$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
697 out of 697
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luvs2Trvl
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Bad experience in this dirty hotel

Checked in for Valentines Day 2012. Room and hotel are the dirtiest places I've ever stayed in. Bartender in lobby gave horrible service and tried to force me to drink a glass of wine filled with cork pieces, Instead of just giving a new glass. Bedroom and bathroom were dirty and very small. Holes in the curtains. blood stains on shower wall with mildew and mold. Missing tiles. Dirty towels that smelled like food and alcohol, maybe someone had vomited in them and house keeping only rinsed it off. Room reeked of cigarette smoke despite the fact that we had specifically requested a non smoking room. Room was dark, no sunlight entered. Window was at the top of the ceiling like a basement room. At night even with all the lights on the room was still very dark. Sheets smelled dirty, even found brown stains on the comforter. Location is great but not worth the terrible experience we had. Next time we will spend more money and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Holland
Business
Netherlands
Mar 2, 2012

Not trustworthy

Tried to put us both in a room with bad smell and one queen. Contract shows: two singles or king. Deskstaff (management) unfriendly. No breakfast included. Noise untill late. Airco did not cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashlie Hood
Business
Key West, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Stolen Mac

I valeted my car at the Catalina Hotel while I stayed there for a weekend. I hid my laptop under the passesnger seat, thinking it would be safer there than in the hotel room. Well, I was wrong. I picked my car up the next morning and my MacBook Pro (containing 8,000 photos of my children's lives and endless numbers of documents) along with a vintage Louis Vuitton computer case were missing. I immediately told the Valet, who sent me to the garage where it was parked. The whold thing is such a SCAM! The hotel has a "Valet" attendant who takes your car and gives you a Valet Slip, who then turns around and gives the "Garage" attendant your keys and car. The Valet slip, in very small print, says they are not liable for stolen or damaged property! What is the purpose of Valeting your car? I made an incident report and police report to no avail... Now I'm getting legal advice. This is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubian
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2012

Unhappy Unfortunately

For the price I paid which was clearly overpriced, and I've stayed in Miami many times; but this was a first for this particular hotel. I've stayed directly acrossed at the Surfcomber and the decor was amazing, staff completely attentive, hotel was very cleaned, however the Catalina does not live up to the pics posted on site to review images of hotel. Elevator worked only one day, and don't expect requested wake up calls, carpets throughout are nasty and floors seem like it will give way and break, and trust I'm a small frame. Not knowledgeable of hotel requirements or just simply uncaring. NO GOOD, I WILL NOT RETURN HERE>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cuban diner on Ocean drive i believe.. incredible food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
June
Business
Houston
Jun 11, 2012

Honest Truth

If you want location and good food... This is the best place... However, this hotel has a roach and insect infestation. The bathroom shower runs water all over the floor. The bathroom door in the room which I stayed in came of the hinges. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend getaway gonwrong
Business
Ft lauderdale, fl
Oct 15, 2012

Awful

The room had no ac. After calling the front desk they assured us they would send someone up. After the 3rd attempt it still wasn't fixed and they claimed there were no other rooms so they brought in a portable ac unit. Upon returning from our dinner the room was flooded from te portable unit. Still would not move us. Just a bad experience overall. They kept saying sorry but it wasn't genuine and they were not willing to comp the stay. Some customer service training could assist them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Time traveler 465
Business
California
Oct 20, 2012

Pig with lipstick

Overall Motel ish feeling. If your on spring break from college, it would be perfect. The mattress was sunken, rooms are loud, a nightclub must be near, it went until 4am with loud music, bright red everywhere, the AC never got below 76. Outside temp was only 82. Overall very unimpressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rosie T
Business
Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey
Nov 9, 2012

Room was not what I had booked so I felt cheated

I don't like giving bad reviews! There were good things - the pools in particular and the lovely maid who cleaned our room. When we arrived, we were not put in the room that I had booked and I think they put us in a budget room. Beware of booking budget rooms - I suffer from asthma and we were put in a room that was smelly and wringing damp and I could not have stayed in the room if you paid me. The rooms were behind the bar so we were also supposed to put up with very loud music too - quite honestly the hotel management need to do something about the squalid rooms behind the bar. The duty manager did move us so thank you to him but the damage was done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Flores
Business
New York, New York
Dec 18, 2012

Overbooked hotel

The hotel was oversold and they just sent me to a cheap hotel, with no amenities. They didn't apologized or offered any upgrade or so. Very bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christmas vacation..
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 25, 2012

Family getaway

Room and sheets were not clean..there was a big noise at night and we were in trouble for sleeping..It is not a quality hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top