$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
613 reviews
Great 50th Birthday Vacation

Short ride to the hotel. Check-in was easy. The front desk staff were very cordial and... See full review

  • Kimberly B.
  • Aug 28, 2015
Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber... See full review

  • Tyneequa W.
  • Aug 1, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 150 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
FKU Fung Ku
FKU Fung Ku is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst decor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losso
Couples
Brooklyn ny
Oct 12, 2012

Couple getaway

It's was a good experience everybody is friendly every day was a pool party.. Plus they let u smoke in your room with out no smoking fee ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mattmac
Business
Atlanta
Jan 9, 2014

This is no 4 star Property

I will have difficulty ever using site ratings for hotels moving forward. The property was frightening. Not at all meant for a business traveler. Mostly foreign travelers looking to pay a good price. I only paid a $106 rate, but when I saw a 4 star rating, I thought this was going to be a steal. It was not. Parts of the hotel are really bad (state they are refurbishing). For example, my original room was in an area with broken down sheetrock in the halls. They had a security guard literally walking every single hallway to ensure safety since you can actually get to hotel rooms through the restaurant downstairs. Anyone can access these elevators. Since I did not feel safe, I went back and asked for a room near the lobby. Would not recommend at all for a family, a business traveler. Really meant for a group of young travelers that are in a big group and looking for a cheap lodging alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in miami beach
Family
Miami beach, Florida
Mar 28, 2014

Sleepless in Miami Beach

Base thumping music played until 5 am every night of the week, heard from our room in a different building from the dj. Took 15 minutes for desk reception to acknowledge me for check in. Description of hotel DOES NOT accurately depict the decor, relaxation, etc. will not book a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
diGiorgi78
Family
Santiago, Chile
Mar 28, 2014

Did not comply

Lies everywhere! The cocktails happy hour from 7 to 8 pm is not in every bar at the hotel. "Big towels", lie. Late checkout, another lie. Extremely loud music by late night at 100 ft of our room. No breakfast included, extremely long waiting time in the valet parking (40 to 50 minutes). Hotel's web page didn't tell you any of this. Definetly, we won't get back to that hotel. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love traveler
Friends
Canada
Apr 9, 2014

Miami beach was awesome !!.. but not his hotel.

The only thing that is good in this hotel is the location. (Near the beach, ocean Dr, Lincoln rd.) Otherwise it is not an 4 star hotel at all. The staff does not have any clientele service skills, they do not give you the right information and they are not welcoming at all !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Contract Attorney Mom
Family
Virginia Beach
Apr 17, 2014

Worst Customer Service Experienced

Positives: good location. One bldg has roof pool with nice towel beds. Negatives: confirmation I had either 2 double beds or a king size bed. The room I got had a full size bed & about 2 ft. space around to make up the room. The bathroom barely fit a toilet, sink & tiny square shower. You barely could walk around the bed to get to the bathroom. I told the front desk that my confirmation was a king our two double beds. I was told that the web site booking this engages in false advertisement & I could pay $20 more for a king size bed. After I showed my confirmation again on the phone, I was told "fine! I am not going to argue with you. I will put you in the loudest hall we have". And my son and I were put right next to the bar. We were up till 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to boardwalk, there are wonderful restaurants

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Geneva
May 13, 2010

A pure disaster...

Such a bad experience... Getting into it would really be too long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corina
Friends
Camarillo, CA, US
Aug 24, 2011

Don't stay here

this placed was horrendous. Not only was the staff rude and unhelpful, but the hotel was super dirty and quite small. The roof top pool had hair floating around while the lobby and other areas had trash one the floor. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else because this place is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Travelor
Friends
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

the worst stay ever

very bad smel, unclean bad service. will not go back even for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SW33T2T
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 30, 2011

POOR SERVICE

VERY VERY LOUD AND NOISEY! ROOM SMELLED LIKE SEWER WATER HAD CAME UP AND MINI BAR FRIDGE WAS NOT WORKN THE GOOD THING WAS I DIDNT SPEND ALOT OF TIME IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset girl
Friends
Florida, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Misleading pic and description

The pictures online looking nothing like the hotel. If you look at the pictures and read the review you think that you are staying in a nice relaxing hotel beach type resort. It is nothing like that! It is a moldy, dirty hotel. Also, they had a preparty night club in the lobby that went until nearly midnight all weekend. You can hear the music and DJ blasting thru the whole hotel. I will never stay here again. And you have to pay for parking the valet is $32 a night. The cheapest was about 5 blocks away at $20 a night. You have to pay for parking there is no free parking anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top