$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
539 reviews
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Super Fun Birthday Vacay!

I was recently here 9/25-30,2014. Its was me and my best friend and we shared a standard double bed... See full review

  • Feeling 22
  • Oct 2, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (539)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 539
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubian
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2012

Unhappy Unfortunately

For the price I paid which was clearly overpriced, and I've stayed in Miami many times; but this was a first for this particular hotel. I've stayed directly acrossed at the Surfcomber and the decor was amazing, staff completely attentive, hotel was very cleaned, however the Catalina does not live up to the pics posted on site to review images of hotel. Elevator worked only one day, and don't expect requested wake up calls, carpets throughout are nasty and floors seem like it will give way and break, and trust I'm a small frame. Not knowledgeable of hotel requirements or just simply uncaring. NO GOOD, I WILL NOT RETURN HERE>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cuban diner on Ocean drive i believe.. incredible food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Flores
Business
New York, New York
Dec 18, 2012

Overbooked hotel

The hotel was oversold and they just sent me to a cheap hotel, with no amenities. They didn't apologized or offered any upgrade or so. Very bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GW roadbeast
Business
MS
Dec 3, 2013

Fun trip with my bestie!!!

Well, this hotel gave me some mixed feelings!!! 1st off- I LOOOVED THE LOCATION!!!!! 2nd the morning staff front desk ( that happens to be all girls ) were sooooo VEEERRY friendly and helpful. 3rd ...the bar staff in the Maxine was extremely nice and friendly at allll times. The hotel was very much so alive and festive!!! The majority of the staff was soooo niiice and helpful!!! NOW, comes the bad. The rooms can use a little updating! The shower, well it showers the ENTIRE BATHROOM. There's a modern glass half wall closing off your shower. So when you shower, water is going EVERY WHERE... And I do mean EVERY WHERE!!!! The hotels and hallways were clean-- so much so that you could smell it. The smell of bleach covered the entire room hallways and rooms. My key NEVER WORKED!!! I had to go back to the front desk after every exit to get a new room key! The AM FRONT DESK STAFF was very polite, the afternoon and evening front desk staff was very ( get the out my face ). I tried not to put up a scene, but I was getting very aggrevated about the key situation. The girl in the am staff- offered and stated at first that she would "I will waive your resort FEE for having so much trouble" after the 30th time I went for a new key. Which I was ok with.. BTW- there's an additional taxable resort FEE of 15.00 a day( you won't hear bout till after you book your room ). When I checked out, I told her still - the keys NEVER WORKED. Then she so kindly and politely adds and s to the resort FEE. So now it turns into resort FEES, and she offers to waive another of my resort FEES. ... Soo blaaaaa. It was a somewhat ok visit, I will return to SOBE, and I will taking the extra money into consideration and just booking a diff hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ok-- so one good deal!! 7-8.. Happy hour free drinks for one hour. I'm good with that!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperDyke
Business
Miami beach
May 7, 2014

SweetHeat

The hotel was great. Bed was super comfy. Toilet was separate from the shower; like around the corner. The room had the funkiest smell and was always muggy. I purchased some air freshner and kept the AC on which made it bearable. Overall it was a great stay. I slept like a rock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank2013
Business
Houston
Jun 5, 2013

Good experience!

The service was great and friendly. Housekeeper everyday and quickly. Every night the lobby get like a party.... After all I definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPTraveler
Business
West Virginia, USA
Aug 15, 2013

Good Hotel

Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff. No coffee service in the room and it was a bit awkward having the toilet separate from the sink and shower - as in opposite sides of the room. Good place to stay overall and certainly much better than a run-of-the-mill chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many more budget-friendly options for dining outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McKenzie E.
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 27, 2014

Decent Experience

This hotel was alright. It consists of three buildings which wasn't that bad but I was under the impression that everything was located in one building. The motif of hotel is weird. The shower heads are directly in the ceiling. If you don't mind a wet bathroom floor every morning then you might appreciate the shower head. Get to the rooftop pool early. For some reason the bartenders always have some of the beds by the pool "reserved" although I never saw anyone claim said reservations. I don't think I would book here again but it's right on Collins. That's always a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola Way has some incredible restaurants. Try Oh Mexico! and Havana 1957. Both excellent choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisDaniel
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2014

Great Affordable Party Spot

The hotel was good plAce to stay. The service was great everyone was helpful and met our needs. The pool area was a little messy there was bamboo in pool and it was kinda quite so we decide to go to beach instead they have a good area with chairs if you're a guest and they provide towels. The locations is right in the center of Collins so you can always find something to do. It was music week this week so maybe they don't usually blast music all night in the lobby, that was kinda loud but again they might not always do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Catalina has a restaurant, attached it's delish affordable meal, ( they say they can't do room service and that you have to go pick it up next door, but if you ask nicely they will bring to your room)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StudentDoc
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2014

Turn up get away!

The hotel is just a block away from the beach and had 3 different accommodations styles and restauraunts to choose from. They provide towels and beach chairs at no additional cost, which easily saves you 50 bucks a day. Valet is ok at $30 bucks a day, but they can be a bit slow getting your car so it's always best to go alert them 15-20 mins before you actually want to leave. The room was pretty dope tho and had a nice small balcony. Shower is fantastic! It's huge and the hot water is endless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top