$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
447 reviews
Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the... See full review

  • Engrave It
  • Apr 14, 2014
Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not... See full review

  • KUCAREVI
  • Apr 6, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
56 out of 447
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Upset traveler on New Year's Eve
Miami, FL
Jan 4, 2010

This was the worst [...] experience

[...] did not due it's homework on this location. The pictures on [...] are completely inaccurate. This hotel has not been remodeled, and is a dump. The bathroom tub's ceramic was cracking with paint tearing away from the entire tube. The bathroom's floor tiles were missing and the toilet was 30 years outdated. [...].This hotel was not the initial hotel that I booked, and [...] moved me here while ensuring that it was commensurate to my initial selection. I was completely let down. The staff at the hotel even admitted that the property was nowhere close or should be rated 3 out of 5 stars. This property is 1 out of 10 stars. The hotel didn't even have a working ice machine! The lobby was renovated, but that was all for this dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from the beach.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Not worth it

The hotel was not what I expected. I hesitated to pay the $25 to check in early but the the lady at the front desk kept insisting that I would be staying in a "quiet room" and she didn't know how much longer it'd be available. So I paid the extra cash. The entire night I could hear people talking and walking from outside the door and above the ceiling. And I am a heavy sleeper! Also the bedsheets were stained. Bottomline, you'd be better off staying in a hostel for a cheaper price and better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Traveler Laurie
Fort myers, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Not a good experience.

The hotel room had an ant issue. When I came back to my room ants had covered my tooth brush and other personal items. I had to throw them all away. The valet shut off my car incorrectly and killed the battery. I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
June
Houston
Jun 11, 2012

Honest Truth

If you want location and good food... This is the best place... However, this hotel has a roach and insect infestation. The bathroom shower runs water all over the floor. The bathroom door in the room which I stayed in came of the hinges. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
JERKED OVER- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
NEw YORK
Sep 29, 2010

Filthy and Worst Hotel on South Beach

[...] the Catalina Beach Resort wasnt even a half a star, I thought I was getting a great deal and pictures looked amazing, once I arrived to the hotel, I was not impressed with the outside and once I walked in I knew this wasnt the type of hotel I wanted to stay in. Carpets filthy and torn and walls banged up. Front desk was a joke with its red colored ply board and home built counter. I basically walked out after I expressed my concern and hotel refused to refund me money [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 14, 2010

The Catalina

I went to Miami for the carnival. The room was very small, the temp of the room could not be controlled. The t.v. Was very high up, you almost have to break your neck to view it. My previous trips to Miami for carnival were always great along with the hotel. This was my first time in The Catalina and will be my last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's alot of nice places to shop in the area

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
SW33T2T
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 30, 2011

POOR SERVICE

VERY VERY LOUD AND NOISEY! ROOM SMELLED LIKE SEWER WATER HAD CAME UP AND MINI BAR FRIDGE WAS NOT WORKN THE GOOD THING WAS I DIDNT SPEND ALOT OF TIME IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Hompie
Cuijk
Apr 19, 2013

Stinks

Service and quality is very poor They take an extra charge on your credit card but you cannot charge anything to room ,so no reason to do this. I did not ask for all those products for sale in room so I don't want any charge except room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Chase Sun
south beach, Miami
Sep 16, 2011

so loudy!

my room was just front of a club bar. so, I could not sleep until club close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
marmar418
Detroit, MI
Aug 26, 2013

it was ok

The hotel was not that great but it is tolerable. Nothing too crazy that you "can't live with" for a few days. Location was great and staff were super nice and friendly. The rooms are a little small and doesn't leave too much room for moving around and for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top