$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
697 out of 697
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diegan Vacationista
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 25, 2014

South Beach Trip

Spent one night at the Catalina with cozy accomodations. The rooms are contemporary and smelled like bleach. The staff were kind and helpful but I would not stay there again. Pro Close to the beach, one block away. Happy hour from 7p-8p with complementary drink. There are two restaurants on both side sides of the hotel and the food was delightful. Great place for young and singles ready to mingle. Cons Loud air conditioner in the room. $35 valet parking fee per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from the beach

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sashita9
Business
Connecticut
Sep 25, 2014

our stay

The hotel was ok. From pictures on the Internet it look beautiful but we didn't think it was that great . Staff was great. And good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Oct 13, 2014

Not what it used to be

the first time i came to this hotel was 6 years ago. Seems like they have done no maintenance at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy Vee
Business
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2014

Had its ups and downs

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club definitely had its ups and downs. To start off: my friends and I were set up in a room that seemed to be located in the part of the hotel that had not yet been renovated, so it smelled musty and moldy upon arrival. There was very little lighting and our phone was not working until the day before we left, as a result, we had to run to the concierge to get towels or other things we needed. That was very disappointing. Other annoyances included the television in the room, which was one of those big box tvs, and the picture was blurry and the ipod dock was not working either. Since my group and I did not plan to stay in our room much, as we would be out most of the time, these minor things did not bother us much as the smell, the phone and the lighting. All in all, the experience with our room could have been better. However, outside of our room, I was happy with the rest of the hotel. The staff was great! They were very friendly and accommodating. Maxine's Bistro, which was located right outside of our room, had really good food. The bartenders and waiters were great. The rooftop pool was also really nice, it was small but the atmosphere was cool, as was the music. I would recommend this hotel if you get a room in any of the other renovated buildings, because it was a cool place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thiago L.
Business
Rio de Janeiro
Dec 21, 2014

Nice vacation spot

Was a great stay at a very good place, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachael F.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Pricey for comfort level

Great location, ok hotel. This hotel def did not meet my expectations for what we paid for our room. Not service oriented, and our room was just off of the sushi restaurant and smelled like fish the whole stay... Ew. The other restaurant in the first building was awesome and some of the staff friendly. We do a fair amount of traveling and we were pretty disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julio U.
Business
El Portal
Jan 5, 2015

Great Hotel for the price

The Bed is the best part. Very comfortable and the rooms are large. in the middle of South Beach and very come to food, shopping, beach and fun. recommended to all and i will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vikkie
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Birthday trip

I went with my boyfriend for my 21 first birthday and we both enjoyed our stay. Room was really small so was the bathroom but 2 people can manage. It's close by to the mall and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would say buy water or juice out there because they try to trick you in the hotel with a nice full fridge and goodies. Or you can drink it and replace it which saves you 2$ who's paying 3$ for soda lol

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lamarcus a.
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Miami Getaway

Hotel was in great area but at night extremely loud and busy. Had to be moved away from the music. Staff went above and beyond the duty to satisfy issues. Only issue was valet parking. To busy..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly
Business
Manhattan Beach
Jan 18, 2015

Loud!!

Was in town for work, picked the wrong hotel as they have parties in the lobby and djs/loud music for hours-so annoying if you're trying to get work done or sleep. If you're going to Miami to party it'd prob be ok, not the classiest place though. It definitely looked nicer in the photos, but when it comes to work trips, I was really just looking for a decent location at a better price. Next time I'll just stay outside the city a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top