$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sushil
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 2, 2011

nice

hotel is good and service is so so the hotel have good restaurant and served happy hour very nicely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good place to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean the Don
Business
Bridgeport, CT, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Very clean rooms- and cool atmosphere

This place had great rooms that were clean and very contemporary, especially the bathrooms. The lobby was pretty nice as well, offering pool tables free of charge and a nice setting.. only thing was there were a few hidden charges and the Valet parking for all of south beach can be pricey at around $40 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the side street down 13th and behind the Catalina where you will find a parking lot for $25 for the night instead of $35 that the Catalina charges for Valet. It is very close and an easy walk. Plus you dont have to wait for your car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sflann
Business
NJ
Dec 20, 2011

Nice Hotel, I would definitely stay at the Catalina again

Great hotel, good location, with super amenities including 3 nice places to eat, a roof top pool, free beach chairs and umbrellas, and free drinks from 7-8. Overall great value. I would definitely stay at the Catalina again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redborough
Business
Amsterdam, Nederland
Dec 27, 2011

Affordable in the middle of expensive south beach

the hotel was ok considering the fact that it lies very central in the nice art deco district of Miami South Beach. Just a small stroll to the beach. Room was kinda small but sufficient. Breakfast not included which is a bit of a low profile option in compare with what commonly accepted in my humble opinion esp. considering the price level of over $ 100 i paid. in exchange for that vouchers with discounts are offered.practical is the hotel shuttle, but somewhat unclear how to arrange it in advance and it rolls just until 11 pm so be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

have a breakfast or lunch on the boulevard in one of the restaurants and try one of the local cocktails (just 1! )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
way2k
Business
Minneapolis
Dec 28, 2011

Nice experience

The room was on the smaller side, but decorated in a chic way. Docked one star in comfort as bathroom had a funky shower that wet the whole bathroom area. Very nice curteous staff and service. One block from the beach. Both the roof top pool and the bamboo garden pool were OSM. Nice place to stay when ecploring south beach. Very close to lincoln mall. A bit away from mansion and cameo, but only about a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have free rail drinks (vodka/rum/gin with any mixin) from 7 -8. Beer, wine or other premium drinks not included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franey
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Amazing Stay at Catalina

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved it! I would recommend this for young couples and people in general. So close to everything from the beach to Lincoln road where there is shopping, restaurants and night life as well. The rooftop pool is amazing and all the staff at Catalina were helpful and friendly. Everyone was happy to help and were so kind. The beach down the street is beautiful and you get 2 towels and beach chairs which is really convenient. We went for a bike ride on the hotel's bikes along the boardwalk and that was beautiful. There is nothing that we could have asked for that they didn't have. It was perfect and we loved it! We would definitely love to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in miami
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

SUCH A COOL PLACE, GREAT LOCATION

Not perfect: she showed us two rooms, one of which was painted with garish colors that would have driven me crazy, but the one we stayed in was more mellow; quirky and comforable. There were no hooks anywhere to hang stuff on, but the bed was comfortable and there was a cool little balcony for fresh air. Best part was the rooftop pool, and the concierge was good. I loved the free bikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justcoutureit
Business
South Florida metropolitan area, FL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great trendy hotel on a budget

My boyfriend's 30th birthday was this past weekend, and I got his friends together for a night in Miami I wanted the both of us not to have to worry about driving and thought it would be nice to spend Saturday in Miami on the beach, so I looked for a hotel and found The Catalina. I ended up paying a "Miami-reasonable" amount. The only staff I had a problem with was the valet guy. He made us wait on the curb for a solid 20 minutes, saying he couldn't accept our car on the sidewalk and we'd have to wait until we could pull in a space - the spaces are ON THE SIDEWALK. But he was still very sweet. Check-in literally took me not even 10 minutes which I appreciated, as did check-out. The noise - There is a PARTY in the lobby all the time at night - I mean, I could barely hear ANYBODY when I walked in that night - HOWEVER - you hear NOTHING in your hotel room. AT ALL. I was worried, but then we closed our door and silence! The room - We got the room on a budget and it was perfect. SUPER CLEAN. Nice big bed, cool trendy look to it. Yes, it's a small room, but for one night it was PERFECT. If you're staying for more than a few nights, don't get this room, you'll be irritated when you have to climb across the bed to get to the AC or full length mirror. And you'll be even more irritated at how small the stand-up shower is. But seriously it was PERFECT for us for the night. Valet and resort fee were normal and no other ridiculous charges tacked on at the end. Late check in was instantly approved for 12 PM. All in all, wonderful experience and I would totally return again for a night in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free drinks at the bar during different times of the night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markc25
Business
Phoenix
Jan 20, 2012

Southbeach fun

Nice location with helpful staff. You are located near everything & they have free drinks every nite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top