$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
703 reviews
Great Couples Get Away !

This hotel was very nice.The beach was about a block away, drinks were good (thanks to Maria), and... See full review

  • Briitt Bratt
  • May 29, 2015
Quality time with my girlfriend

We really enjoyed stayed at Catalina Hotel because the room we obtain was big, clean, and very... See full review

  • Andres Z.
  • May 28, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 703
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
experienced South beach traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 24, 2010

Catalina Hotel

Checked in - got stuck in elevator = between floors- kept ringing alarm NO one came- after 8 minutes we called the front desk. Beds uncomfortable practically laying on the floor. Hotel colors are RED- red everywhere.RED Shag carpeting! Low ceilings, low lighting probably so you can't see. After spending 1 nite we asked for our money back-but pay for the 1 nite stay- they said we had to contact the 3rd party. Still waiting for a money return- booked across the street for $40 more per nite at a beautiful hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need a car - everything is close-Great restaurants. Indian, Japanese and alot of great Italian restaurants. Great nighlife- lots of fun, great drinks in South beach-Good mohitos & martini's

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Apr 7, 2010

dont do it

This place was really bad. I showed up at 2:30 to see if i can check in a lil early, but the staff said the room wasnt ready till 3, so i said okay. But by 3 the room still wasnt ready and there was about 4 other couple waiting for their rooms. Thats not all i see people checking in way after me and they have their rooms all ready for them. When i told them i wanted to cancel, thats when tell told me my room just opened up. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva
May 13, 2010

A pure disaster...

Such a bad experience... Getting into it would really be too long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
orlando florida
Dec 13, 2010

cleaned up a must

not clean not clean smell bad hallways very dark not clean hotel location very good dining n food was grate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

clean hallways and rooms a must pool chairs clean them up START CLEANING

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,NY
May 25, 2011

Not good at all!!!!

This was not my first time in Miami i previously stayed at the Chesterfield and Hotel Nash... This by far was the worst hotel. Lets start: 1st off the lighting sucks in the hallways. Very dark 2nd: My girlfriend fell in the shower. Hurt herself pretty bad. Very slippery no grip in the shower. Small bathroom cut myself with the mirror in the shower while getting up from the toilet. 3rd: The room was Small small small..... the absolute worst placement of shelves bed everything.. Who ever designed this room should get shot. i stay in room 219.... 4th: The TV was basically placed in the ceiling of the room. I have no idea why but my neck is still killing me... It was just a bad experience overall Do not choose this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Puerto Sagua best cuban style food

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AaronB
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Hotel

i accualy checked out and went to a diffrent hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luvs2Trvl
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Bad experience in this dirty hotel

Checked in for Valentines Day 2012. Room and hotel are the dirtiest places I've ever stayed in. Bartender in lobby gave horrible service and tried to force me to drink a glass of wine filled with cork pieces, Instead of just giving a new glass. Bedroom and bathroom were dirty and very small. Holes in the curtains. blood stains on shower wall with mildew and mold. Missing tiles. Dirty towels that smelled like food and alcohol, maybe someone had vomited in them and house keeping only rinsed it off. Room reeked of cigarette smoke despite the fact that we had specifically requested a non smoking room. Room was dark, no sunlight entered. Window was at the top of the ceiling like a basement room. At night even with all the lights on the room was still very dark. Sheets smelled dirty, even found brown stains on the comforter. Location is great but not worth the terrible experience we had. Next time we will spend more money and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Holland
Business
Netherlands
Mar 2, 2012

Not trustworthy

Tried to put us both in a room with bad smell and one queen. Contract shows: two singles or king. Deskstaff (management) unfriendly. No breakfast included. Noise untill late. Airco did not cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashlie Hood
Business
Key West, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Stolen Mac

I valeted my car at the Catalina Hotel while I stayed there for a weekend. I hid my laptop under the passesnger seat, thinking it would be safer there than in the hotel room. Well, I was wrong. I picked my car up the next morning and my MacBook Pro (containing 8,000 photos of my children's lives and endless numbers of documents) along with a vintage Louis Vuitton computer case were missing. I immediately told the Valet, who sent me to the garage where it was parked. The whold thing is such a SCAM! The hotel has a "Valet" attendant who takes your car and gives you a Valet Slip, who then turns around and gives the "Garage" attendant your keys and car. The Valet slip, in very small print, says they are not liable for stolen or damaged property! What is the purpose of Valeting your car? I made an incident report and police report to no avail... Now I'm getting legal advice. This is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend getaway gonwrong
Business
Ft lauderdale, fl
Oct 15, 2012

Awful

The room had no ac. After calling the front desk they assured us they would send someone up. After the 3rd attempt it still wasn't fixed and they claimed there were no other rooms so they brought in a portable ac unit. Upon returning from our dinner the room was flooded from te portable unit. Still would not move us. Just a bad experience overall. They kept saying sorry but it wasn't genuine and they were not willing to comp the stay. Some customer service training could assist them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top