$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
651 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (651)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
651 out of 651
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robinjorge
Austin,TX
Oct 25, 2010

Calling All Workaholics

To be honest I came to this hotel to relax and enjoy myself as I had not taken a vacation for more than 3 years. During my stay, I thoroughly pampered myself from head to toe in the spa at the Catalina hotel. Pedicure, foot rub, and manicure; I tried them all and it felt good to indulge in this kind of relaxation after a long time. I would thoroughly recommend it for all workaholics like me! Do take some time off from work to enjoy yourself here and you will not regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorin Kelly
Laguna Niguel, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Couldn't have asked for more

The Catalina has 3 buildings of rooms, The Catalina, The Dorset and Maxine. The Catalina is the main building and is not only beautifully decorated in a contemporary modern style but offers the best cupcakes and coffee I've had in awhile. Next, the Dorset, they have an amazing rooftop pool surrounded by palm trees, a pool bar and music and on the first floor is a yummy sushi bar. We stayed in the Maxine which has a 24 hour restaurant with seriously..the most AMAZING food. Everything from the mexican breakfast burrito to baked brie, coconut shrimp and the Argentinean Burger ( my boyfriend claims is the best burger he's ever had). The Maxine also has very cool live entertainment every night, Karaoke nights, a pool table as well as a hidden pool on the 1st floor. The rooms in the Maxine were huge for the price, walk in/open showers, a huge closet and changing space and spacious bedroom area. Hardwood floors, red, black, dark brown and grey covers the room.Needless to say, I was VERY impressed with this hotel, all the buildings are right next to eachother and we could basically stay at our hotel every night and day if we wanted. We will be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a 24 hour dining restaurant that serves everything, as well as a sushi restaurant.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Nov 5, 2010

Super great boutique hotel!!!

Really great hotel. Lots of fun things to do at the surrounding hotels and shopping was just a couple blocks away! I will stay there again for my next trip to Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 28, 2010

Great Time

The staff at the Catalina are more than accommodating. Our room was spotless and the beds were so comfortable. Other than some crazy girls that decided to have a party in the hallway, our stay was great. Security came and quieted the girls and we did get to sleep. ( We found out it was spring break ) so my fault. Towels for the beach were provided as well as a beach chair, so we slept on the beach all day. I will be staying a the Catalina again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiledNYgirl
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 27, 2012

very nice hotel!

I've read all the reviews before I headed to this hotel, fortunately none of those happened to me. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet(wouldn't mind even if it wasen't), location is just perfect, pools are very nice to hang around, all the staff was very friendly. That is a fabulous place for party people!!! location, drinks and cozy beds to get some real rest after the party!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Maxine's bar rocks!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victorvelley
Chicago,IL
Oct 26, 2010

Great for backpacking on a budget

Being a frugal backpacker, expenditure is always a concern for me. Thankfully, that did not stop me from having a grand vacation at South Beach. The smallest suite (I forgot the name) at Catalina Hotel fit the bill nicely. The comfortable bed with their special mattress was great for relaxing those tired muscles after a day of sightseeing. And I'm going to remember the food and drinks they served up at the Kung Fu restaurant. But the best part is that I got through the vacation without having to dig out my credit cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J30
Philadelphia
Jul 11, 2010

Beach lovers dream

I enjoyed the scenery, the pool, my wife, the atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Effingham, IL
Oct 26, 2010

Great Hotel!

This was our second stay at the Catalina Hotel in South Beach. The staff was super friendly, and always smiling and willing to help. We stayed at the Dorset side this time. Room was pretty dark, but clean and great for what we wanted. Food was fantastic, and the Maxine restaurant had amazing deals on food compared to other restaurants on the strip. Happy hour is always a favorite, along with the beach chairs and roof top pool area. Overall this hotel is one of the best for the price you pay and the location it is in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out The Maxine Restaurant. They have food and beer specials almost every night for $10. In South Beach...that is practically giving it away!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy Traveler
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2012

Nice hotel

Excellent location. Cozy room. Very good. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
serenacatino
New York, NY
Oct 25, 2010

My Wife and I Had a Splendid Time

It was our honeymoon, and it had to be special! SoBe has always been a favorite get-away destination and we were hoping that our 4-day honeymoon trip turns out to be a memorable experience. Our stay at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club really flavored our trip. We spent most of the time sunbathing by the Rooftop pool while enjoying some lovely cocktails. And, my wife was more impressed by the courteous service of the hotel staffs. We will surely come back to discover more of the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top