$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
697 reviews
Great hotel

My stay was great every time I come down to Miami in visit I always stay here. I live the location... See full review

  • Michael Clemons
  • May 19, 2015
Great location

Great location lively atmosphere. Great staff. Rooms are a bit old and a/c is smelly. Beds... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 697
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in miami beach
Business
Miami beach, Florida
Mar 28, 2014

Sleepless in Miami Beach

Base thumping music played until 5 am every night of the week, heard from our room in a different building from the dj. Took 15 minutes for desk reception to acknowledge me for check in. Description of hotel DOES NOT accurately depict the decor, relaxation, etc. will not book a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
diGiorgi78
Business
Santiago, Chile
Mar 28, 2014

Did not comply

Lies everywhere! The cocktails happy hour from 7 to 8 pm is not in every bar at the hotel. "Big towels", lie. Late checkout, another lie. Extremely loud music by late night at 100 ft of our room. No breakfast included, extremely long waiting time in the valet parking (40 to 50 minutes). Hotel's web page didn't tell you any of this. Definetly, we won't get back to that hotel. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Contract Attorney Mom
Business
Virginia Beach
Apr 17, 2014

Worst Customer Service Experienced

Positives: good location. One bldg has roof pool with nice towel beds. Negatives: confirmation I had either 2 double beds or a king size bed. The room I got had a full size bed & about 2 ft. space around to make up the room. The bathroom barely fit a toilet, sink & tiny square shower. You barely could walk around the bed to get to the bathroom. I told the front desk that my confirmation was a king our two double beds. I was told that the web site booking this engages in false advertisement & I could pay $20 more for a king size bed. After I showed my confirmation again on the phone, I was told "fine! I am not going to argue with you. I will put you in the loudest hall we have". And my son and I were put right next to the bar. We were up till 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to boardwalk, there are wonderful restaurants

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Worst Hotel I ever stayed in

The worst hotel I ever stayed in. Dirty carpets, even bugs in the room. Even my 6 year old son made a comment that this is the worst room he ever stayed in. I would not recommend to anyone. Next time I wil pay attention to other reviews and amde sure that I will call hotel and will ask more questions. the hotel staff kept pushing on us a very expensive tours to take,when I asked about other option the staff refuse to provide information. Not helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask Locals for the best places to eat. Hotel staff will not help you, at least in this hotel.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rosie T
Business
Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey
Nov 9, 2012

Room was not what I had booked so I felt cheated

I don't like giving bad reviews! There were good things - the pools in particular and the lovely maid who cleaned our room. When we arrived, we were not put in the room that I had booked and I think they put us in a budget room. Beware of booking budget rooms - I suffer from asthma and we were put in a room that was smelly and wringing damp and I could not have stayed in the room if you paid me. The rooms were behind the bar so we were also supposed to put up with very loud music too - quite honestly the hotel management need to do something about the squalid rooms behind the bar. The duty manager did move us so thank you to him but the damage was done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christmas vacation..
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 25, 2012

Family getaway

Room and sheets were not clean..there was a big noise at night and we were in trouble for sleeping..It is not a quality hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love2bfree
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Ehh! Not good

This hotel was bittersweet. Location is great and the hotel amenities are good (dining , beach towels, beach cruisers,etc). However, there is a $15 per night beach resort fee + state/county taxes so beware. The staff are not professional or attentive. They are incredibly rude. There were a handful of good employees. The bell hops were the only ones that were thoughtful. Personally, Guy should be running the place. The rooms are nice, however, the room we had smelled like paint. The bathrooms weren't in best of shape either. To add more salt to the wound, the electrician opened our door without knocking. He had to replace the bulbs and no one told him the room was occupied. Also, we planned on eating at the sushi restaurant below the room only to get an emergency menu offering a few items because they ran out. Overall, take your money and time somewhere else. For the price paid, this hotel was not with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Mall, Ocean Drive, Beach

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego,CA
Mar 20, 2011

Dont waste you moneyi

I canot belive how this hotel is in service, is better to sleep at the beach and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Viking in New York
Business
New York City
Aug 23, 2010

Really Hit & Miss with Catalina

What a disapointment! We thought we were off to a good start when they told us we have to wait for a quiet room, as the only one they had clean was right next to the extremely noisy bar. They put us there anyway and when we asked to move, (It was so loud that the front desk could not hear me on the phone!) we were told that we would have to wait until the NEXT EVENING TO BE MOVED!!! They finally moved us at around midnight and then we were told that we would have to move again the next evening. We stayed in the tiny standard room; we had payed for a Deluxe Room, and they REFUSED TO REFUND US THE DIFFERENCE. Sometimes the room was very well cleaned, other times really poorly. The RESORT FEE OF $15.00 a day is not worth it. Some of the staff were great, others really didn't care at all. Really too bad, great location, the possibilities are huge. Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try PHILLIPE, the food and service are great!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NAPLES, FLORIDA
Mar 14, 2011

MIAMI HOTEL

Worst hotel experience in 40 years of travel. Hotel had RAP band in reception area so staff could not hear to check us in. Crowd for concert blocked entry, normal walking, rooms were poorly lit, only one electrical outlet, closet had no lighting, faced a vacant bldg. boarded up with pigeon infestatation. Staff tried to overcome Spring break congestion, but were simply not in-charge of their property on 3-12-11, day of our arrival. THE WORST WAS POOR HALL LIGHTING CREATING FEAR OF SECURITY AND NEARLY $300 A NIGHT FOR THE ABOVE...........[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top