$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
579 reviews
Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely... See full review

  • Hadil S.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Hotel met all expectations. Would stay here again! See full review

  • NC's Finest
  • Jan 19, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (579)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
579 out of 579
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Lola
Business
East Coast
Jun 30, 2013

Stay somewhere else

If you like bugs crawling all over your things, small confined spaces, bad tasting food, and a rude staff then this is the place for you. After traveling for more than five hours, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Two hours later, I finally got a clean room (sort of) after the manager begrudgingly spoke to me. If I wanted this kind of stress I could have stayed home. If it weren't for the playoffs and all the hotels were not booked up, I would have checked out on the spot. One morning when I returned to my room after spending time on the beach, my room key did not work. I called down to the front desk and asked if someone could let me into the room and the response I got was "I'm busy." Truly unprofessional and certainly not a way to treat a paying customer. Then, what's up with the shower? Why not have a full door so the water does not get EVERYWHERE? *Catalina's only saving grace is Carlos. He always had a smile and was always willing to assist guests. There are plenty of hotels in South Beach, don't waste your time and energy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pam2013
Business
minneapolis mn
Jul 12, 2013

The Worst

The hotel advertise balcony/patio, it was only big enough to put your feet on. it was like a ledge with bars to hold on to. The lobby smelled like sewerd and the hotel staff/room service barely speak english. I didnt like my experience at all not for the price they are charging. The only good thing was that it is walking distance to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Gold
Business
Philly
Jul 31, 2013

Never again !!! Mold and more mold

I honestly never wrote a review in my life. I went to Miami this past week and stayed at the Catalina for 4 days. My girlfriends and I decided this experience was so bad we had to review this hotel ! The original room we were in was In the same building as Maxine's restaurant. Old dirty dark and extremely smelly. You come out the elevator and there is a terrible mold smell disguised in bleach. Our room upon first glance for 2 of us ( we got 2 rooms on the third floor) was ok. Then we put out clothes away in the closet and looked up and saw so much mold we were gagging. We called the front desk instead of manager coming a cleaning lady was sent with more bleach. ?? I told her no more bleach this is dangerous and needs to be shut down and removed. She looked up and her mouth opened. She started sending pics to her boss and ran out room. We got a call that they were sorry but couldn't move us out that room till the next day. No offer to comp the night no offer to move to one of the other buildings they have. Disgusted !!!!!! Then rain starts and our windows literally starting leaking like it was raining in our room right over an outlet. We call again and manager says "ill send towels". Which never came!!!!!!!! They moves us 24 hours later to the Dorset which was brighter and cleaner but still issues. Clogged sink! No security in the Dorset nor front desk. Anyone can walk in and sit in dark lobby and wait for a young girl at night to come in. Not safe. Horrible experience. Ill spend more and enjoy a cleaner safer hotel anyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mattmac
Business
Atlanta
Jan 9, 2014

This is no 4 star Property

I will have difficulty ever using site ratings for hotels moving forward. The property was frightening. Not at all meant for a business traveler. Mostly foreign travelers looking to pay a good price. I only paid a $106 rate, but when I saw a 4 star rating, I thought this was going to be a steal. It was not. Parts of the hotel are really bad (state they are refurbishing). For example, my original room was in an area with broken down sheetrock in the halls. They had a security guard literally walking every single hallway to ensure safety since you can actually get to hotel rooms through the restaurant downstairs. Anyone can access these elevators. Since I did not feel safe, I went back and asked for a room near the lobby. Would not recommend at all for a family, a business traveler. Really meant for a group of young travelers that are in a big group and looking for a cheap lodging alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in miami beach
Business
Miami beach, Florida
Mar 28, 2014

Sleepless in Miami Beach

Base thumping music played until 5 am every night of the week, heard from our room in a different building from the dj. Took 15 minutes for desk reception to acknowledge me for check in. Description of hotel DOES NOT accurately depict the decor, relaxation, etc. will not book a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
diGiorgi78
Business
Santiago, Chile
Mar 28, 2014

Did not comply

Lies everywhere! The cocktails happy hour from 7 to 8 pm is not in every bar at the hotel. "Big towels", lie. Late checkout, another lie. Extremely loud music by late night at 100 ft of our room. No breakfast included, extremely long waiting time in the valet parking (40 to 50 minutes). Hotel's web page didn't tell you any of this. Definetly, we won't get back to that hotel. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love traveler
Business
Canada
Apr 9, 2014

Miami beach was awesome !!.. but not his hotel.

The only thing that is good in this hotel is the location. (Near the beach, ocean Dr, Lincoln rd.) Otherwise it is not an 4 star hotel at all. The staff does not have any clientele service skills, they do not give you the right information and they are not welcoming at all !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Contract Attorney Mom
Business
Virginia Beach
Apr 17, 2014

Worst Customer Service Experienced

Positives: good location. One bldg has roof pool with nice towel beds. Negatives: confirmation I had either 2 double beds or a king size bed. The room I got had a full size bed & about 2 ft. space around to make up the room. The bathroom barely fit a toilet, sink & tiny square shower. You barely could walk around the bed to get to the bathroom. I told the front desk that my confirmation was a king our two double beds. I was told that the web site booking this engages in false advertisement & I could pay $20 more for a king size bed. After I showed my confirmation again on the phone, I was told "fine! I am not going to argue with you. I will put you in the loudest hall we have". And my son and I were put right next to the bar. We were up till 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to boardwalk, there are wonderful restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kira15
Business
Collins ave
May 28, 2014

Don't book here

Over all this place was by far the worst. Staff wasn't great over all just don't book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On the middle of Collins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilshab
Business
Marlboro, NJ
Oct 8, 2010

was charged extra for the room per day

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top