$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
611 reviews
Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber... See full review

  • Tyneequa W.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Great getaway!

I had concerns after reading people's reviews but it didn't take long to realize that those people... See full review

  • Curtis P.
  • Jul 31, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 150 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
FKU Fung Ku
FKU Fung Ku is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst decor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 611
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SW33T2T
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 30, 2011

POOR SERVICE

VERY VERY LOUD AND NOISEY! ROOM SMELLED LIKE SEWER WATER HAD CAME UP AND MINI BAR FRIDGE WAS NOT WORKN THE GOOD THING WAS I DIDNT SPEND ALOT OF TIME IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hompie
Single
Cuijk
Apr 19, 2013

Stinks

Service and quality is very poor They take an extra charge on your credit card but you cannot charge anything to room ,so no reason to do this. I did not ask for all those products for sale in room so I don't want any charge except room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kira15
Single
Collins ave
May 28, 2014

Don't book here

Over all this place was by far the worst. Staff wasn't great over all just don't book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On the middle of Collins

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Diego, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Not worth it

The hotel was not what I expected. I hesitated to pay the $25 to check in early but the the lady at the front desk kept insisting that I would be staying in a "quiet room" and she didn't know how much longer it'd be available. So I paid the extra cash. The entire night I could hear people talking and walking from outside the door and above the ceiling. And I am a heavy sleeper! Also the bedsheets were stained. Bottomline, you'd be better off staying in a hostel for a cheaper price and better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 14, 2010

The Catalina

I went to Miami for the carnival. The room was very small, the temp of the room could not be controlled. The t.v. Was very high up, you almost have to break your neck to view it. My previous trips to Miami for carnival were always great along with the hotel. This was my first time in The Catalina and will be my last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's alot of nice places to shop in the area

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JERKED OVER- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
Single
NEw YORK
Sep 29, 2010

Filthy and Worst Hotel on South Beach

[...] the Catalina Beach Resort wasnt even a half a star, I thought I was getting a great deal and pictures looked amazing, once I arrived to the hotel, I was not impressed with the outside and once I walked in I knew this wasnt the type of hotel I wanted to stay in. Carpets filthy and torn and walls banged up. Front desk was a joke with its red colored ply board and home built counter. I basically walked out after I expressed my concern and hotel refused to refund me money [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chase Sun
Single
south beach, Miami
Sep 16, 2011

so loudy!

my room was just front of a club bar. so, I could not sleep until club close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset traveler on New Year's Eve
Single
Miami, FL
Jan 4, 2010

This was the worst [...] experience

[...] did not due it's homework on this location. The pictures on [...] are completely inaccurate. This hotel has not been remodeled, and is a dump. The bathroom tub's ceramic was cracking with paint tearing away from the entire tube. The bathroom's floor tiles were missing and the toilet was 30 years outdated. [...].This hotel was not the initial hotel that I booked, and [...] moved me here while ensuring that it was commensurate to my initial selection. I was completely let down. The staff at the hotel even admitted that the property was nowhere close or should be rated 3 out of 5 stars. This property is 1 out of 10 stars. The hotel didn't even have a working ice machine! The lobby was renovated, but that was all for this dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from the beach.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Avinash V.
Single
ozone park
Dec 30, 2014

Getaway

Please don't waste your time here, room had no ac ... Didn't know that is some thing you pay extra for these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adam C.
Single
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great ambiance, good staff and facilities

The Catalina has friendly, helpful staff including the reception desk, the concierge and the room staff. Its in a great location, close to the beach and to the Lincoln mall and a good spot for a vacation. The two swimming pools provide good choice- one with shade and the rooftop one with lots of sun. I hope to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wolfsonian Museum at 10th Street and Washington Avenue is well worth visiting plenty to see- lots of interesting design ideas and a good gift shop.

Back to menu Return to top