuktu
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 17, 2014

Decent Hotel, Careful about the bait/switch

For South Beach, the hotel was a decent price. The lobby was basically a night club when I checked in, and Valet was $35 (and appeared to be required since I couldn't find parking near the hotel.) Unfortunately, they claimed the room I booked through Orbi** was right next to the night club lobby and probably too loud, but the only other room was more expensive. It took some negotiations with some perfectly polite staff and a very apathetic manager, and I still ended up paying almost double for the hotel. Between the resort fee and the valet parking, plus the up-charge for the more quiet room, it ended up being significantly more than what I booked through Orbi**. Beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I found parking a couple blocks down which saved $20/day on parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retail King
Business
Oregon
Jan 29, 2014

good time, rooms are beachy

I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mattmac
Business
Atlanta
Jan 9, 2014

This is no 4 star Property

I will have difficulty ever using site ratings for hotels moving forward. The property was frightening. Not at all meant for a business traveler. Mostly foreign travelers looking to pay a good price. I only paid a $106 rate, but when I saw a 4 star rating, I thought this was going to be a steal. It was not. Parts of the hotel are really bad (state they are refurbishing). For example, my original room was in an area with broken down sheetrock in the halls. They had a security guard literally walking every single hallway to ensure safety since you can actually get to hotel rooms through the restaurant downstairs. Anyone can access these elevators. Since I did not feel safe, I went back and asked for a room near the lobby. Would not recommend at all for a family, a business traveler. Really meant for a group of young travelers that are in a big group and looking for a cheap lodging alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gaza kid
Business
Newyork
Jan 8, 2014

Average getaway

There were no toothpaste in the bathroom. Hotel staff was ok. Hotel doesn't provide any food whatsoever. Bed had sctahes on the sides. Gave me a double bed when I booked a king bed. Over price for room it wasn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Smile
Business
New York, NY
Dec 3, 2013

Great boutique hotel for value and location

A very comfortable hotel with awesome dining as well as atmosphere. You can't beat the location and the price. The bell staff is great too. I've stayed here several times for short stay. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have a happy hour that you can't beat from 7-8pm (trust me) !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top