$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
545 reviews
Short work related trip

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Dec 21, 2014
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (545)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
545 out of 545
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia,pa
Nov 2, 2010

it is not want you think

The pictures on the site look great but,when you get there it is completly differnt first of all the shuttle they say from the airport was broke down so we had to get a cab which is 42.00 dollars the catalina dont have a swimming pool you have to go to the hotel next door for swimming or to the other hotel for the roof top pool which is only 4 ft deep the rooms are red and it is so dark. if your a female forget about putting on your make up you cant see because of the lighting the refrig dont keep nothing cold and the room is so small you bang into everything oh yeah the mini bar in your room and snacks are not free I paid 4.00 dollars for a reg size pack mm dont eat them its not worth it the tiles on the floor are comming up so you better wear shoes even to the bathroom and some staff if you ask them a question they dont know. but alot of the staff were nice and another thing me and my husband went to the beach and came back and our door was open I called the front desk and told them they said maybe it was the maid because she was the only one there nothing was missing thank god but the beach was great the music at maxines was bad all teco no good music not even one song in spanish even if you ask. would have been nice because alot of spnish people visit or are in miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

17 street stores are great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 8, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The room had a very unpleasant smell.The windows were just in front of another room,with only a few feet of a distance, so I could not open the curtains the whole time. No isolation of sound: people talking in the corridor looked like they were inside my room. In order to get to my room I had to go through a Bar. The room was on the back side of it. Terrible, terrible, terrible!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego,CA
Mar 20, 2011

Dont waste you moneyi

I canot belive how this hotel is in service, is better to sleep at the beach and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Not worth it

The hotel was not what I expected. I hesitated to pay the $25 to check in early but the the lady at the front desk kept insisting that I would be staying in a "quiet room" and she didn't know how much longer it'd be available. So I paid the extra cash. The entire night I could hear people talking and walking from outside the door and above the ceiling. And I am a heavy sleeper! Also the bedsheets were stained. Bottomline, you'd be better off staying in a hostel for a cheaper price and better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 25, 2010

Not at all like the pictures

The pictures and descriptions of this hotel are completely misleading. When we checked in they wanted to put us in a room within 10 feet of the check-in counter. They changed it and then gave us a room on the other side of the lobby. We said no to this one as well. They finally gave us a room they were certain we would like. When we entered the room, it looked like a cheap motel room. The room was extremely small with minimal walking space. The bathroom was dirty and our view from the window was an alley. We were so disatisfied. We requested yet another room. We were placed in another room which was slightly better and tolerable even through it was directly above their restaurant and night club. Aside from that our room keys would not work after one use and we made multiple trips to the front desk to have them recoded. The roof top pool was extremely small and was covered with ants. We were extremely disatisfied and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Viking in New York
Business
New York City
Aug 23, 2010

Really Hit & Miss with Catalina

What a disapointment! We thought we were off to a good start when they told us we have to wait for a quiet room, as the only one they had clean was right next to the extremely noisy bar. They put us there anyway and when we asked to move, (It was so loud that the front desk could not hear me on the phone!) we were told that we would have to wait until the NEXT EVENING TO BE MOVED!!! They finally moved us at around midnight and then we were told that we would have to move again the next evening. We stayed in the tiny standard room; we had payed for a Deluxe Room, and they REFUSED TO REFUND US THE DIFFERENCE. Sometimes the room was very well cleaned, other times really poorly. The RESORT FEE OF $15.00 a day is not worth it. Some of the staff were great, others really didn't care at all. Really too bad, great location, the possibilities are huge. Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try PHILLIPE, the food and service are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roberto Morales
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 30, 2010

The old switcharoo

Upon arrival they told me the hotel was full but that the one next door was also theirs and that i had been moved there. at exit i had to pay $15 for resort fee and i had prepaid my stay with [...]??? I had never seen anything like this before!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carlosNYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 13, 2011

I understood I was on a budget...but seriously!

I understood I went for a room on a budget but the Catalina reception area cries for an interior designer who understands about flow and space. The whole thing looks just messy and it's not good since that's the first thing you see when you check in. I wanted to turn around and run far away from it. The staff tried their best to have a smile on their faces as they greeted guests. But I understood their sad faces on certain days. The lobby is just messy! too many things. And the deli/restaurant/food whatever in the lobby is just...so out of place. The carpet leading up to the second floor and the rooms is not only dirty. And I mean DIRTY and stained, but they're also so old they are ripped in some places. I kid you not. I should've taken pictures but it was just too embarrassing. I felt bad for the people working there. My room access card didn't work and I had to stop by the front desk twice before it actually did. Now this has happened at more expensive hotels. No big deal. But then it happened again by the third day I was there. I wasn't happy but respectfully asked them what that was all about only to get a "sometimes that happens". ooookay. Then the lighting in the room... I have 20/20 vision and still, the lighting was just poor. I shaved and when i returned to my room, hairs were still on the sink even though the room had been attended to. Then there was the $15 daily Hotel Club charge. That was news to me when I arrived. I was tired and all I wanted to do was to start my vacation. So I said yes. i"ll pay whatever. Knowing of course, that I would write a review so that other vacationers stay away from this hotel. Then, as if things weren't bad enough, Saturday evening we come back to the hotel after a nice dinner and find out the lobby has been turned into some type of a club with a stripper on dancing on a table. Maybe that was the $15 daily charge on my bill? Not that I don't like strippers or good music. But it would be nice if the loud music took place in a venue built to have a club. I dunno...just so that music doesn't travel to a vacationer's room all the way down the hall. Just saying. Seriously! Stay away from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 3, 2010

you get what you pay for

Unfriendly staff..things get stolen from the rooms...was not an enjoyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 1, 2010

Stay somewhere else

The Catalina hotel is in a great location, but has terrible service and dirty rooms. Also, dont bother to upgrade your room to a deluxe room. The rooms are the exact same size with the exception of a small hallway in the deluxe. The hallways are so dimly lit, you can't see anything! I dont recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top