$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
544 reviews
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (544)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
544 out of 544
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cliff G
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jun 17, 2014

In need of repair and upgrade

Hotel has seen better days. The bathroom door did not shut due to too many layers if poorly applied paint. The main door to the room had a 1/2 to 1 inch gap all the way. This meant the room was never dark, and I'm some spots you could see out. The floors and hallways had weak spots, it flexed as you walked and the housekeeping carts were left in the hall over night covered by a red sheet/cover. ( I think this is a fire code violation.) The largest issue was the noise I could hear the room above me walking around and the entire conversation going on in the two rooms next to me and across the hall. The icing on the cake was the staff, who besides the bellhop, seemed bothered that they had to check me in or give me a towel at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Z. Ivette
Business
Winter Springs
Jul 17, 2014

Catalina

This hotel is for a younger generation who enjoys crowd and extreme noise all night long. The rooms are very uncomfortable and there’s not even a drawer to put your clothes on. Further, there’s a $35.00 charge for valet parking and this information is not listed on the ad. The so called free drinks are only offered for one hour – from 7 to 8. It is only gyn, vodka and rum – the cheapest there is. We had to beg to be transferred to another hotel so we would not lose our money. Moreover, unless you are a young person who likes crowds and loud places please do not book at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrew1978
Business
Naples florida
Jul 9, 2014

Worse management ever seen

This is the 5th time i been here, and the hotel has change to be a bad bad experience, overcharge drinks, to finish with the valet pushing and pushing to pay the valet fee and cash, i have to assume he was going to pocket the money that he confront me on front of hotel treating me on front of everyone, manager was told did nothing a 20 some years old guy who did nothing at all, so if you like to have a nice vacation i recommend to stay away from this hotel by the way is part of southbeach group hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Will not stay here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heats fan.
Business
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Jul 26, 2014

Short vacation

The hotel was not what we were expecting. We had a small room for 3 girls. Very small. Very unorganized place. The drinks from happy hour wasn't great at all. The food was too expensive. It was just a horrible experience all together. Wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road has some great Cuban food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Queen 00881
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 11, 2014

Horrible

From check in to check out the worse hotel experience EVER!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snflwrs0909[@]
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jul 4, 2010

Miami trip with my friends...

The following is a response to the hotel itself:Hello, Thank you for inquiring about my vacation along with my girlfriends at you resort.... Unfortunately I must say that our stay there was somewhat of a disappointing experience. From the moment of check in there were 3 bellboys outside of your resort and not one offered to help us with our luggage to our room. The attendant that took in our registration didn't look at me once while he was entering the info. in the computer but to give me the key and to point toward where our room would be. Not even a welcome or a smile. There was however another attendant that was nice enough to refer us to the nearest IHOP for breakfast since we got there so early. His name was [...]. The pictures online were deceiving. The rooms were way smaller then how they looked online & were disappointed to find out that there wasn't even room in the small closet to put 1 pc of luggage. There was nothing but hot water on the shower and the knob kept falling off. Also the lighting was horrible. Nothing but a red light and some reading lamps. we needed more lighting to get ready at night. The room was so hot we had to sleep in underwear and your staff didnt have a fan to offer. The lobby however was always cool. A couple of times I woke up with bites. hope it wasnt from you bed. We didn't even get in the sheets. The room we were given was right next to the bar and there was always noise right outside our door. It was something we had anticipated when we checked in and asked for another room but they didn't have any more available. When we asked for extra towels or ice it was like a major convinience and always felt hesitation. Even for extra cups. Once we went out to the beach and found out that we had to pay extra for chairs and umbrella but yet you charge a $15- daily facility fee. I still don't get it. The towels we received had holes in them, rust stains and were brown instead of white. The pools were much smaller then they had looked online too. Also we were disappointed to know that there was no hotel parking for our rental. We had to park 5 blocks away at the public parking because your valet fee was rediculously high. No one told us about the hotel amenities nor the surrounding attractions. we had to find out on our own... However when there was a change of staff and more people started checking in I heard them getting a whole explanation of the hotel and were being recommended places. No one except for one more person asked how our stay was. His name was [...]. However no one asked if we needed anything through out our stay. I'm sad to say that because of the lack of attention we received at your resort, we are discouraged from staying there again or recommending it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We dined at "Maxine's" next door... the food was amazing...went twice. 1st time the service was exceptional & quick despite the amount of people. Gr8 waiter... 2nd time service was very slow & waiter was impatient. Tip? take a look at the bill before paying. They automatically add 17-18% gratuity despite the amount of people everywhere you go despite the service :/ Also Puerto Sagua had good Cuban food & good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelaholic
Business
LONDON
Aug 6, 2010

Don't do the same mistake

Don't go to Catalina hotel. The photos may look like a relaxing and amazing hotel to stay in, but it's not. Catalina hotel is in great location from the beach and places to shop and eat, but it has terrible customer services. I only thank a gentleman called Eddy who helped me so much during my stay in Miami and the Catalina hotel. I'm sorry to say the rest of the members of staff were really bad. I believe that I was stole from, as I had to pay $15 per day for a dirty, small swimming pool which I didn't even swim in, for towels, for the shuttle, for chairs and happy hour, which didn't make anyone happy as the drinks were watered down and the rum must have been so cheap are it made me sick and I got headaches the next day from just 2 rum and cola.But the horror didn't end there as my windows in my room didn't open and there was no toilet paper in my room, to top it all off things got stolen from my room. Over all I was very upset as Miami is such a beautiful place and the hotel only had a good employee call [...] which made me feel at home and helped me loads. Thanks [...] you do a good job and many people in hotel tell me the same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina,Ca
Apr 24, 2011

Catalina Resort

My daughter had some bug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Marley
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not My Cup of Tea

This room was way to small for the king size bed, couldn't even walk past the end of the bed for fear of knocking something off the glass counter, had to turn sideways ro get thru. The mattress was the best part of the whole room....very comfortable! The bathroom had alot to be desired...the lighting was terrible and the amount of mirrors was over kill...did like seeing my image 10 times back on all walls! The floors were very cold...no carpet anywhere! Would not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Go Elsewhere!

What can I say about the Catalina? First and foremost it is like everything in South Beach - Expensive and Overrated. It reminded me of a disgusting hotel I would stay at for spring break but with a price tag that is 5 times as much. We checked into the Catalina on a Thursday and left Sunday morning. We arrived around 5:30 pm to find that our room was not ready yet. We get to the room and it is very very small (which I expected). The service was horrible. You have to call to get ice. We called twice and still never received it. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. The maid service brought you towels sometimes but didn't replace cups or empty the ice bucket. Our shower was clogged the whole time were there. Someone did come to "fix it" but it was never right and we had to shower in dirty water up to our ankles. The free drinks were nice if you enjoy vodka from a plastic bottle. For the money I would recommend you look elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend you eat at the Meat Market! It was the only good meal we had while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top