$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
696 out of 696
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The mel and pete show
Business
New york, NY
Apr 23, 2011

[...] at the Catalina ROCKS!

My experience from start to finish at the Catalina Hotel was impressive. [...] was profesional, accomodating and extremely patient with my fiance and I during our trip. I enjoyed the complimentary bikes and happy hour the hotel provides. The gentleman at the concierge table that provides jet skies and tours was extremely nice as well. The room was quiet,clean and comfortable. With the service I received from [...] and the very nice gentleman that sets up tours and activities I will return to the Catalina for a future stay.Thanks.Melissa and Pete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the end of south Beach like 1st steet and Ocean to fine dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chiquitics
Business
NEWYORK
Mar 25, 2011

great four day get way with girls!

had a great time at the catalina roof top pool was very relaxing. staff is friendly ,room are nice and clean i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

would highly recommend puerto suga cuban rest.on 7th and collins the food is great and cheap prices!! just a cab ride away and the ride is like six bucks on cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Miami
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2011

Lovely Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went for 4 days & 3 nights to this hotel to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. There is nothing to complain about. The only downside was on our second day there was an air conditioning malfunction going on throughout the hotel so we slept one night with no AC and were moved to a different room the next day. Although they had this problem, the staff made sure everybody was well taken care of and happy. Pros: Location- up the block from the beach on 18th street; close to infamous Ocean Drive; short walk to all the nice restaurants Staff- friendly and very attentive to our needs Amenities- happy hour from 7-8pm was a great way to start the night; the heated rooftop pool is nice and peaceful; their restaurants have great food; free shuttle service to & from Miami International Airport; vouchers for beach towels and chairs come in handy; their concierge service had lots of suggestions for the nightlife Cons: Room size- the bedroom was super small and the shower was tiny. Don't try fitting two people in it; it won't work Lighting- it's so dim you might walk out of your hotel room with different shoes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for breakfast hot spots off of main streets like Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue. That's where you'll find food for $4 and you'll be full the whole morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana
Business
New York, NY
Aug 2, 2011

Best Birthday Vacation

The Catalina hotel and Beach Club was wonderful. I really enjoyed the place because the staff was very friendly and nice to us. They have a shuttle bus which picked us up and dropped us off straight from the airport to the hotel. They have two beautiful pools and open bar for an hour. They also have two very tasteful restaurants. I wish i would've stayed longer, it was amazing. P.S We met alot of great people in the lobby!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine26
Business
Worcester, MA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Best birthday trip

This hotel was great me and my boyfriend had a great time! nice staff,nightly entertainment was great, and rooftop pool was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
json56
Business
Silver Spring, Md, USA
Oct 3, 2011

A Great Weekend

I planned a weekend in Miami Beach with my son while we toured colleges in the Miami area. We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina. The room was a bit small but very clean with a nice bathroom and pool area. The staff was friendly. I had to go to the front desk twice and ask for wash cloths but the staff at the front desk were very friendly, professional and handled my concerns quickly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the action as it is within walking distance to everything (shops on Collins Ave, Lincoln Road, shops on Washington Ave., etc) It was a nice stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscobob
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

It's a Great Rate and Stay for BUDGET Travel

Ok. If you are clearly looking to stay in South Beach on a budget, this is it! Outstanding value for the location and rate. One block from the Beach and Ocean Drive, two blocks from a very large open mall area on Lincoln Ave. Starbucks is a few blocks away. And here's my Fav. Open bar at the hotel every night for guests! The bartenders Eddie and Eric were OUTSTANDING and the locals that stopped by for food and drinks made the trip. Kung Fu Sushi next door was great and the service from the cleaning staff and even the parking guy was great! Now the property was built in the 20's and I'm guessing it's been renovated a few times since then, but it's old. My room was clean and on the small side, but that's to be expected. You get what you pay for and I didn't pay the $300 per night rate for the old property across the street! Overall, an excellent place to stay when you want the sun, sand and serious fun of Miami...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do go to the bar for happy hour and ask for Eddie...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little honeybee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Catalina. The staff were very helpful and patient, even throughout the busier nights I was there (Thursday and Friday). The rooftop pool was perfect. The food at Kung Fu Kitchen was good and the breakfast at Maxine's was amazingly fresh and well prepared. The only issue I had during my stay was the housekeeping staff did not clean my room after my first night, although I am assuming it was because we were not ready for them to clean when they initially knocked at 9a. Besides that, I would highly recommend this hotel to another guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sushil
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 2, 2011

nice

hotel is good and service is so so the hotel have good restaurant and served happy hour very nicely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good place to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top