$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
525 reviews
It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to... See full review

  • Dennyj
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming,... See full review

  • Traveler Lenn
  • Aug 23, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (525)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 14, 2010

The Catalina

I went to Miami for the carnival. The room was very small, the temp of the room could not be controlled. The t.v. Was very high up, you almost have to break your neck to view it. My previous trips to Miami for carnival were always great along with the hotel. This was my first time in The Catalina and will be my last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's alot of nice places to shop in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Apr 7, 2010

dont do it

This place was really bad. I showed up at 2:30 to see if i can check in a lil early, but the staff said the room wasnt ready till 3, so i said okay. But by 3 the room still wasnt ready and there was about 4 other couple waiting for their rooms. Thats not all i see people checking in way after me and they have their rooms all ready for them. When i told them i wanted to cancel, thats when tell told me my room just opened up. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilshab
Marlboro, NJ
Oct 8, 2010

was charged extra for the room per day

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new hampshire
Apr 29, 2010

Not a good time

very old facility, had to run water about 10 mins to get any hot water, no dressers or stands to place luggage, no washcloths, sunk into bed , very uncomfortable no infromation about facility bad stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 8, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The room had a very unpleasant smell.The windows were just in front of another room,with only a few feet of a distance, so I could not open the curtains the whole time. No isolation of sound: people talking in the corridor looked like they were inside my room. In order to get to my room I had to go through a Bar. The room was on the back side of it. Terrible, terrible, terrible!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia,pa
Nov 2, 2010

it is not want you think

The pictures on the site look great but,when you get there it is completly differnt first of all the shuttle they say from the airport was broke down so we had to get a cab which is 42.00 dollars the catalina dont have a swimming pool you have to go to the hotel next door for swimming or to the other hotel for the roof top pool which is only 4 ft deep the rooms are red and it is so dark. if your a female forget about putting on your make up you cant see because of the lighting the refrig dont keep nothing cold and the room is so small you bang into everything oh yeah the mini bar in your room and snacks are not free I paid 4.00 dollars for a reg size pack mm dont eat them its not worth it the tiles on the floor are comming up so you better wear shoes even to the bathroom and some staff if you ask them a question they dont know. but alot of the staff were nice and another thing me and my husband went to the beach and came back and our door was open I called the front desk and told them they said maybe it was the maid because she was the only one there nothing was missing thank god but the beach was great the music at maxines was bad all teco no good music not even one song in spanish even if you ask. would have been nice because alot of spnish people visit or are in miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

17 street stores are great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Gold
Philly
Jul 31, 2013

Never again !!! Mold and more mold

I honestly never wrote a review in my life. I went to Miami this past week and stayed at the Catalina for 4 days. My girlfriends and I decided this experience was so bad we had to review this hotel ! The original room we were in was In the same building as Maxine's restaurant. Old dirty dark and extremely smelly. You come out the elevator and there is a terrible mold smell disguised in bleach. Our room upon first glance for 2 of us ( we got 2 rooms on the third floor) was ok. Then we put out clothes away in the closet and looked up and saw so much mold we were gagging. We called the front desk instead of manager coming a cleaning lady was sent with more bleach. ?? I told her no more bleach this is dangerous and needs to be shut down and removed. She looked up and her mouth opened. She started sending pics to her boss and ran out room. We got a call that they were sorry but couldn't move us out that room till the next day. No offer to comp the night no offer to move to one of the other buildings they have. Disgusted !!!!!! Then rain starts and our windows literally starting leaking like it was raining in our room right over an outlet. We call again and manager says "ill send towels". Which never came!!!!!!!! They moves us 24 hours later to the Dorset which was brighter and cleaner but still issues. Clogged sink! No security in the Dorset nor front desk. Anyone can walk in and sit in dark lobby and wait for a young girl at night to come in. Not safe. Horrible experience. Ill spend more and enjoy a cleaner safer hotel anyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Holland
Netherlands
Mar 2, 2012

Not trustworthy

Tried to put us both in a room with bad smell and one queen. Contract shows: two singles or king. Deskstaff (management) unfriendly. No breakfast included. Noise untill late. Airco did not cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JERKED OVER- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
NEw YORK
Sep 29, 2010

Filthy and Worst Hotel on South Beach

[...] the Catalina Beach Resort wasnt even a half a star, I thought I was getting a great deal and pictures looked amazing, once I arrived to the hotel, I was not impressed with the outside and once I walked in I knew this wasnt the type of hotel I wanted to stay in. Carpets filthy and torn and walls banged up. Front desk was a joke with its red colored ply board and home built counter. I basically walked out after I expressed my concern and hotel refused to refund me money [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
June
Houston
Jun 11, 2012

Honest Truth

If you want location and good food... This is the best place... However, this hotel has a roach and insect infestation. The bathroom shower runs water all over the floor. The bathroom door in the room which I stayed in came of the hinges. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search