$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
605 out of 605
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brainedcosta
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 22, 2010

Overwhelmed With the Experience

If I had ever portrayed a beach vacation with my girlfriend, I had my dream fulfilled at Catalina Hotel and Beach Club. What really turned me on was the exquisite décor of the hotel rooms. And, moreover each suite was well-furnished with all amenities that would be required to ensure a comfortable stay. We even received a couple of complimentary chairs at the Beach Lounge that was just across the beach. Enjoying a good range of cocktails after a dip in the ocean was indeed a memorable experience. We will surely come back to Catalina, and discover more of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorin Kelly
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Couldn't have asked for more

The Catalina has 3 buildings of rooms, The Catalina, The Dorset and Maxine. The Catalina is the main building and is not only beautifully decorated in a contemporary modern style but offers the best cupcakes and coffee I've had in awhile. Next, the Dorset, they have an amazing rooftop pool surrounded by palm trees, a pool bar and music and on the first floor is a yummy sushi bar. We stayed in the Maxine which has a 24 hour restaurant with seriously..the most AMAZING food. Everything from the mexican breakfast burrito to baked brie, coconut shrimp and the Argentinean Burger ( my boyfriend claims is the best burger he's ever had). The Maxine also has very cool live entertainment every night, Karaoke nights, a pool table as well as a hidden pool on the 1st floor. The rooms in the Maxine were huge for the price, walk in/open showers, a huge closet and changing space and spacious bedroom area. Hardwood floors, red, black, dark brown and grey covers the room.Needless to say, I was VERY impressed with this hotel, all the buildings are right next to eachother and we could basically stay at our hotel every night and day if we wanted. We will be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a 24 hour dining restaurant that serves everything, as well as a sushi restaurant.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robinjorge
Business
Austin,TX
Oct 25, 2010

Calling All Workaholics

To be honest I came to this hotel to relax and enjoy myself as I had not taken a vacation for more than 3 years. During my stay, I thoroughly pampered myself from head to toe in the spa at the Catalina hotel. Pedicure, foot rub, and manicure; I tried them all and it felt good to indulge in this kind of relaxation after a long time. I would thoroughly recommend it for all workaholics like me! Do take some time off from work to enjoy yourself here and you will not regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Nov 5, 2010

Super great boutique hotel!!!

Really great hotel. Lots of fun things to do at the surrounding hotels and shopping was just a couple blocks away! I will stay there again for my next trip to Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victorvelley
Business
Chicago,IL
Oct 26, 2010

Great for backpacking on a budget

Being a frugal backpacker, expenditure is always a concern for me. Thankfully, that did not stop me from having a grand vacation at South Beach. The smallest suite (I forgot the name) at Catalina Hotel fit the bill nicely. The comfortable bed with their special mattress was great for relaxing those tired muscles after a day of sightseeing. And I'm going to remember the food and drinks they served up at the Kung Fu restaurant. But the best part is that I got through the vacation without having to dig out my credit cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Effingham, IL
Oct 26, 2010

Great Hotel!

This was our second stay at the Catalina Hotel in South Beach. The staff was super friendly, and always smiling and willing to help. We stayed at the Dorset side this time. Room was pretty dark, but clean and great for what we wanted. Food was fantastic, and the Maxine restaurant had amazing deals on food compared to other restaurants on the strip. Happy hour is always a favorite, along with the beach chairs and roof top pool area. Overall this hotel is one of the best for the price you pay and the location it is in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out The Maxine Restaurant. They have food and beer specials almost every night for $10. In South Beach...that is practically giving it away!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
serenacatino
Business
New York, NY
Oct 25, 2010

My Wife and I Had a Splendid Time

It was our honeymoon, and it had to be special! SoBe has always been a favorite get-away destination and we were hoping that our 4-day honeymoon trip turns out to be a memorable experience. Our stay at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club really flavored our trip. We spent most of the time sunbathing by the Rooftop pool while enjoying some lovely cocktails. And, my wife was more impressed by the courteous service of the hotel staffs. We will surely come back to discover more of the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 21, 2011

More then you can ask for!

We really enjoyed our trip at the Catalina. The happy hour, airport shuttle, and restaurants in the hotel made this a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was more then friendly. The rooms were very nice. While at the hotel the air conditioning went out in the hotel and we were offered a free upgrade to another room. We loved it and DEF are going to stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J30
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 11, 2010

Beach lovers dream

I enjoyed the scenery, the pool, my wife, the atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiLove
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Feb 22, 2010

Perfect Price. Perfect PLACE!

I've stayed at plenty of different hotels on South Beach, this is the best one so far. A block away from the convenient store, hotel restaurant open 24/7, everything within walking distance. If you want to catch a cab to Collins-Cavalier, Wet Willies, etc- it's less than $5! The rooms are super amazing! Nice feel to it. Organized, up to date, and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't tired your poor feet walking if you plan on dancing all night. Just go ahead and catch a cab! Miami cab prices are pretty cheap.

Back to menu Return to top